http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=74980&highlight=namaz+timings
*Originally posted by hanie: *
wangaa = chooriyaan
khoope = glasses, I heared my dadi often using this word for her glasses
tooli = jis me khaana banaate haye, also called a haandi
Khopay is actually not glasses but that obscure patch of chamRa usually put in front of animal's eyes to control them. But since glasses also mean someone can't see properly(withut them), people tese them by saying khopay laye ne.
PA: that is khido(ball made of cotton and thread)...in some regions it mght be called pheedo.
NYAhmadi used this word in the other forum that I had not ehard for long time.
nadha(naDDa): jawan munda/ghabroo etc.
its female variation is nadhi(naDDi) for kuRhi/muTiyaar etc
so Sehar and Chann ji u think ur punjabi experts huh
lets see u translate this word kuteek :~P
munda (paindoo) Pakistani
"phiddu"
*Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad: *
i faintly recall them being used in the context of a ball and bat!! never knew if they were really words..
Its a ball made of string and women (used to) knit them by hand. Sort of like a hacky sack or a footbag but firm like a tennis ball. Also called 'khudda' in rayasti (I think).
I think I havent seen one in 10-15 years and would be surprised if they even exist anymore.
Munay Do you mean KuteeR?
KuteeR: is pack of dogs literally but is used for bunch of bad guys creating troubles around.
There is no word kuteek in my part of Punjab.
channmahi
mazeed inform karne ka mehrubaani.
isnt a coconut also called a khoopa?
or is there another word for that?
Hanie, akhaN wala khopa is called khopa because its shape is hemispherical like a khopa(cocnut) split in the middle. You are quite right. Both words refer to physically similar looking thing yet different.
ki gall disda nai? akhaN te khopay laye ne?
versus
khopa baRha sawaad lagga ay.
bhaRhthoo(paRhthoo) ki hunda ay?
yess channn ji
u got it right but its called kuteek on this side
mp, you dum dum
Who said i was an expert? Just wanted to share and learn a few more words, which i did thanks to all those that participated.
Now, Qrius, what you said was interesting. You said you here some of these words all the time? I'd like to know which words were you referring to. :)
who u callin dum dum… ![]()
Sanga aana: sharm aa jaana
sangna would be sharmana of course. Waisay ab yeh meri samajh say bahir hai, kay kya yeh mumkin hai kay banda issay kuch youn istemaal karay...apney sharmnak had tak gandey results dekh kar, 'menoon sanga aa gayee'??
udik: Intezaar
udikna: intezaar karna
Oderna; udas ho jana
anyone ever heard sainkhray? As in sainkhrayaN de hasab? I think it means hundreds, I heard my dad say it once during one of his usual scornful rants.
Xtrm: baadshao hun sainkRay nai, hunn te lakhaN naal kujh nia ban'da.
SaiNkRay
seiyaN(sauvaN)
here is another few:
*kakkar
paala
ThanD
sardi
*:all mean cold/winter
kakkar paina
paala lagna
: verb of the above.
cheers Chan, I thought this one might have evryone stumped but you came through as usual.
Xtremo you wish you had everyone stumped! :-P
rouSS jana = naraz ho jana
tabbar = khandan = family
jawaak: children, kids
Chann ji, nothing has changed. You're still a paindoo.
but sadly you have evolved into a jhuddoo from a smart man we used to know.
My favourite words :)
Khand = cheeni = sugar
LooRN = namak = salt
I did find out about DeRvi and I think it has roots with Dera that is sitting place. It is specific to our area.