Mac Vs. Desi salon for wedding makeup

Hello guys, I live here in Atlanta and have seen the bridal makeups of desi salons here on different weddings. Unfortunatly i am not so impressed. The guests look much better than the princess of the night. So for my wedding I do not want to get my make up done from a desi salon.
I have been thinking of Mac. I got my makeup done from Ulta for some wedding and it turned out to be a horrible experience. She made me look two shades darker than what I am. So for my wedding I have been thinking of MAC. Do you guys think its a nice idea to go to a mac make up artist. Do you think they ll be able to do a good job with our traditional desi red dress.

Re: Mac Vs. Desi salon for wedding makeup

why dont you do a trial with MAC and see how it turns out. First I like to scope out the makeup artists. If you like the way they apply their makeup, choose them as your artist. Make an appointment and take your dupatta with you, so they can get an idea of the color scheme as well as a picture or two of what desi bridal makeup consists of. Also ask if any girl has experience applying desi like makeup.

If you like the trial, make sure they write down all the colors that were used and give you the list (just dont lose it). Also take someone with you, so that they can take pictures (digital camera) for reference (when you go back for the bridal makeup).

mac is pretty good..worth at ry

So should I go to just any Mac outlet in the mall? Some times they have only one person sitting there. I want a person who is really knowlegeable and experienced to handle different looks. Also do you have an idea how would they charge for the trial.

MAC is the best! My friend had a shaadi in Pakistan and a valima in the US. Her makeup here was done by a MAC artist and she looked absolutely stunning. $40 is the minimum amount you have to spend on their products and they'll do all of your makeup...but its worth it, I mean you get a trial PLUS makeup stuff that you'll need and use anyways :) getting makeup done in pakistan is throwing money down the drain...literally. you wash it all off at the end of the night and go into it not having a trial or knowing whether it'll be good or not.

For a minute i thought this thread was about mcdonalds vs desi salan.

start with you local mall. give them a call and find out what night is the busiest for makeup trials. Tell them you are looking for a makeup artist to do your wedding makeup and you want to get an idea of the makeup artists and their styles and what day would be best to come in and watch. weekends are usually busy, especially friday and saturday nights since everyone is going out to party.

my best advice is to watch them and look at how they have applied their own makeup as well as the customers makeup, this is an indication of how they apply your makeup. Obviously you want someone who takes their time and isnt rushing and works with great precision and style.

After you are done watching ask them if the same mua (makeup artists) are working the next night. If they arent come again, and check out a new set of MUAs at work.

You'll eventually find the MUA for you, and if you dont, go to another mall.

Dont forget to take someone with you for a second opinion.

i think they'd do a good job....but what about the dupatta setting?....that's the real pain in my opinion

LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

so cute - gotta be a guy! LOLLLLLLLL

I had my makeup done by a mac artist and I was beyond happy. It was a random decision because I used to go to that store alot, knew her very well and she was the first person ever to match the right foundation with my skintone so I was beyond impressed.. haha. She had done my makeup on several occasions so I knew her work. She was the regional manager for MAC and I always heard from other MUA at that store how good she is with bridal makeup. I had almost decided on this desi aunty here who does makeup for everyone but during a mall trip, I randomly went to MAC and told her to do a trial. She did something very light, and my friends who were there told me I should just stick with a desi person. However just a week before my wedding, I was like nah, Im just gonna have her do it because I attended a couple of weddings before mine and honestly, I was horrified by the brides' makeup done by that aunty.. orange streaks for blush.. eeeek.

I never went for a trial again, I just called the girl at MAC and told her I was booking her for three days- mehndi, shaadi, reception. She did something very light for my mehndi which I loved, and when I went to her on wedding day, I took my dupatta and laptop with me so I could show her pictures but I didn't even have to because she just asked me to tell her what colors and style I wanted, I told her to match my dupatta and something dramatic and that was it. She would tell me to check it out every now and then in the mirror and in the end, it was exactly what I had wanted. The next afternoon when I went back to her for reception makeup, I had only 15 mins to get ready and she did the most stunning smokey eyes on me. I even took enlarged pictures back to her later which she has put in her portfolio. I have had alot of friends go to her for their party/wedding makeup after seeing mine. The aunties said it broke the myth that desi brides can only look good if done by a desi MUA.. haha. So my experience with a mac artist was awesome.. I would definitely recommend a bride to get it done from them. The best part was that I was really stressed out when I was getting makeup done but she was so sweet, and my sister, best friend and photographer were there and together we had a really fun time. It was one of the most cheerful times of the night. The only thing that was stressful was that I had to go to a different person for hair, then MAC for makeup and then dupatta had to be done seperately when I reached the hotel. Im sure it's alot less hectic to just have one person do it all.

i would go with MAC but as others have said, go and observe and see which ones are doing the sort of makeup you like. then have a trial.
also be careful as MAC mua's have a tendency to select darker foundation for desi skins. a lot of MAC also oxidises a while after being on the skin, so if anything you should have 1 shade lighter applied as it will get darker after an hour or so.

^stopit - you ("your avatar") need not apply any make up

It would still look ugly

Definitely go for a trial with MAC, I think you will love it. You dont even have to get your makeup done at the mall, they will even come to your house

Another vote for MAC. I actually used a desi hair-and-MUA (she doesn't have her own salon, just works independently), but her technique was much more MAC than desi so I had the best of both worlds---great MAC-style makeup application from someone who knew how to do my dupatta setting, etc.

I can't speak to the complexion/foundation issues but one thing I noticed is that to me, desi makeup is often very 'matchy-matchy', and that many MUAs don't follow the concept of having one focal point on the face, so there's a tendency to overdo the bride. I prefer the style of choosing one feature to really play up, and choosing color palette based on what most complements skin tone and not necessarily to 'match the dress.' But if you're really preoccupied with having eyeshadow, etc., that matches your outfit a desi MUA might have be a better fit for you.

I had a desi MAC MUA do my wedding and valima and i was beyond impressed. My sis went back to her for her nikah makeup. But first observe which MUA you like.

If you are not happy with the foundation color, dont be afraid to ask for a lighter one. I will highly recommend a trial and wear the makeup for a few hours to see what the colors fade into. I discovered that my foundation got dark with time so for the actual event i asked her to lighten it up a bit.

NYCGori, my MAC MUA matched the eyeshadows to my dress and i dont think she overdid it at all. For the shadi i wore a maroon lehanga (the usual) and she did my eyes mostly in gold/browns with a hint of cranberry. Totally loved it. For the valima i wore a ferozi and shocking pink dress and she used grey/silver along with ferozi with a hint of shocking pink. I totally loved what she did.

I guess the key is to not overdo it.

Ira, I didn't mean to offend---the matching outfit-eyes thing is just not my cup of tea. :)
I'm glad you were happy with your MUA---I think that a MAC artist who is also desi is probably the best of both worlds and will be someone who can give a girl options. My fear when I was looking for MUAs was that at the desi parlors I wouldn't get any option---subtlety and variety didn't seem to be a strength of the places here in the NYC area that I saw.

You guys are sweet hearts. Thanks for such insight. I just dunt want to look dark and ruin everything in the pictures. I have heard for us desi brides should get a shade or two lighter for the foundation. It eventually goes with the complexion of the rest of the body.
Ulta MUA make me look two shades darker than my complexion.
I want dramatic eyes finding balance with the lips. I dunt want just an american kinda finishing look niether desi look. I was wondering how do I explain my mind to the MUA. Some of you guys have been lucky to have really good Mac MUA. Not everyone in Mac is the same. I ll just speand more time finding the right person with MAC.

dont forget to show them pictures of the kind of bridal look you are going for... there are soo many makeup pictures in the bridal pics thread in the wedding forum

I wasnt offended NYCGori. By following yoru posts on the forum, i know you wouldnt mean offense anyways :hugz: Btw i saw your pics in the best moments thread and thought you rocked your outfits! You looked great MaashaAllah!