*Originally posted by kenny: *

Paitee

[thumb=A]paiti.JPG[/thumb]

Maybe you should make these words a bit more "oukhay"

;-)

Heres a parHoli:

[thumb=A]paRoli.JPG[/thumb]

I have never seen these used to money on wedding. Usually chawal or kanak are kept in em.

Mr_Xtreme, you can’t be a punjaab champ if you’re not a paindoo. Its impossible. It says so in the law of cannon(kaanoon). Am afraid you have to give up the crown:snooty:.

or u can fight for it, if u can answer my list correctly.:slight_smile:

Who_Me: have no idea what Mogha means. how do u pronounce it?

I was correct about the mud pots.....i'll make em more Oukhey after everyone's got them.

And the paitee, i didn't mean them ones but yeah those'll do.

Why can't punjabi be made the official language for pak? It'll be less of a hassle!

*Originally posted by kenny: *
Why can't punjabi be made the official language for pak? It'll be less of a hassle!

bhai mere...edit this out before the Gupshup mob castrates you. :D

Xtreme: I was sleeping and you started the discussion and tried to take the title in my absence. It is like winning a kushti by being in the akhaaRha first while the other pahlwaan is still eating nihaari at the dhaba.:)

mogha = an opening in the nehar to drain out water. Official ones are lined with concrete or bricks and of particular size as by the law.
daahnna is also the same. dahnna is slight distortion of Persian word for mouth/opening(Daahn?)

Who-me: Let us test how much paindoo you are:

What is:
urli, baiRh, suhaagha, phalaah, kahi, phauRha, raitee, kupp, paraali, patti.

Each word is worth 1 point. You need 8/10 to qualify as a genuine paindoo.

Chan Ji ....kiyun bisti kerday oo sab day samnay.

Some of the following are guesses.

Here goes nothing:

urli = this side (opposite of perli)
baiRh = rope? maybe something to tie animals with
suhaagha = Thingo used in agriculture to flatten the soil (sort of a flat board with a stone on it)
phalaah = blade for something?
kahi = a hoe....ya know...a thing you dig with
phauRha = The steal part (head) of the kahi...(can also be "a boil". but that would be more like phooRa)
raitee = file (as in a nail file)
kupp = as in kuppa...a container to store something. Wheat or oil or what ever.
paraali = bhoosa/animal feed
patti = a strip of something (but that would be urdu)

:hoonh:

bauRhi
waTT - has two meanings

urli = mould.. yaaay.. I win.

who me, what were those mounds of erm, was it salt, in your pind pics called?

sehar love, as in chaittee bauRheeN vay tabeeba, naee tay mai mar gaiyyaaN? :teary3:

:wink:

ok, Channmahi's word went right over my head....are you sure its punjaabi?:)

ok,i admit i speak pathwari punjabi, so lahori punjaabi would be kinda different. Anyhow...i thought raitee meant sand? I guess my list was way too easy, even though noone attempted them. oh well.

oh yeah, i apologies to ma sindhi, balochi, pakhtun and muhajir hum watan ppl. Punjaab still rules!

Chann yaar you didn’t know what haukraN marna meant - just admit it. Now you’ve stumped paindoo kenny and that leaves me as the clear winner.

ay mannan aali gal ay, te aj saarey pind ich giddha paun ge Chaudhury Xtreme de naa lai kay :smokin2:

Champ of Punjab

Mr_Xtreme: Lemme know was my list too easy? Till then u're chiRi pehlwaan. :maulvidis

Man your list was so crap it wasn't worth replying to.

ay fazool haukraaN marnay ka koi faida nay ey.

ok, thats all i wanted to know. I thought maybe my punjaabi was a lil different.:D

"ok now searching for some difficult words*

Who-me you qualified as genuine paindoo. Congratulations.
Kenny, rait is sand. raitee is some thing sandy to grind like file.

waTT in Punjabi has many meanings..not just 2.

kuRhi waTT te pailaN paundi aawe.
tainu sachi gall sunn ke waTT charh giya ay hor koi gall nai!
ki waTT ke liyayeaN ain khaboozeyaN da?
oh teri hi...mere jhaggay nu waTT paye ge!
ikk waTT ke maari munh utte taaN naani chetay aa jaoo.

Sehar koi hor vi?:)

lol you are right about waTT :k: Chann ji, khush keeta ee :slight_smile:

aho hor vi haigay aa: BauRhi da dasso

*Originally posted by ChannMahi: *
Who-me you qualified as genuine paindoo. Congratulations.

woohoo!

But surely they cant all be correct.

Hayaa mould is ulli not urli.

Who can tell me what these are and what are they called:
[thumb=A]kapas.JPG[/thumb]