Lunch Ideas for Working People

Salaam all. In an effort to save some moollla and avoid eating the same unhealthy things I started making lunch and bringing it to work. Now the problem is Im running out of ideas… tired of the same grilled chicken with different seasonings… So please share some of your ideas..

Bear in mind that we want to stay as healthy as possible and away from carbs not totally but avoid high amts.

Since this is a sharing thread I’ll start.

My favorite lunch is a spinach chicken or steak wrap.
I take some frozen spinach and saute it in a pan with cooking spray.
On the other side grill the meat (seasoned anyway you want).
Then I wrap it in tortillas with grilled onion and hot sauce..
YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMYYYY..

and your turn.

typical paki lunch muniya

shami kabab/omlette/chicken sandwich

Shaami kaba fried hai yaar.. =(

and what kind of chicken sandwhich?

Remember nothing to stinky ;)

go to tesco...

get

1) 1 packet of mixed salad leaves
2) some sliced carrots
3) celery
4) cherry toms

and have with it:-

1) tuna
2) cottage cheese
3) chicken
4) anything you fancy.

throw it all together.

couple of ryvita's.

one peice of fruit

one low fat yogurt.

nice healthy low fat - minimum effort.. :)

I make this for dinner but you can def. try it for lunch

sautee some tomatoes, bell peppers, and onions in soy sauce with salt and black pepper (chilli sauce if u like)

boil some chicken and fry it if you like otherwise leave it boiled since it is healthier

get a pocket pita and spread some ranch dressing inside it, stuff it w/ chicken and the veggies, and to it w/ mozarella cheese. Microwave it for 30 seconds or so for the cheese to melt and voila! dinner is ready :)

Toothpicks
Apple slices (thin)
Meat (Processed or baked/broiled cut in small squares)
Cheese (cubes)
Chutney

Take the toothpicks and put the apple slices(or cubes) with meat and cheese on them. Dip them in chutney or sauce. yumm

My bewakoof ki recipe:

Can of chicken
Some mayo
Sambal olek (vietnamese pepper sauce)

Mix it in a bowl. How much etc you figure out according to taste.
Slap it between a couple of rye bread slices. You got yourself a good lunch with desi taste.

Re: Lunch Ideas for Working People

Has anyone tried Zabihah Halal chicken roasts? They have two different types both made with chicken breast meat. Most stores like Nofrills or Superstore will carry these.

http://www.zabihahalal.com/products.asp?ID=19
http://www.zabihahalal.com/products.asp?ID=18
http://www.zabihahalal.com/products.asp?ID=22
http://www.zabihahalal.com/products.asp?ID=21

Anyone running out of ideas what to bring for lunch to work, this is great option since it is very low in fat and high protein.

chick pea salad, pasta dishes, kebab wraps, tuna or other kind of sandwich..

Biryani and achaar :biggthumb

the smell will make everyone else run away...:D

Muniya get the prepackaged deli turkey slices... you can eat 3 and its still only 50 calories from fat.. eat it in bread with jalapenos, lettuce, and cucumbers or to avoid bread altogether, just eat it as a lettuce turkey wrap. Very yummy. And it comes in many flavors... mexican, honey bbq, smoked, bbq, etc..

But those aren't halal :(

Kosher.. close enough? :bummer:

Get halal salami and make sandwiches using wholemeal bread... add in a bit of salad if u want.

Also; chick peas/ red kidney beans with lemon juice + salt + pepper tastes + chaat masaala tastes good too... and u could add yoghurt to that mixture if u like (only when using chick peas, not the kidney beans)... this is easy coz u can get canned beans in every supermarket.

ramen noodles :)

For some its not.. =//

these are actually halal chicken deli slices…great for making sandiwiches…i like them in onion bun with hot peppers or pickle, lattuce, and little bit of mayo or mustard …yumm