Long March for Judiciary Restoration Kicks off (related threads merged)

Exactly. No gangwar-style shoot-out like May 12, no explosions like Nov., and so on....:)

And the best part is there was no Musharraf in sight to say 'Dekhi hamari taqat'. Poor fella.

lol i meant as in it was a pointless rally. kuch ziyada hi smooth ho gai thi. thori ziyada istari mardi thi shahyad. the lawyer “leadership” admitted it was a giant failure

here is the interesting part

Re: Long March for Judiciary Restoration Kicks off

lol i meant there was no loss of life, which had for some time become a trademark for rallies under previous Govt.

And everyone came back home to their families, that's a first and hopefully not the last. :)

Re: Long March for Judiciary Restoration Kicks off

yea it was great no lives were lost. i still disagree with the lawyers and the low class "hang musharraf" line by mr sharif, but atleast no suicide bombings or nothing. :)

Long March was an expensive failure?

Geo reported, the cost came out to be an estimated (i’m wondering how they calculate it) 2 urab. 2 billion rupees I think? Thats a lot of monies!

Thoughts? I personally saw nothing positive come out of it. Just one thing I do applaud is the Islamabad Police and the fact that nothing violent broke out. Although they couldn’t control mr. sharif’s foul mouth.

Re: Long March was an expensive failure?

This was bound to happen, after the PPP got elected, the PML-N and lawyers are not really in any position to demand things.

what the hell is going on

in Pakistan!

1. Governer Punjab says that long march was PML (N)'s election rally.
  2. Punjab Police beats the crap out of PPP workers at Lahore airport.
  3. APDM considering starting civil disobedience movement.
  4. Hamid Khan says that the decision of not staging a sit-in before the Parliament on June 14 was made without consulting the committee.

makes me wonder, are these people really sincere about what they say! AND will they ever be able to set aside their differences for a common goal?

Re: what the hell is going on

They're confused without army generals holding their hands every step of the way.

Aage aage dekho hota hai kia :chai:

You don't see well...in your list of 4 points...there they have the common goal...to benefit themselves... :D

PS: Pakistan mein kisi ka kya dimagh kharab hai kay woh qoum ki khidmat karay ga...aur baad mein zaleel ho ga...lol

PS1: In Pakistan...if anyone claims that his/her activities are directed to serve the people of Pakistan...I'd advise that they should see their shrinks immediately... :D

People's Party that should actually mean loagon ki jamaat in reality is Bhutto's party. Bhuttos or Zardari will be running the party as long as they live. Their claim to call it democratic party can very well be checked when we see almost all the decisions made single handedly. Even our PM says that I will do whatever party (meaning Zardari) tells me to do. What is the role of parliament, perhaps hitting the desks. This so called package was all prepared by Zaradi and will be endorsed by all PPP members without even looking at it.
May God spare us from these crooks be it 10%, 15% or 20%.
May Allah save bring Altaaf Hussain to justice. I think people of Karachi can do well justice to him once he returns to Pakistan.
That terrorist is hiding his behind in London and his slaves are doing the looting and terrorism in Karachi.

so now its official. it was a failure. more cracks are appearing from the sharif (for the lack of a better word) side.

One thing is for sure and that is: Musharraf or even Zia never had so much control over government as much as Nawaz would have if PML(N) comes to power or Zardari would have if PPP would come to power.

At least people in government could have showed descent to Zia or even Musharraf (as both Mush and Zia allowed that) but if Nawaz would tell his party so-called leaders/followers (slaves) to eat cow dung than they would do that declaring that cow dung is Sohan Halwa and if Zardari would tell his party so-called leaders/followers (slaves) to drink cow urine than they would do that declaring that cow urine is Aab-e-Hiyat.

To have power, both Zia and Musharraf had to force constitutional amendments but these thugs do not need that, as their party members are their slaves. If Zia was virtual dictator and Musharraf was dictator by name, these two are dictator to the core.

Problem is that, until Pakistanis come out of their slavery, their dictatorial rule would stay over Pakistan for many generations, as both intend to pass Pakistani slaves to their kids ... and so on.

Re: Long March for Judiciary Restoration Kicks off (related threads merged)

who merged my thread in THIS thread! my thread was about chaotic political situation in PAkistan, where every party involved is working on it’s own agenda! It had nothing to do with long march. :rolleyes:

exactly, how they came up with this figure! 2 Billion rupees is hell lot of money and I am sure ANY bar council or Civil society movement is not RICH enough to afford this kind of money!

/\ Khan is right!

My dear friend...Pakistan is the quom of Danda...Period!

true.. and unfortunately people with a political tunnel vision fail to understand this. They talk about judiciary but fail to judge the consequences and the price we would pay collectively! Constitutional package to restore judges, fair enough.. but the extra powers and other changes tied with the package! which will effectively strip the parliament of many powers and give total control of judiciary and parliament to one person sitting in presidential house! what a joke! The irony is that people pay attention to only one outcome of this deal, getting rid of Mushy that is.. (there is this phrase in Punjabi which I can’t here here cos of obvious reasons.. only if I could.. :hinna: )

People of Karachi will worry about these things, you should worry about Mehsud, Marri etc. and others closer to home.

Discarded so quickly by Aitraz ..tsk tsk

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2008\06\16\story_16-6-2008_pg7_14

I was not invited to march: Wajih

LAHORE: Justice (r) Wajihudin Ahmad has said that he was not invited to the lawyers’ long march in Islamabad. Talking to Express News on Sunday, Wajihudin said the long march could not achieve its objectives. The results of the long march would have been different had the lawyers stayed in Islamabad for one more day, he added. daily times monitor