Lovey dovey In public

Re: Lovey dovey In public

LOL! :hehe:

Unfortunately, any form of affection between a married couple is taken negatively in our draconian culture.

I suppose it’s nice to see desi couples getting along as opposed to being at odds with each other. I don’t get to see a lot of happy desi couples.

Like others have suggested, abiding by the norms of others (such as the family friend) shows respect.

obviously most aunties and uncles wont start making out in front of everyone...but they might show affection..so why wud it be OK for htem to do it but if a younger couple does it, its a case of htey have no sharam or izzat?

^ Of course, there should not be any discrimination between the rules for elder and younger couples and I did not come across any post stating anything as such that it is ok for older couples to be openly intimate but a crime for younger couples.

As I said earlier, the appropriateness depends on the extent of the act and one's surroundings. People can tolerate the lovey dovey behaviour of couples if done to a reasonable extent and under apposite conditions, but one also has to be considerate of the fact that just because he/she feels comfortable doing something publicly does not mean that the others will too. Hence, one should act accordingly.

Btw, affection and intimacy are not really same, one does not necessarily accompany other, like affection can be shown without being intimate.

As far as the case of 'them having no sharam or izzat' is concerned, I prefer not to comment on these issues. Any particular behaviour can be considered normal by one, immodest by a second, cute by a third person, rude by another and so one. Everyone has a difference of opinions and can have different classifications and definitions of certain things. As far as the topic under consideration is concerned, I don't think just by hugging one's spouse in public makes one less respectable than others. Who knows, the person we might label as being immodest or disreputable based on our standards, is the one highly regarded in the eyes of Allah (swt) for whatever reason.

kuch kehni ki zaroorat kaha baqi reh gayi hai:naraz:

shukriya details batanai ka:disgust: …

lolz:rotfl:

LOL!!

obviously u haven’t been on a motorbike, u’d have to shout at the top of ur lungs to be heard, and riding on the back of one isn’t a pleasent experiance,:smiley:

We did the same thing...on the wedding reception and the walima, we held hands when we entered and when we left. No one thought it was "wrong."

And, I don't see anything wrong with holding my hubby's hand in public....anything else..I'd say leave that for when you're alone.

and showing affection isn't for someone elses benefit bt cos we looove each cther!!!

i wrote this because i saw such things happening with my own eyes:o

that’s right! it depends on how open YOUR family is…one should do and can do whatever he/she wanna in front of his/her own family but why one expects OTHERS to put up with such idiotic acts?( and by idiotic acts, i mean more than holding hands or putting arms around their spouses)…i wrote what happened once in a get-together at my house? that kind of garb cannot be justified by anybody unless he/she is really retarded or extremely “MODERNIZED”:hoonh: …fortunately or unfortunately, i have never seen any couple, yound and old, giving pecks to each other or cuddling when they are with family just to show they are in “LOVE”…Heck, who doesn’t love his/her spouse, yaar but you dont have to “SHOW IT OFF” to the whole wide world, do you :bummer: ???

hey, i remember reading a thread on this very website which was about being lovey dovey in front of your kids…in that post, most of the people disgreed and disliked showing pda when their kids are around…so this has got me to think about something now…which is

For the majority of people here, it is OKAY to be lovey dovey in front of your family, which i take as elders, but it’s not OKAY when your kids are around??? it sounds kindda retarded to me:confused:

My boyz LOVE to see my hubby give me a hug and cannot resist joining in....group hugs are a norm in my house.

Out in public, my husband is really shy and conservative. If ever he grabs my hand to hold or puts his arm around me, my universe SHINES for ever afterwards!!!

On to the topic of the thread tho....

you have to consider the society that you live in. In the US, its OK to share a hug or a kiss in public within REASON people!,,,,while this is NOT acceptable in Pak. You have to live within societal boundaries IMHO.

Playing tonsil-hockey in public is just gross no matter WHAT or WHERE you live. But small and loving displays of affection are just cute and I love to see them.

sometimes I feel like couples who want to show their love for each other can do it in a different way than kissing in public. For me it’s annoying to see that and I feel uncomfortable being around that. It just feels like they are trying too hard.

But I think holding hands occasionally is nice. :blush:

not showing affection in public doesnt mean you dont love the person. I have this cousin whose husband is very lovey dovey with her in public.....but he disrespects her in public just as much.

So yes it is nice...and it makes a girl feel wanted but id rather it be genuine then for show...like in my cousins case.

Its one thing to do stuff in public, because you're just doing it. Its another thing to make a show of it at a public function where you know you're at the center of attention. I guess for me, if I saw a groom and bride at their valima holding hands or whispering to each other, I wouldn't make much of it. But if she's sitting there and putting her head on his shoulder and being over-dramatic, then I would interpret it as just that: drama.

That is why I am a strong proponent of "let the groom kiss the bride" at the beginning of the ceremony. That would make all this whispering and shoulder head resting stuff peanuts for morons like some of you.

Mof3, that is so cute! haha.. group hugs are the best!

i havent seen any couple ever do anything more than holding hands in public, and there's nothing wrong with that... my hubby holds my hand most of the time, even when we're at paki gatherings.. it might have something to do with me being pregnant and being clumsy, but khair.... we're not insulting anyone, we're not trying to show off, and we're not trying to be try-hards or anything... and we certainly dont need to get a room to go hold hands...

puhleez

I don't socially discriminate among who can hold hand or kiss and how if they are even related but I am morally shallow. i.e. I approve only when good looking people are being 'lovey dovey'.