in the 300 dollar range…any suggestions ppl?..
I was eyeing a tissot(titanium)…is it a good choice?
Watches? Ha. Just go buy one you like. Any good watch will come with warranty.
A wristwatch is probably the most important part of persons dressing.. and speaks in volumes about ones peronality.. many people just glance at someones wristwatch to know the personality and even many interviwers check candidates wristwatches along with dress.. wristwatch is a thing which one wears everyday..
If u just want a falshy wristwatch buy anything from a Mall stand for $ 20 but if u want to spend like $ 300 or more do study at net about watch history.. I am avid reader of vintagewristwatch collecting and have more than 120 watches but those are old and pre-owned.. ebay is agreat source of pre-owned and vintage watches..
Tissot is a great company with great history.. I wont recomment any titanium series but their Stainles Steel is great.. check Tissot T-Trend TXL model.. its a classic look.. also look at companies like Oris.. I will check if I can look at some sites offering those watches at ur range..
How about a Wittnauer watch?
I personally prefer Movados and currently have an eliro which is amazing and my first Movado, the Movado sports which is my daily wear watch. I would highly recommend this company.
They make some pretty good watches in your price range.
Movado "Meza" which is a good watch is about $350. great watch. if you like a leather strap Movado Moderna is arounf $270. MOvado Kingmatic around $330, same fpr Movado Sapphire
Bhai saheb Fraudia shareef...
These Movado are great watches. Only thing is, one needs to have some advanced diplomas in geometry to read time correctly.
My philosophy on wrist-watches is actually pretty simple. Since, for some unfathomable reason, the scratches on all my wrist-watches accumulate in direct proportion to how much I wear those, so I tend to keep the price range of my wrist-watches below the tolerable anguish factor. Or else, if some Allah ka naik banda ya bandi gift mein wrist watch day tau nothing like it. Right now, I am wearing a Fossil ARKITEKT. The one with a blue backdrop and three dials inside the main dial, about which I have little clue even at this point. But its a nice watch, nevertheless. I don't think it costs anywhere close to 300 bucks. And since it was a gift, so I am not about to go and find out, anyway.
*Originally posted by Degas: *
I am avid reader of vintagewristwatch collecting and have more than 120 watches but those are old and pre-owned..
hmmm.. are u for real? ...
yo cooldude get an immitation tag heuer for 15 bucks
Degas - I don't want to work for a company who judges my talents on the quality of my wristwatch neither do I wana associate with people who stare at my wrist rather look into my eyes and beyond.
I've lost so many watches over time. So basically, I buy the Casio Sports that has nice legible digits, alarm, stop-watch, day, month, year and light for under $10.
Thanks but no thanks.
funguy,
I never said wristwatch is the only criteria but there are so many facets of ones personality that fits a candidate.. many people have got jobs in shorts and at interviews.. and quality doesnt mean that that its expensive too.. and its true one can judge somones tastes just by looking at wristwatch one wears.. like the type and color of ones clothes.. and one should always wear wristwatch that one likes..and I suggested too its better to get $ 20 or under wristwatch if one is not interested in wristwatches at all.. some prefer $ 1500 versace colorful shirt and others $ 40 plain polo.. it depends also on the use.. Cooldude asked that he wants to spend $ 300 and asked an opinion.. so ur suggesting him get a casio?
CorruptAngel posted a nice site.. with good deals in Raymond Veil, Zodiac in the range..
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
**Bhai saheb Fraudia shareef...
These Movado are great watches. Only thing is, one needs to have some advanced diplomas in geometry to read time correctly. **
May I suggest you familiarzie yourself with the Movado line of watches? Not all of them have the plain dial.
Thank you try again.
as far as anguish factor, do you also not go for nicer cars because they mey get dings and scratches above a tolerable factor? :)
*Originally posted by funguy: *
I've lost so many watches over time. So basically, I buy the Casio Sports that has nice legible digits, alarm, stop-watch, day, month, year and light for under $10.
Its the catch 22 right, I never invested in 3 items, watch, sunglasses and pens..because I would always lose them. Until I decided to buy myself a pair of Armani shades as a reward for some successfully getting through a grueling schedule at work and school. That was in 1995, I still have that pair.
My wife bought me teh Movado and I have not managed to lose it. and when I finally got myself a decent pen, I managed to keep that safe as well.
I guess if you really value somethings you take better care of them. I dunno, but to each his or her own. My dad never used an expensive pen, watch or shades and was happy that way.
Degas is correct. A man should invest in a good wristwatch. It is a sign of proper gentlemanliness. Something Swiss, prefereably. Two watches are a must, a black leather strap white face for those dressy occasions and a steel/titanium band chronograph of somekind for everyday use. ![]()
Check out wrist watches by Emporio Armani. They are classically designed with good movement in your price range (They have a funlky chronograph that is rectangular in shape and looks like the TAG Monaco for around $300).
I realize that your budget is $300; however, I am with Degas...and belive that a man should invest in a good wrist watch once in their lifetime. I would recommend a Rolex or an Omega automatic movt. I have seen Omega Seamasters (James Bond's choice) for around $1500. A Rolex Oyster can be had for around $2000. I realize that its beyond your budget, but you could keep a Rolex or Omega for life (My dad has had one for 30 years), and never need another watch again.
*Originally posted by Ahmar: *
I realize that your budget is $300; however, I am with Degas...and belive that a man should invest in a good wrist watch once in their lifetime. I would recommend a Rolex or an Omega automatic movt. I have seen Omega Seamasters (James Bond's choice) for around $1500. A Rolex Oyster can be had for around $2000. I realize that its beyond your budget, but you could keep a Rolex or Omega for life (My dad has had one for 30 years), and never need another watch again.
Thanks for the suggestions guys...
Love the website Curruptangel,will help me alot to make my decision.
Ahmar,yaar,I am only a student,aur usi auqat mein rehna chahta hoon..
When I need to buy a Rolex after 10-15 years...I'll definitely get your advice....:)
hahaha. $300 for a watch. What are u planing to do with it?
I would never spend that much money for a watch.
i don't really know that much about them but a few weeks ago, i saw a timex for $40 dollars at Zellers. Just thought it'll be useful for u.
$2000 for a watch
.. what do they do.. take you back in time?
seriously folks.. who needs a watch? .. doesn’t your cell phone or other gadgets tell time?? can’t you at least keep track of time yourself.. when i was young (those were the days) I read somewhere that “agar aap baghair gharree daikhay time bata saktay hain to aap yaqeenan barray aadmee banain gay”..
well since then .. no wristwatch for me.. i can tell time to around a +/-5 min accuracy .. although i didn’t grow that much.. so i guess can’t trust everything you read in "Mahnama Taleem-o-Tarbyat..
PA,
good to hera to have become "barray aadmee" but people spend so much on fancy cards, dress, high tech computers and electronics they will never use, paintings, large houses then why not good wristwatch? Its pleasure to wear a nice wristwatch.. I can trade anyday a nice wristwatch and drive my old car then to drive a fancy sports car! its all in ones perception.. one may go out and buy 5 MPix camera that one never needs.. I am at the moment wearing a 1950 Pierce Chronograph and I love it...
i,m all for having a classy watch, sunglasses, clothes etc.
get it from my dad, although i dont currently own a classy funky watch at the moment, i do own 6 classy sunglasses, and my dads the type of guy who wears a leather hat when hunting, and rayban driving series for driving, rayban golf series for golf etc etc. which is kinda cool i think. but it really depends on the type of personality one has. There would be people who just dress up to cover their privates and there are others who like dressing up n hence spend quite a lot of money on their wardrobes and gadgets like watches and sunglasses and pens etc.
I also agree with degas when he says the watch tells a lot about ones personality. I wear a army-green G-Shock AW-510(dark olive ;) just the way moona likes it ) with a black dial and its got a little digital portion. Its not the regular G-Shock, but a chronograph, and i,ve had it for 3 yrs n still in love with it. I got it for 260A$. So it would be about 150 160 american i think. Its a good watch for a student and specially if ur an active outdoor sort of a person.
[thumb=C]AW_510US_3B.JPG[/thumb]
the picture doesnt do justice to it,, its a lot prettier in real life ;)
Well I finally bought myself a watch not a Tissot though..:p
I couldn't find a titanium Tissot here(or maybe I didn't look hard enough)
So I settled with a Seiko Titanium...Cost me 910 dhs(around 250 dollars)
Here's a pic,doesn't look exactly like this(the bracelet doesn't contain any golden linings,the hour an minute hands are much thicker)..
[thumb=D]142-15.JPG[/thumb]
who needs a watch when u have a cell phone :p