M SINGH DHONI PROVED HIMSELF (A TRUE MATCH WINNER)

I think he is a good match winner he can take the match away from u in no time a well thinker and finisher ve good brain too but less tech not necessary tht u hve always hve good technically proved batsman India Got fine cricketer he should also improved his keeping technique behind the wicket

Re: M SINGH DHONI PROVED HIMSELFEF (A TRUE MATCH WINNER)

Imran bhai, mein aapko naya keyboard DHL sey bhajwa raha hoon. Sub keys kaam karti hain. Apna address likh dein.

Yes, as far as Dhoni is concerned, India has found a great pinch-hitter. He worked his magic very well in the Test Series, and now the ODI's are reflecting his powerful yet mastery of a pileup. Hopefully, he will continue on his form in the next two games for India, and further down the road as well.

miss dhoni welldone

dhoni is amazing, he is good

man.. look at the bowling dhoni was up against.

Not taking anything away from Dhoni, I think any batsman in the side could've scored against the bowling of Pakistan between the overs of 40-50.
Rana repeatedly bowling short and wide. It was POOR bowling, and the capitalization of batting by DHONI. DHONI has not proved himself yet. He has not played enough matches to do so. Lets look at his stats in a little more detail shall we:

Mat  Runs  HS   BatAv 100  50   W    BB  BowlAv 5w  Ct St

career 33 1054 183* 50.19 2 5 - - - - 28 8
vs Pak 9 401 148 57.28 1 2 - - - - 9 1

His average against Pakistan is 57, thus inflating his average. Lets look at against other teams:

He has averaged 123 against zimbabwe in 2 matches
He has not even played against AUSTRALIA! Once he does, watch his average then

Mat  Runs  HS   BatAv 100  50   W    BB  BowlAv 5w  Ct St

unfiltered 33 1054 183* 50.19 2 5 - - - - 28 8
vs South Africa 4 43 17 14.33 0 0 - - - - 1 0

Vs South Africa, his average is an atrocious 14.38!

Vs. New Zealand, his average is an average 25.00

vs. Sri Lanka, his average is 60 (largely due to the POOR showing of Sri Lanka vs India in the last one day serious where India won 6-1 or 7-0 i think)

Here are his innings.. look carefully. this is not a sign of a great player
INCONSISTENT is what i call him. His average is inflated by a couple of large hundreds and a few not outs when was above 50. Other than that.

He is not a great keeper. Kamran Akmal is a MUCH better WK-BATSMAN than DHONI.

0 7 run out 1 + W 1st ODI v BD in BD 2004/05 at Chittagong [2199]
12 7 caught 2 + L 2nd ODI v BD in BD 2004/05 at Dhaka (d/n) [2201]
7* 7 not out 1 + W 3rd ODI v BD in BD 2004/05 at Dhaka (d/n) [2202]
3 7 caught 1 + W 1st ODI v Pak in Ind 2004/05 at Kochi [2235]
148 3 caught 1 + W 2nd ODI v Pak in Ind 2004/05 at Visakhapatnam [2236]
28 3 caught wk 2 + L 3rd ODI v Pak in Ind 2004/05 at Jamshedpur [2237]
47 3 caught wk 1 + L 4th ODI v Pak in Ind 2004/05 at Ahmedabad [2238]
11 3 caught 1 + L 5th ODI v Pak in Ind 2004/05 at Kanpur [2239]
24 3 caught 2 + L 6th ODI v Pak in Ind 2004/05 at Delhi [2240]
2 2 bowled 1 + L IOC Cup 1 v SL in SL 2005 at Dambulla (d/n) [2262]
15* 6 not out 2 + W IOC Cup 2 v WI in SL 2005 at Dambulla (d/n) [2263]
20 4 caught 1 + L IOC Cup 4 v SL in SL 2005 at Dambulla (d/n) [2265]
28* 7 not out 1 + W IOC Cup 6 v WI in SL 2005 at Colombo (RPS) (d/n) [2267]
7 6 lbw 2 + L IOC Cup F v SL in SL 2005 at Colombo (RPS) (d/n) [2268]
2 7 caught wk 2 + L V'con Tri 2 v NZ in Zim 2005/06 at Bulawayo [2273]
56 6 caught 1 + W V'con Tri 3 v Zim in Zim 2005/06 at Harare [2274]
37* 6 not out 2 + W V'con Tri 5 v NZ in Zim 2005/06 at Harare [2278]
67* 7 not out 2 + W V'con Tri 6 v Zim in Zim 2005/06 at Harare [2280]
11 7 lbw 1 + L V'con Tri F v NZ in Zim 2005/06 at Harare [2281]
38 6 caught 1 + W 1st ODI v SL in Ind 2005/06 at Nagpur [2286]
DNB - - 2 + W 2nd ODI v SL in Ind 2005/06 at Chandigarh (d/n) [2287]
183* 3 not out 2 + W 3rd ODI v SL in Ind 2005/06 at Jaipur [2290]
45* 6 not out 2 + W 4th ODI v SL in Ind 2005/06 at Pune [2291]
0 3 lbw 1 + L 5th ODI v SL in Ind 2005/06 at Ahmedabad (d/n) [2294]
DNB - - 2 + W 6th ODI v SL in Ind 2005/06 at Rajkot [2295]
80 4 caught 2 + W 7th ODI v SL in Ind 2005/06 at Vadodara [2296]
17 8 run out 1 + L 1st ODI v SA in Ind 2005/06 at Hyderabad (Uppal) [2297]
DNB - - 2 + W 2nd ODI v SA in Ind 2005/06 at Bangalore (d/n) [2298]
14 8 caught 1 + L 4th ODI v SA in Ind 2005/06 at Kolkata (d/n) [2299]
12 6 caught wk 2 + W 5th ODI v SA in Ind 2005/06 at Mumbai (d/n) [2300]
68 4 caught 1 + L 1st ODI v Pak in Pak 2005/06 at Peshawar [2324]
DNB - - 2 + W 2nd ODI v Pak in Pak 2005/06 at Rawalpindi [2327]
72* 7 not out 2 + W 3rd ODI v Pak in Pak 2005/06 at Lahore (d/n) [2329]

Also remember Dhoni has played neither Against ENGLAND NOR AUSTRALIA, and has failed against SOUTH AFRICA. So THUS, He has done absolutely nothing against the powerful teams of the world other than Pakistan.

who is sayong he is best batsman, i m saying he is good wicketkeeper batsman

The thread reads TRUE MATCH WINNER. I tend to disagree. You have to be consistent to become a true match winner. He is a slogger and at best a decent keeper. He is indeed not a TRUE MATCH WINNER. ATLEAST not yet he is not. Let's see if he does what he does with Pakistan against ENG/AUS/SOUTH AFRICA and then we can determine his true match winning capabilities

Whatever u say mate..he surely kicks ass against pak...i dont care what his average is against other nations....he has a great average against Pak...and I am more than happy with tht....:D

But overall, kamran akmal has a much better technique in both batting and keeping...theres absolutely no doubting tht...

And let us see how dhoni palys against australia and then we will judge him rather than u making a comment before hand tht he is gonna fail against aus....u never know he might kick ass against them too...

I did not say anywhere he will fail against Australia. I am simply opposing the thread headline of giving the title to dhoni as a TRUE MATCH WINNER. He has not proven himself enough to be a TRUE MATCH WINNER. He may well play well against Australia and if he does, then he should deserve this sort of credit. But he has to show it more than just against Pakistan/SL I am not doubting his skills, but just his credibility at this point. He has not proven enough to be called a true match winner.

then how about change yuvraj to dhoni :)

Enjoy this folks… :cb:

Kya Khel li lucky dhoni nain ik achi si inning
Indians samajh rahey hain ho ghi shuru un ki winning

Kuch din pehley kar rahey thay wo matam dari
Bhagey ga Dhoni dhoti le kar jub phir team india hari

Kon kehta hai ik match ke baad ho jata hai banda match winner
Dekh lena ho jai ghi usey food poisoning jub khaye ga wo dinner

Shoaib ko ho ghyi ankle injury bun ghay indians cheetay
Pakistani miss fielding, catch drops par ye jo Indians jeetay

Ho sakta hai shaid es win se band ho jai indians ki whining
Pata nahi dhoni bechara khel sakta hai phir koi inning match winning

this is full of contradictions and subjectivity. Look at what you have said:

• he has played well againsr Pak but that's not enough
  • he has played well against SL but that's not enough
  • he has NOT played at all against Aussies ... but somehow you think that's wrong
  • and then you say he has not proved himself ENOUGH

what is enough in your books?

A MATCH WINNER doesn't need to score the highest. In case of Dhoni and Sehwag and Sachin in the yester years, it is the way they blast the opposition's confidence to shreds ... once they are done with that, the opposition is so cowering that even the tail enders shake the stadium up, riding on the winner's wake. To these people, in their day, it doesn't really matter who is bowling what at them.

The other type of MATCHWINNER is players like Dravid and present day Sachin - they blend artistry and patience and provide a medium to fast medium inning (!) that becomes the platform from which the rest of team rides. These people will not seem super cool or confident because they know too much about the bowler and the quality of the ball.

:biggthumb

Jaan Leva bhai, phir kiya khayal hai aapka? :blush:

when a person has talent u shud appreciate it....well done dhoni

Its not his fault that he has not played against ENG OR AUS, but that also does not give him a title of MATCH WINNERS. TENDULKAR AND SEHWAG ARE MATCH WINNERS because they have smashed every opposition one time or another. Dhoni in my opinion would never be able to shake the likes of England or Australia. After the England tour, I will write again in this thread and we will discuss then DHONI's match winning performances after what i predict to be a tour he averages at best 25

he played well, no doubt, but my argument is not to give dhoni a title of a match winner! He is NOT a match winner, NOT YET atleast.

do you have a basis for your prediction? otherwise it is wishful thinking

yes i do. Look how poorly he performed versus South Africa. I don’t wish upon him to do poorly, but judging by his way of batting and his style of batting, he is not one to continue to succeed. He is a slogger, and cannot be called a match winner. Potential match winners in this series judging by history and style of batting would be:

tendulkar
sehwag
dravid
inzi
malik
akmal
younis khan
yuvraj

dhoni would come much after any of these batsman

Mr/Ms niz_b,

I do hope you realise that a ODI is an ODI and nothing else, whichever team and its players performs on that particular day are going to win.

Previous records and future predictions count zilch, and In my book when he COMPREHENSIVELY kicked your Behind TODAY, for me he was the match winner.

Forget me, His Excellency the President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, called Dhoni the Architect of India's win.

So you think I really give a Sh1t about your so called ARGUMENT???

Anyways I do thank you for your opinion.

Aejaz