Much as it is hated & despised by a majority here—thought to cascade that an activity has started whereby almost all the channels/networks are sending their entries—and not that I am a fly on the wall—there are strong recommendations for MANNEY NA YE DIL and SARKAR SAHAB that i heard of----not to forget the biggest hit of 2008 “WILCO” which has Humayun Saeed as MAJOR SARIM with Zainab Qayyum as our NIMRA !!
Lets see how the nominations fare..going forward!
I know…I know…LSA is not all that popular here! but then again name me ONE…repeat ONE multinational or National organization which encourages and promotes pak_showbiz…the way UNILEVER does! by spending MILLIONS !
PTV..we know is mainly ( I repeat M.A.I.N.L.Y ) restricted to its own atrocities !! on awards etc!!!
UFFHO…! mere bhai…by LSA-2008 it will always be meant that the plays/serials/songs blah & blah & blah…S.H.O.W.N or TELECAST in 2008 goes for nomination. When the ceremony will be held…then the title would be LSA-2009 !!
Arjay,I know,you haven't been familiar with LTV artists specially those who featured in the 1970s.Just curious to know,if you happened to watch Aik Muhabbat Sau Afsanay of the 70s.If yes,do you remember "qurat-ul-ain' ,one of of the whole series.It moved everyone at that time and I was surprised to know people still can't forget that one.
Any thoughts on that?
Another one I fondly remember is a KTV long play "Baarish",aired probably in Sept/Oct 1978,dramatizing one heck of a day in Karachi when it rained cats and dogs and the city came to a grinding halt.Several KTV actors starred in that long play including Liaqat Durrani Marhhom whose performance was superb.
Kiski yaad diladi aap ne...WHAT A JOVIAL and LIVE person Liaqat bhai was!!!! a GEM of a person....I really salute him for his wonderful nature and approach towards all and sundries.
ALLAH UNHEIN JANNAT NASEEB KARE (A'MEEN)
Waise--I am a bit curious ke AAP kaun hein? I mean LIAQAT DURRANI ko tou bohat mehdood loge PTV-K walay...jaante thay. Woh mere saath KHUDA KI BASTI mein bhi aye thay..that was in 1974.
Arjay,I know,you haven't been familiar with LTV artists specially those who featured in the 1970s.Just curious to know,if you happened to watch Aik Muhabbat Sau Afsanay of the 70s.If yes,do you remember "qurat-ul-ain' ,one of of the whole series.It moved everyone at that time and I was surprised to know people still can't forget that one. Any thoughts on that?/quote]
Bear with me a few more days..I am bringing up an article on AMSA !
Ghazanfar Ali of Indus Vision tried to recreate its essence by doing the whole work of Ashfaq Chacha again and in new format.
BUT
Nothing can outplay the B&W impact of PTV-Lahore's AMSA !
Arjay,I know,you haven't been familiar with LTV artists specially those who featured in the 1970s.Just curious to know,if you happened to watch Aik Muhabbat Sau Afsanay of the 70s.If yes,do you remember "qurat-ul-ain' ,one of of the whole series.It moved everyone at that time and I was surprised to know people still can't forget that one.
Any thoughts on that?/quote]
Bear with me a few more days..I am bringing up an article on AMSA !
Ghazanfar Ali of Indus Vision tried to recreate its essence by doing the whole work of Ashfaq Chacha again and in new format.
BUT
Nothing can outplay the B&W impact of PTV-Lahore's AMSA !
Ghazanfar Ali's attempt to recreate 'Aik Muhabbat Sau Afsanay' was a bad and clumsy copy of the original classic.
He did his best to ruin Ashfaq Ahmed's work.The artists perfomed badly and the direction was below par.All that coupled with fancy DHA setting did not conform with the story.
No wonder people still remember the original classic of the 70s and Ghazanfar Ali's attempt,at best,is forgotten.
Ghazanfar Ali's attempt to recreate 'Aik Muhabbat Sau Afsanay' was a bad and clumsy copy of the original classic.He did his best to ruin Ashfaq Ahmed's work.The artists perfomed badly and the direction was below par.All that coupled with fancy DHA setting did not conform with the story.
No wonder people still remember the original classic of the 70s and Ghazanfar Ali's attempt,at best,is forgotten.
Arjay,I'll wait anxiously for your article on AMSA.Also can you tell us when exactly was this incredible drama series aired.To this day,all of the plays,particularly Qurat-ul-Ain has left an indelible mark on my memory.
I will be talking to the two most cogent people on AMSA PTV-Lahore (1972) on phone tomorrow.
**Sarwat Atiqullah Shaikh...and
Qavi Khan
to add to my paper--some valuable infos from them.
Nusrat Thakur, Yawar Hayat..contact mein nahin aa rahay.
Manizah Hashmi has faded memory but she is assisting.
Akhtar Vaqar Azim knows a bit more--so I'll touch base with him also.
Why not call Mustansar Tarrar who played Akhtar's daddy in Qurat-ul-Ain.Besides he has been a longtime Ashfaq Ahmed's family friend and his autobiographer too.If my memory serves me right he acted in more than one of AMSA plays.
I am calling Bano Aunty this evening..........at DASTAN-e-SERAI, Model Town, Lahore!