Someone we know is getting married in a couple of months (February), and she was asking me how she can lose some weight before her wedding. She says her main problem is sweets, she can’t live without them! I didn’t know wot to tell her cos that’s my weakness too But i did tell her that she shud try running, it helps. It’s mainly her tummy area where she wants to loose some stubborn fat, and also her thighs. She said about 20 pounds, which wud mean like 10 pounds in each of the next two months!
Well, i told her perhaps as the date comes closer she will lose some more. I read somewhere that brides usually lose about 4 pounds in the week before the wedding. She’s really determined but has no motivation, and says she doesn’t have time to exercise.
I told her i wud ask around and get back to her...poor thing is so anxious! Any advice/tips for her weight loss challenge?
Well, first of all your friend needs to decide what is more important.........her marriage or eating sweets. Obviously, it will be extremely hard or actually impossible to lose 20 pounds without giving up sweets. Once, she has made that decision..........anything is possible:)
anyways, back to the main topic, to lose weight you first need to find out what is it that you're eating which is unhealthy and making you gain weight. After you figure out those things, just avoid them. In other words, eat healthy!
^ Yea but she said she doesn't have time for that.
CorruptAngel thank u for the assumption, however i am not talking about myself...maybe a lot of ppl here do that, that's y it's so hard for u to believe that it really is someone else i know. If i need advice about something i will clearly state my problem, i'm not embarrassed to do so.
So far, i think Mahru has given the best answer...i guess where there's a will, there's a way...
she should think of all the skinny models actresses
every time she craves for sweets.
And if it's 20 lbs she defenitely needs to start exercising.
In a few days she may get used to it and not think of it as a burdon.
I hope she succeeds.
Losing weight is not like marrying someone.. aik dafa hogaya tu bus katam
its a long term commitment.. you have to keep your diet balanced forever
Eat healthy.. and you will not only keep your body in shaped but live longer and healthier.. you feel good about yourself.. and don't try to loose weight for someone else.. do it for your own sake
and we all know the rules.. avoid oily/fried and SWEET stuff, eat lotsa veggis and fruits.. drink lotsa water.. exercise.. blah blah blah.. aur aise nahi 2 mahiney kya aur 3 mahiney shuru hote hi sari kaser nikal di.. eat everything but the key word is "balance".. and yes please don't skip breakfast.. when you don't eat breakfast you try to eat more in other meals.. and try to eat thora thora all the time..
Yea i told her i thought 20 pounds was too much for her (she’s not fat to me), especially in 2 months cos that’s like wot?..2 1/2 pounds a week…maybe it’s do-able…
Yea i agree, i think she knows it’s for herself in the end…but rite now all she has on her mind is her wedding…“my wedding this…that”…so maybe she just realised now and thus wants to look good at least on her special day…lol, maybe i’ll freak out too a couple months before my wedding (i think most girls do)…i duno if she eats breakfast or not…i’ll be sure to pass this on, thanks
If she cant quit sweets tell her to switch to diet stuff& eat low fat products.
Ask her to walk alot, she can do that in her garden also...
Green tea also helps burn fat.... she should use sugar substitudes if she cant have her tea without sugar...
Thanks…btw, i’ve heard that it’s not good to eat/drink sugar-free products…in fact, i think someone started a thread once about the dangers of diet fizzy drinks…yea walking is good
Oh I have one more thing to say.
If she starts some sort of work out now, 2 months is a good enuf time
to see some results even if she don't loss 20 lbs.
Will power … your friend should lay off the sweets …
It is really important to increase your water intake. Toxins, which is what causes people to put on/keep on weight, are normally flushed out via water, so drink as much water as you can.
Lay off the junk food and substitute them with healthier alternatives, i.e. fruits, veggies, chicken, fish.
Exercise is also important. Losing 20 pounds is not easy by any means. Your friend should do it the healthy way, no starving herself :nono: and no crash diets either. If by some chance she does lose the weight, she will pack it back on quickly which is why it is important to lose weight the healthy way.
Depending on her body type, she should talk to a fitness instructor who can help her achieve her goal of losing 20 pounds by telling her exactly what types of exercises she should be doing.
Cardio is excellent for losing weight. She should do cardio 4-5 times a week for at least a minimum of 30 minutes. Swimming, running, spinning, various exercise classes, even skipping rope is good. Speed walking is NOT cardio … she needs to work up a good sweat and get her heartbeat up the entire time … that is when the body is working and shedding weight.
For the tummy, on top of the cardio, she should do some crunches. Cardio will help her shed the fat, but crunches will tone the muscles underneath (abs) so doing crunches all the time will help make the stomach area lean. For the thighs, leg kicks, lunges and squats.
I agree with whoever up above said that this is a long term commitment. I hope your friend sticks to it permanently.
they are multiple diets out there which evaluate your weight and then give you a diet plan. Someone at work is doing one right now - don't remember the name of it - but she is on a high protein diet and she lost 5 lbs in one week. Her clothes are becoming baggy on her. If she is serious she can get on one of those diets after researching and see if it gives her the desired results. But she will have to give up something for sure :)