my friends were discussing at lunch today abt some things that go on at Khana-e-Kaaba…Haram-al-Shareef…things that ppl do during Tawaf [circling the Kaaba Shareef] during umrah/hajj
you know that ppl pick other ppl’s pockets during Tawaf. thats why some ppl tie belts around their waists with their belongings.
ppl tease females during Tawaf
this one nation, not sure which one, some European nation, they wear these blades on their arms so ppl dont come near them while they r doing Tawaf and they can walk freely
bunches of ppl kidnap females while they r doing Tawaf and then sell them off
i dono…i never knew abt this…this really crosses the limits…committing such acts while doing Tawaf of Khana-e-Kaaba
Shahreen, i myself had never heard abt this...
not that it shud deter us from going tho..
i mean there's stampedes every yr too...so disasters do happen
but the fact that ppl do such things deliberately was shocking to say the least
I've never heard of anything like this before. I've been told that Muslims from some of the African countries interlock their arms, so that they are all in one big line, and don't stop for anybody who get in their way during Tawaf. What you wrote is just shocking though. I don't know if all of it is true.
*Originally posted by MehnazQ: *
I've never heard of anything like this before. I've been told that Muslims from some of the African countries interlock their arms, so that they are all in one big line, and don't stop for anybody who get in their way during Tawaf. What you wrote is just shocking though. I don't know if all of it is true.
Mehnaz yeah i was shocked too
but i had three friends discussing this, two of whose relatives has been for umrah/hajj and the third was from an Arab country
and all of them confirmed this
i came home and discussed with my dad and he told me abt the pick pocketing thing
so it is true :/ and highly disturbing to say the least
To those who haven't been, DO NOT be put off by the stories that those who have been tell. We just love to tell them!
Alhumdullilah, I have been and have not only heard the stories but also seen things first hand.
It gets on your nerves that people have come to the Kaaba and then spoil it by pushing and shoving. The Turks and Nigerians are pretty heavy handed and go around in big groups - they will bull-doze anything in their way.
Ive seen people talking on their mobile when doing Tawaaf around the Kaaba and Ive even seen people spitting which is sick. You see selfish people fighting over prayer spaces too. I even spotted a Manchester United top in the croud - at least support a decent football team!
Its also quite sad to hear the standard Nokia Ring tone when you are doing Safaa to Marwaa too!! Messages beeping every second.
Having said all that, considering there are nearly 4 million people in one relatively small space during hajj, it is mostly trouble free as 99% of the people are very sensible. Croud control is self-managed.
Inshallah, I hope I can go again one day soon and pray that those Guppies who havent been also go - Ameen.
Well I was just kidding earlier Irem.........you always hear scare stories about things that happen during Hajj, and I don't think it's fair to pin certain behaviour on certain nationalities. Especially when part of the point of being there is that everone is equal?
Girls, believe it or not, this is actually TRUE. My personal story - I have actually been touched (around my female parts) several times by one man during the circuits of tawaf. As sick as it may sound, there really are perverts out there who have no fear of God and while performing their worship, they will fall low and do such terrible things. I was very much emotionally hurt by such a sad event. I came home crying and for many days it was like how could it have happened to me ? See, I was totally involved in dua when it was happening and I tried to ignore it...but when it happened 6 out of 7 times during tawaf, I yelled at the guy. He disappeared and ran away, but I still recall that day very well. All i know is that my heart was pure and I had completely devoted myself to Allah when this happened but I have learnt to be VERY VERY VERY careful now. Never again will I let such a horrible thing happen to me again ! I also learnt that I am not the only woman to have faced such a horrible act. There are many others who complained.
My advice - be careful. You can never trust any man.
Oh my gosh Diva, that's awful. :( Were you with any males family members? I thought it was mandatory? What could you do even if you did tell? With so many people there, there's not much you can do other than raise your voice and tell them to get lost. Allah mian is watching. These sickos people should be afraid.
I don't know if all of this is entirely true. I mean, pick pockets, yes... that happens a lot. No denying that. The rest, I would say its probably more just lousy timing. My mother goes for Umra every year during Ramadhan, which is the busiest time other than Hajj. Never heard anything from her. I went twice during very busy times, and never heard, saw or noticed anything about females being harassed. I am not saying its not possible or not done.. ofcourse, some have such experiences as Diva said.. but to extrapolate it to give an impression that the place is full of jerks who are just waiting for females to show up so they can harass them, is not really true. Its just bad luck and can happen anywhere. And yes, that it happened in Masjid-al-Haraam is unfortunate.
Mehnaz has a good point. Women should have male mehrams present with them. There is a reason why such rules are in place. Its extremely crowded there.
*Originally posted by Diva4U: *
Girls, believe it or not, this is actually TRUE. My personal story - I have actually been touched (around my female parts) several times by one man during the circuits of tawaf. As sick as it may sound, there really are perverts out there who have no fear of God and while performing their worship, they will fall low and do such terrible things. I was very much emotionally hurt by such a sad event. I came home crying and for many days it was like how could it have happened to me ? See, I was totally involved in dua when it was happening and I tried to ignore it...but when it happened 6 out of 7 times during tawaf, I yelled at the guy. He disappeared and ran away, but I still recall that day very well. All i know is that my heart was pure and I had completely devoted myself to Allah when this happened but I have learnt to be VERY VERY VERY careful now. Never again will I let such a horrible thing happen to me again ! I also learnt that I am not the only woman to have faced such a horrible act. There are many others who complained.
My advice - be careful. You can never trust any man.
After reading this I don't want any female in my family to go to Hajj.
Oh man! This was the very thing I was warning against.
If u pick up a newspaper in the West, the first or second headline you will read is about rapists and paedophiles. Is everyone in the UK one of these? Of course not. Likewise, not every female that goes to Hajj or Umrah has such hassles - these sicko exist but they are few and far between.
Naadir :- I don't think you should feel so negative. There are bad kinds of people everywhere in this world. What I shared with you is just something that did happen and I have heard other women complain too. Countless women do hajj and umrah daily and yearly but not everyone complains. What I wanted to share was something that DID happen to me. Other women should be careful, just like they are to be careful in any and every public/crowded place. Yes, having a male around does help, but during tawaf (near the Kabba) its not always possible to have a male right by your side. My experience of Hajj was much better...alhumdullilah.
Women should just be careful, I am now, but thats because of my personal experience with the wrong person at the wrong time.
that really really sucks…gosh…i cant even imagine how u musta felt…
the sick idiots..low life creeps
NAADIR - i dont think u shud have that response bro…as Neely said, wherever there r humans there is michief…but haj is a farz aqeeda…nothing shud deter us, Muslims, from visiting the House of Allah swt
NEELy - thanks for the reply
Faisal bhai thanks for the reply, u r right
Mehnaz u have a very good point there..Allah miaan is watching…and ur intention is what matters
Unfortunately it does happen, I think one of my aunts had her purse stolen, although the kidnappping and blades sounds a bit dubious.
Ive only been umrah once, and that was in the middle of the summer, it wasnt 'that' crowded (well realtively). Didnt have any problems really.
I think for any woman there, just scream or turn around and smack the guy (just make sure its not due to the rush though and u get the right guy), hopefully someone will help or the guy will be embarrased.
Women should not be put off, after all its considered their Jihad
actually... i think few days back... i was discussin the same issue.. with my friend.. and she told me some these shockin things too... I wanted to Slap all those who doesnt have any respect for there religion!
of all what goes on in the markets/colleges/etc etc u will not stop ur females from going there…
lekin hajj ke baare me kucch bhee ulti phulti khabar suni to foran se females ko ghar rok lenay par tayar ho ge…
and irem have u never heard of those so many policemen scattered all around the haram sharif and majid-nabawi that give a good spanking to anyone who goes out of his way???
bas fazool bakwas pe yaqeen kar lo or haaw haye shuroo kar diya karo…
Why is it "fazool bakwas"? Maybe it's "fazool bakwas" in your eyes. Not necessarily Irem's or someone else who is concerned about this topic. If she wants to post a topic about this, what is wrong with that?