Lord's Scandal: Spot-fixing, VIDEOS ONLY

Re: Lord's Scandal: Spot-fixing, VIDEOS ONLY

LOL @ kakaballi...

Pak boy....looks like our bad luck will continue....apparantly insufficient evidence against majeed....so probably the case will go nowhere....hence, all these "anchors" will get more "material" to say that it was a conspiracy againts "mahan" and "pak saff" pakistan...pakistani cricket zindabad...

valid point surely but Imran Khan has never said that we should not support or pay good salaries to first-class cricketers

Just as an example let's say we have a pool of 400 first-class cricketers in domestic competition, majority of whom will never ever get to play for Pakistan anyway because they are so medicore. Plus I know there are other factors like sifarish and nepotism so rampant in our society. Imran's point is instead of 400 players playing B or even C-grade domestic cricket, take the best (say 150) players, divide them into highly competitive 6-8 regional teams and have first-class competition between them. The remaining 250 players should just play club cricket. He has seen the success of the Australian model while playing Sheffield cricket, the standard of which he thinks is as high as test cricket.

I w'd feel passionate about our domestic game if say Islamabad were playing Lahore or Quetta were playing Karachi etc. I have no interest is following PIA v Habib Bank or UBL v Allied Bank. Who cares which team wins or loses?

Lastly (and this is the most important point) the banks/departments instead of having their own teams should sponsor and support these strong regional (plus club) teams. So where does Aamir Sohail's problem of rozi roti arise? He either does not want to understand Imran's viewpoint or is just jealous or bitter about something. I suspect the latter is the case with Sohail.

If we want to raise the standard of our domestic game, few but highly competitive regional teams (supported by banks/departments) is the only way forward...

To add to your comments Goldenasif, I did not like even when Amir Sohail said something like "this cricketer of yours who is planning to be prime minister of this country, needs to understand that these guys need financial support. He is forgetting Imran is our Hero, and nothing wrong with if he wants to be a prime minister, seemed so uneducated way of talking.

I must say apart from that he also made some valid points. This Talat guy seems very nice and educated person.

Re: Lord’s Scandal: Spot-fixing, VIDEOS ONLY

the great Shehryar Khan finally on a show. what a classy, classy man. nothing but respect for the man. the wonderful Ehsan Mani also on the show.

I don’t understand…if the betting/ center is in India, so what....betting is being done in every sports...no one can finish these stateless characters completely....that is beyond the topic...but what is player's responsibility? That is the main question.....why are we trying to divert attention by blaming Indian bookies in this whole episode...these bookies must be contacting Indian and sri-lankan players as well… but we never hear these stories about them...at least not in last 10 years...

Other than better speaking skills compared to Ijaz Butt, i dont find anything in this interview nor in his actions as CHairman PCB to think that he could clear the mess if given the job.

Yaar yeh crisis cell ki bakri i mean larki bauhat tez bolti hai...
As usual Imran Khan says me, mien, mujhe, mera, I , myslef....

National Assembly Chairman Standing Committee being hit out of ground for sixes…

Yes he is a classy and suave man…

Trivia: Shahryar Khan is first cousin of indian cricketer Nawab Pataudi

Kapil Dev spoke very well too :k:…agar aap apney des se ghuddari kar saktey hein to aap kissi se bhi ghuddari kar saktey hein…

Haroon Akhtar and Shahryar Khan are also right in pointing out that most match-fixing syndicates are based in Mumbai and Puna…but the principal blame lies with the named players if they are indeed at fault

where did Immi say me me me?

Imran ney infact bari samajhdari kee batein kee hain

Agree with you though that the host talks way too fast..

Afridi talks to inquiry panel

In this leaked video, Shahid Afridi testifies before the Pakistan Cricket Board inquiry committee that was set up after Pakistan’s disastrous tour of Australia earlier this year. Afridi talks about negativity, but is there a veiled reference to match-fixing?

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/news/leaked-video-afridi-talks-to-inquiry-panel/161132

^No from this video i dont think so.

Well I met Imran Khan at a garden party in 1990 and he was only singing praises of Saeed Anwar, that what a naturally gifted opener Saeed was, one of the best timers he had ever seen... I think truth is somewhere in between. Maybe Saeed was out of form as well.

And to be fair to IK, Shoaib Mohammad was an average player. His father Hanif Mohammad was a genius but Shoaib was nothing special (yes I know he had 7 test hundreds) and with the likes of Mohsin Khan and Mudassar Nazar (both better than Shoaib IMO) around, Shoaib was always going to struggle to get into the side as an opener

I’ve no idea why Wajid Shamsul hasan is insisting that the players are innocent. I dont think he should. Though he said its cuz they they are not guilty yet. But still, when the whole world is doing thoo thoo, he should be more responsible in the selection of words

I agree, Imran liked Saeed Anwar a lot. In 1992 both Saeed Anwar and Waqar Younus were unfit.

Education and upbringing (not every parent does it well) have a lot to do with this

Mohammad Asif’s Father

As much as I feel sorry for Asif’s father, after watching this video I am not surprised why Asif and others behave the way they do…ab iss becharey ney kya upbringing kee hogee apney bachon kee!!!

All the players involved in the scandal are on a central contract, which guarantees them a better life than they’re used to. Add match fees and substantial product

and you have enough income to live comfortably. So don’t dismiss this because our players don’t make enough to make ends meet. Condemn it because they want more than they deserve. It’s greed – plain and simple.
A more compelling argument is that of education. Amir, Asif, Kamran and many others are propelled into international stardom devoid of any scholastic fine-tuning. Schooling is not a priority for our players, and if one is bereft of the principles and disciple that comes with education it becomes harder to develop a moral compass. Furthermore, it doesn’t help when the PCB compounds the problem through an inconsistent and whimsical application of its own rules and penalties. From bans](http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/451392.html) to **exoneration](http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/461263.html), the PCB has cultivated a culture of misplaced benevolence. Pariah one day, savior](http://www.cricinfo.com/england-v-pakistan-2010/content/story/472953.html) the next. Our players simply are not taught accountability by the management.**

http://blog.dawn.com/2010/08/30/how-low/

Moral values is what is missing in these players, to people who are not well connected to the world/ not knowledgeable enough everything is a conspiracy against Pakistan.

They may be 'deserving' more but they tried to get it by all means hook or crook thats where the problem is, they failed to judge right from wrong and thats what they are being punished for.

^ Teaching your kids moral values is part of parental upbringing. As I said it is an art, not every parent does it well.

I see it at the airport everytime I fly from London to Islamabad and vice versa :D

And speaking of moral values and character, this is one of my favourite songs

What a beautiful song by Noor Jahan

Wonderful lyrics by Allama Iqbal