Irem : What if…some reads ur post & decides not to go for Hajj…aur Hajj jesi saidat se mehroom ho jai ?
Why i hardly see any post from u on positive sides of the culture or islam in practice these days ?..Do u not see one good thing ? …& worse, most of the things ‘only heard’. As they say “Beleive half what u see, & beleive non what u hear”.
Saveral ppl from my family have been there, Almost every year someone goes there, for umrah its mostly Ramadan & as Faisal mentioned thats the most russhy time. Around 4 million ppl, yes there r thefts, there r some ppl from African countries who lock there hands, females inside the lock & males out, ofcourse they have twice thrice time strong builts then us if collide its pretty bad. One of the lady in the family got hit & broke her bone too. Yes maybe there r few perverts but u shouldnt worry about them, u r going there for the as they say in urdu ‘Raza-e-khuda’ tu Let the Almighty Allah help & be ur gaurd.
There r other ppl i would like to mention, there were those who saved the same lady who got hit, imagine 4 million ppl running around & some ppl still helped her to get up. My cousin got the wheel chair for my Nani & met some who too gettijng those chair bcos they thought ke hum tu tawaaf ker hi rahay hain agar koi zaeef or handicap mil jai tu use bhi kerwa dain, some ask for a lil money too while some dont, they just want to help for their own will.
There have been number of incidents others have helped finding lost participants of my family. One of the other Aunt was lost for almost 2 days, was offered food by other woman thee telling her “how can i eat in the house of God when i see another person not having a food?”
There r some ppl who start crying & asking forgiveness if even they collide or something accidently, bcos they hurt u in kaba & they just wont go unless u forgive them.
Am I the only one who fails to see why this belongs to culture? Anyway there’s a fair number of ppl who perform Umra and Hajj for a social status. Just like some ppl grow beard for a certain look and reputation. You can expect pretty much anything from this crowd.
*Originally posted by armughal: *
of all what goes on in the markets/colleges/etc etc u will not stop ur females from going there....
lekin hajj ke baare me kucch bhee ulti phulti khabar suni to foran se females ko ghar rok lenay par tayar ho ge....
Cheer up, to one of my friends it happened 4 times whilst on Umrah. It can get lost in the rush and people may accidently take them. He said the first three times it could have been by accident but the fourth time they actually opened the bag and took the best chappal and left the others. He was well annoyed.
you know that ppl pick other ppl's pockets during Tawaf. thats why some ppl tie belts around their waists with their belongings.
This is not true. Most Ehraams do not have any pockets and thats why one needs those belts around thier waists to keep their passports, money etc. Yes pick-pockets is part of the reason but mostly it is the reason above that almost everyone wear those belts during hujj and umrah.
we have been living in saudia for the past 29 years,this is not true that females got kidnapped from haram,,just a gossip ,and about selling womens its not true either, in saudia local ppl can bring KHADAMA(lady servant) from different countries,who live wid them 24/7,so I dont see any point about buying/selling, ,but yea few losers do try to take advantage at rush time in haram,otherwize its very secure place,guarded with lotsa mutawwa and police,and they are 2 gud with their work ,and like saby said its kinda hard to get access to ur pocket while wearing belts,wut i've noticed you may find desi ppl in haram who does sweet talk and try to get sum money from u,using all kinda excuse that she/he lost his passport,ticket,or his car got broke on highway etc wanna go bak home bla bla or stay n work illegaly ,
lolz regarding chappals yea always take cheap chappals wid u, no need for fancy stuff
if u guys need any other advice/suggestions regarding umrah,makkah/madinah
banda hazir hai :)
there are all sorts of ppl everywhere...losing ur stuff in the masjid is common, and most of the time when it happens, its almost alwayz unavoidable...i dunno bout pick pockets etc, but yea, ppl do lose their stuff a lot...
wearin blades on their arms etc, thats BS...won't be allowed in the mosque :)
kidnapping females and selling them off, i fail to c that happenin as well...realistically speaking that is...i know some ppl do get "lost" there cuz of the huge crowd, but are almost alwayz found again...my younger bro was lost for a couple of hrs when we were there for umrah last time...it was during ramadan 2, so the place is as packed as it would be during hajj...my bro was just 5 yrs old then...and one of the cops found him, brought him to us etc...
as for teasing females...unfortunately, that does happen...but its the black sheep in the crowd who'll do that...there are just so many ppl there, u can't do anythin bout it then...
and u know, such acts are not limited to females alone...children suffer as well cuz of those sick bas%@#^$...i have been thru such an incident myself...but like i said, again, its only the odd black sheep who'd do such a lowly act...it wouldn't stop me from takin my family there, and in the future my kids as well...i'd just keep 'em really close to myself everywhere...
and those who were decent enough to give decent replies and share information for the sake of discussion, as per the original purpose of this thread…thanks
do we?
khayr, yah why not, we do live in the same city after all :) koi guppie meet sheet ho toh mulakaat ho gi inshallah...bas mein zara apni gaddi khareed loon :D
Oh man! This was the very thing I was warning against.
If u pick up a newspaper in the West, the first or second headline you will read is about rapists and paedophiles. Is everyone in the UK one of these? Of course not. Likewise, not every female that goes to Hajj or Umrah has such hassles - these sicko exist but they are few and far between.
Where ever there are humans, there is mischief...
Neely, D'ont be a typical "West Bashing" muslim. Of course crimes against women are every where. I mean crimes against women in muslim countries are far more than in UK only that in muslim countries they almost always went unreported for the fear of loosing honour or women have no power in muslim countries.
Why does pointing out the fact that there's headlines about paedophiles and rapists in the UK translate into west bashing? There's a dedicated thread in Pak Affairs called 'Pakistan Gay Culture' Is that Pakistan and Islam bashing then?
OK.. I am not really literally tanslating that into "West Bashing" as such But when people use examples like that from the west to justify the bad things in their own society that usually imply what I said above.
JonyB, Now you are being naive.... I know this girl from Philipine who now lives in London who in the past worked as a house maid in Saudi arabia. She mentioned that her empolyer repeatedly raped her and threatened her not to tell any or even leave. she said the man of the house told her if she makes a wrong move he would have her arrested for steeling and they would cut her hands off. She said there were many more girls in the same kind of situation. She finally manage to escape on the pretext of having her visa extended. In rural Pakistan the fuedal lords rape their subjects almost similar manner. And what about those revenge rapes to save family honour.
OK.. I am not really literally tanslating that into "West Bashing" as such But when people use examples like that from the west to justify the bad things in their own society that usually imply what I said above.
JonyB, Now you are being naive.... I know this girl from Philipine who now lives in London who in the past worked as a house maid in Saudi arabia. She mentioned that her empolyer repeatedly raped her and threatened her not to tell any or even leave. she said the man of the house told her if she makes a wrong move he would have her arrested for steeling and they would cut her hands off. She said there were many more girls in the same kind of situation. She finally manage to escape on the pretext of having her visa extended. In rural Pakistan the fuedal lords rape their subjects almost similar manner. And what about those revenge rapes to save family honour.
and nothing of the sort happens in america????
or in europe????
or in russia????
or in australia????