Re: Love Marriage Ends in Divorce
A successful marriage does not depend on the type of marriage but on the type of people.
ditttooo very good reply and answer
A successful marriage does not depend on the type of marriage but on the type of people.
ditttooo very good reply and answer
Basically in desi culture, in-laws never accept a love marriage - as they think the girl trapped their son, They will go to absolutely any level to break it off. I was reading a letter in the news paper, where the woman had a love marriage, it had been 20 years, she had a lovely family despite the fact that her in-laws never accepted her. But now they had secretly married her husband to his secretary to settle the score. Love marriages are still sort of a taboo, thought of as a disgrace in our society.
Future of marriage is independent of how someone tied the knot. It depends on how knot was opened after marriage :)
Onboard 100% with the idea of the success of a marriage depending on both individuals learning to cope with each other and developing a working relationship.
My whole argument was purely about numbers and certain factors. I myself would prefer getting to know someone and then considering them for the next level.
Future of marriage is independent of how someone tied the knot. It depends on how knot was opened after marriage :)
hahaha. Sorry but this sounded like a cheesy traditional desi line!
You can laugh all you want on what you term as "desi wisdom" but facts will remain the same :)
Basically in desi culture, in-laws never accept a love marriag
Generalisation....Steoreotypeing :/
^ yes generalizing it is. But not stereotyping. I just made a general comment.
so you were not stereotyping in-laws as irrational beings??
P.S.. i was just pulling your leg…
..nevermind ![]()
ji nahie, it all depends on one human being.......
thing is, in an arranged marriage, you get grown ups giving you some well needed advise sometimes. and it works. sometimes we make mountains out of molehills and all we need is a kick up the bakside from our parents to realise it.
in love-atimes, you marry without parents blessings...and anything without parents blessings is gna hard this way.
Agreed with everyone who is saying that it depends on the person not the type of marriage.. these days theres so many problems with arranged marriages too!
in the past 3 years, ive come to kno of 5 arranged marriages that have ended within the first year of marriage, and there have been 4 (maybe more) love marriages in the same years too, which are MashAllah still going strong ... this is just personal data though
Allah sabko kush rakhain... Ameen...!
ofcourse arranged marriages do work, love marriages work too, u just have to be willing to make compromises and u have to be strong, life throws alot at u!