Losing / Thining Hair

Hi Njgal,

I've had the same issue and these remedies below helped me out. The thing with hair thinning and falling is that you have to take various measures to prevent it and that also includes diet.

1) Take a multivitamin to make up for deficiencies. Protein is essential to hair growth as are the B-complex vitamins, zinc, and IRON. **Doctors have found that many women who suffer from thinning hair......also had **iron deficiency. It's a common problem in women. And guess what? EVEN A BORDERLINE DEFICIENCY OF IRON WILL NOT** SHOW UP IN A BLOOD TEST. **My doctor recommended iron supplements for my falling hair and I've noticed that when I take them regularly, my hair falling stops dramatically. BUT an iron overdose can be dangerous, even fatal, so ALWAYS consult your doctor before deciding to take iron supplements. In general you can take a multivitamin that also contains the safe daily dosage of iron.

2) Even hair, like the rest of your body, needs to be hydrated so that' it's more elastic and healthy. So make sure that you're drinking plenty of water.

3) Fenugreek (methi) has been used for decades to revive hair growth. Here is what I've been doing. In a bottle, put methi dana at the very bottom. Then pour EQUAL QUANTITIES of OLIVE OIL and MUSTARD oil into the bottle . The oil should rest on top of the mustard seeds in the bottle. Let the bottle set/steep for a day. And then start applying the oil.

4) I saw good results when I applied the oil to my hair everyday. Some experts recommend daily application. But you can skip a day if you want, or even apply it a couple of days during the week. Pay attention to your massaging. While massaging, rotate your fingers on your scalp. You should be able to feel your scalp move underneath your rotating fingers. This is relaxing and increases blood circulation. Wash the oil off after an hour or two. Wash your hair gently. I like to put my head down and over the tub and wash my hair with a pitcher because the shower pressure can sometimes be harsh on the scalp and hair.

5) With most remedies, it takes about 3 months to see a substantial difference. That's about how long it took me, so you'll have be regular and patient.

Best wishes!

No, you don't have to grind the methi seeds. Just go to the nearest Desi market and buy a pack of small methi seeds.

Re: Losing / Thining Hair

Methi seeds are amazing. You can use them in different ways. Soak some in yogurt for 2 days and then apply that to your hair. You might want to grind the seeds well otherwise they become messy after the yogurt dries up in hair and fall off everywhere. You can also add them to the bottle of hair oil and apply it.

Shay I've been meaning to pm you and say thank you to you... ur tip for methi dana in olive oil has really worked mashAllah.... my hair used to fall in huge bunches, it was a pain cleaning the bathroom floor but after doing this oil with methi dana thing my bathroom floor has very very very less hair..... :) Jazak Allah khair for sharing dear.

Btw if you don't mind could you clarify how long you keep the yoghurt with methi dana on your hair and does it help with growth or hairfall... ???

Ohh that was so long ago, I am so happy for you, mashallah! :hugz:

Keep the yogurt in your hair till it dries.. about one hour. When you feel your hair getting stiff, wash it off. It controls hairfall and promotes healthy hair.. but you would have to do it for a few weeks to see the results. The only thing is, the yogurt looks kind of.. gross.. when you leave methi seeds in there for 2 days (keep it inside fridge) and it’s going to be a lil messy when you apply to your hair.. but it’s worth it :slight_smile:

thanks all

red velvet: I started taking multivitamins religiously about 2 years ago. I got all my blood work done to make sure I don't have a deficiency. Everything is in range.

shay: I have been using the methi dana oil for about 3 weeks now. I can notice that my hair is healther. I don't see any growth - my hair is very fine but I am going to continue to use it.

Thanks for the tip everyone - if someone else has anything else for growing hair - please share as well

So methi dana mixed in yogurt help reduce hair loss?

Yes, Frozenfire. You can use methi in yogurt. Or you can put methi seeds in a mixture of equal quantities of olive oil and mustard oil. According to Eastern medicine, methi has a warming affect on the body...maybe that's why it stimulates blood circulation and promotes hair growth. I beleive some western hair loss tonics also contain methi, known as fenugreek in English.

These are some really nice tips thanks everyone. I think I should apply methi dana too as my hairs are falling too much.

can we put the meethi daana in any oil and then start using that? or does it have to be olive?

My mom saw an episode on the Nadia Khan show and the topic of hair loss was being discussed. And the guest was this guy who had a really THICK CROP of hair on his head. And Nadia was shocked because not too long ago, the same guy had CONSIDERABLY LESS hair. Nadia even asked someone to pull at his hair to make sure he wasn't wearing a WIG. When asked about the cause for the improvement in his hair, he said that he used a mixture of methi seeds in an equal quantity of mustard and olive oil.

So here is what you do. Get an empty bottle and clean it out thoroughly. And first put in the methi seeds about halfway. Then put in the mustard oil and then olive oil. Basically the oils should be sitting on top of the mustard seeds. And make sure that mustard oil and olive are equal in quantity. Meaning if you use 1 cup of olive oil, then you should also use 1 cup of mustard oil.

It is up to you if you want to use some other oil. But I suggest you use olive oil and mustard oil. You can easily find a small-to-medium sized bottle of olive oil from your local grocery store. Mustard oil and methi seeds are easily found in your nearest desi market. Olive oil is mentioned as a blessing in the Quran and is recommended in Islamic Medicine for it's healing and nourishing properties. Mustard and its oil have been consumed/applied in India for years to promote good health and hair growth. Basically both of these oils are known to be beneficial for hair. Plus the affect of these oils is garam/warm and that will bring more circulation to your scalp.

wow, thank you s much!!! :hugz: methi seeda like fill the bottle up half way??? :eek:

Yes, exactly. Take the methi seeds and keep pouring them in the bottle until they fill the bottle half way.

how about olive oil + kalonji oil?

Good idea, Sara. I had totally forgotten about kalongi oil, which is another ingredient highly recommended in Islamic medicine. It is used as to treat many illnesses and is also applied topically to promote hairgrowth. I've even tried kalonji oil before and it works nicely. I got it from an Islamic grocery store. It's also known as black seed oil. If I had to combine kalonji oil with another oil, it would be olive oil. But for the past several months i've been using olive/mustard because it's AH it's giving good results:)

guys i hav terrible hair loss prb myself... patches in my top hair area (from back side they are normal). is the olive/mustard oil with methi gud for me.. i have v oily hair.

thaz nice to know. so how is kalonji oil made? with olive and mustard or one of them? which one is better for bald patches.. the kalonji treatment ya methi treatment in ur opinion?

hmmm methi dana half bottle... n equal amount of mustard and olive oil in it ....
do we need to remove methi dana after certain period of time or should keep them n it like unless the oil is finished ???

mai bhi ganja nahee hona chahta. I tried using olive oil , almond oil akhroot oil pista oil and kaaju oil for my hair magar mera khayal hai meray baal aur gir gaye hain. abb dahee ka raita laga kar daikhun ga.

after washing your hair and it's still wet put some coconut oil on, don't wash it out this promotes softness and hair growth.