can we have some news,
Re: lollywood news
come on mr.lucman, give us some news
What do you take this poor guy for? I'm sure he's got a lot of work to do in advertising his movie - leave him alone. Read up on the net - Jang, etc all have news on the film industry.
I think Mr Lucman’s posts have been extremely well articulated and he’s been giving such detailed responses that its admirable :k:
Well thank you sir for your support. After we need you more than you need us honestly. The latest news about Lollywood is that both Reema and I are in Thailand right now and we are trying to bridge the gap to be able to support our two films. In fact I have to get ready and join her for Sunday Brunch in the hotel very shortly. Khalil Rana has decided to direct his film the Punjabi flick "Mohabattan Sachian" and Shahzad rafique of Salakain fame is no more directing it. The rift was over Veena and Nirma, guess what? Nirma has won and the director is out. Irfan Malik's film has bombed and so has Altaf Hussain's Aik Gunnah Aur Sahi. Nini is all set to commence his directorial debut of Nadim Mandiviwalla's film. They have just completed the music and I can tell you its out of this world and absolutely divine. Good news for all you out there the music has been composed by Ali Zafar and he has sung the male numbers whilst a new girl from rawalpindi has done the female bit and they are both splendidly stunning I must admit.
Javed Sheikh's film has been postponed as he has decided to shift his locations now its not Bulgaria anymore but likely to be Australia lets wait for this one should be good as it has a lot of talent from Bollywood.
Work on new ciniplexes has already begun in Lahore and that we hope will change the climate of the industry. Additionally the Punjab Goverment has started work on an Imax theatre that is expected to chip in a lot as well. I guess very soon the days will be over for our dated ancient large cinema houses that cant be maintained and soon we should have a culture of mutiplexes like the rest of the world.
Shoaib Mansur is simply held back and his film is stalled due to artists and primarily Junaid jamshed and Ali Zafar. Its a long film about 3 hours and the backdrop is Afghanistan. Should be good when it comes out. He works hard and is in love with his subject.
There are some youngsters in Lahore who have pooled a lot of money and imported some state of the art cameras and equipment and the governmetn is keen to develop a lab of international standards to help the local industry.
Zara Sheikh is in Mumbai these days she is doing an item number of a film over there. Some Indian film people have asked us that they wish to be at the premiere of Pehla Pehla pyar and lets see how it goes.
When I get back to Pakistan we have a meeting on the 5th of August whence about 23 professionals have decided to form a club of directors, producers, studio owners etc to start 6 to 8 films at a time. This will ensure that all productions are of a certain quality and can have good story lines, production values etc. This idea has been going on for some time but now I feel it is very near fruitation. We have also decided in general to try new and emerging directors and refrain from the ones who have given nothing but vulgarity and bad artistic sense. However we still want people like Aslam Dar to make a film as he has always created a master piece whenever he made an attempt. Good news is that Javed Fazil is working on a script and so is Hummayun Saeed. I know for a fact that Jami and saquib Malik are very serious in their attempts and very soon you may witness a totally new climate emerging out of lollywood. For once the Government is also very supportive of all endeavours and for the first time I have seen a real interest and inputs at the highest levels. When we met the Prime Minister recently he was very clear about the kind of films that needed to be made and most of his comments are similar to what I have seen on your pages. He also feels our singers are very talented and that we may use the tool of co-production if and when requried but not simply to be able to say that we have Indian support. Which I feel is very logical and appropriate.
Its is no secret that our film industry is going through a very deep crises and unless revolutionary steps are taken it will be all over. From a ratio of almost 120 films a year we haev now come down to only 25 films this year. The good news is that the quality of Pushto films has imporved a lot and their the audiences have started to go back to cinemas and if we can pull up our socks then there is no reason we cant improve like them. But the single most detrimental factor ahs been blatant piracy and the cabel operators who also shamelssly indulge in piracy. No industry of the world can stand up to stealing adn we cant be an exception but recently the government of pakistan is beginning to crack against piracy and seems to be serious in tackiling this issue. I feel the trend will somewhat shift for a while to Punjabi films more as they are less effected by piracy and that we still make much better punjabi films than across the border. Then once we haev controlled our production values we can again enter the Urdu films that compete or are in comeptition directly with high budget Hindi films. The similarity of languages has been very bad. People tell me to learn from the Iranian cinema, but Iran never had to compete with a country much bigger, richer and more influential in cultural sense that was making films in farsi language..we are. In fact tehre is only one single example evry similar to our indurty's rpoblems and that is the United Kingdom. When Hollywood started it was more rich and technically sound. So the British started to institutionalise their industry anad decided that they were to concentrate on quality instead of quantity. I can be wrong but very soon I think a similar shift will be done in the pakistan cinema after all we have a lot of depth in our literature and no one can match us in that area. I hope and pray that together we all can contribute to reviving the glory days on Cinema in Pakistan..
:o !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tell Reema to make a guest appearance on GS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Are you serious? M. Lucman, I'm very impressed by your thoughts. Allah aap ki film ko hit karey.
lemme ask you a couple of quesions just out of curiosity. I hope you don't mind.
First, Are you typing these messages yourself or have you hired someone to do that?
Second, Are you married? not that I m interested, I just got engaged , but you know its good to know.
I'm bored!
Well Reema is not interested in teh www. I told her to develop a web page and she thinks its a sinister plot of some kind!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes I do my own typing or else there would not be so many mistakes. Also if I had hired someone that would have been back home I am in Thailand right now!!!!!!!!!
Yes I am married and have two children. My son Inshallah will be 5 years very soon and my beautiful lovely daughter has just turned 3. Infact one of the reason I got delayed in coming to Thailand is that my daughter was not well and since she is the apple of my eyes I had to wait till she recovered.
BY the way dont worry we will ensure that you dont get bored!!!!!!!!
WoW, Mr. Lucman, thanks a million for your input :)
We should make you our official correspondent for our GupZine. :D
thank you very much, and yes its good to see lollywood improving, but the first step should be to change the dammm name, lollywood.
Jacko heading for Europe
by EMANUEL SARFRAZ
After many years Pakistan film industry will witness a battle for the box office between two big-budget films of two new directors - Mubasher Lucman and Reema. Both are not new to showbiz and understand the dynamics of the industry but have locked horns over the release date of their movies. Both the flicks release is expected on August 12.
Nadeem Baig, Resham, Zara Sheikh, Ali Tabbish star in Mubasher's film 'Pehla Pehla Pyar' while Reema herself, UK-based model Simran, Veena Malik, Moamar Rana and Nadeem Baig are acting in Reema's film 'Koi Tujh Sa Kahan'. The music of both films was prepared in Mumbai and Bollywood playback singers have sung songs. 'Pehla Pehla Pyar' was filmed in Thailand and Dubai while 'Koi Tujh Sa Kahan' was shot in Malaysia.
Reema, known for her usually cool demeanor, reportedly blamed Syed Noor and Mubasher Lucman for attempting to block her film.
Mubasher, the producer and director of Pehla Pehla Pyar, talking to The Nation Plus before his departure for Bangkok to get the final prints said that he announced the date of release before anyone else. "I never had the time to read her statements; I am too busy getting my own film out on time. However if she claims that I am trying to block her film 'Koi Tujh Sa Kahan' then it must be that she is getting scared now and instead of asking any of the competitors directly for help she is giving out negative statements," he said.
"You can see the tempo we have been building up. First it was a TV promo, then a theatrical trailer, then the release of the film's music, then the playing of music on various FM channels, advertisements in the press, then the printing and distribution of our photosets and if you recall bill boards and posters months ago.
"I don't think you have seen any of this by Reema so far. So what is she complaining about?
"About her view that people will be divided if two films are released at the same time. There are over 200 cinemas in the country. It is good if more films are released on the same dates. Then all of them get a share of the pie. Plus I feel that if the choice is there, it will bring out more people from their homes and the spill over crowd will surely benefit the other competitor as well. Also if you see the recent history, you have many solo films with no competition that never even recovered the production costs.
"Reema should focus more on releasing her film and less on what others are doing. After all she is at an age where she doesn't have too many career choices and needs this hit badly.
About a query that her film could pose a threat, he said that Indian film 'Mangal Panday' coming out on the same date was more of a threat as it could make viewers sit in their homes. "I think the forthcoming local bodies elections are more of a menace. I definitely don't think Reema's film is a threat in any way whatsoever.
A good film will always be a good film and then come the cinema. The cinemas have their own pulls and strengths. "I could not have got the best cinemas in Pakistan if I did not have my current distributor. After all why else would I share my margins with them?
"Her draw will be big if people think she has a good product and not because she is some film star. Let's face the reality for the past four or five years she has been shunted out of the industry as she did not have any work. This is an effort to re-launch her acting career. I mean if she was sincere to revive the film industry she would have come as a director only and not as the main star of the film. If people really wanted to see her then she would still be doing films of other directors as well. Everyone can't be against her. That's a ridiculous conspiracy theory," he said.
Comparing Reema with Resham (the heroine of his film), Mubasher said that if he considered her a better actor he would have asked her to act in his film. "I do agree that Reema is a great dancer and she can dance to any beat in the world but when it comes to emotionally charged performances Resham is far too superior," he maintained.
Thanks for the news Mubashar and others.
Mubashar, I dont see any reason to deny your factual and elaborative statements but a few hard line pak movie haters will always pick a point up to pinpoint our movies and laugh. Yes, we have a crisis and yes we do have limtied resources, but one thing we do NOT lack in is talent. Young and energetic directors like yourself and Jami (I am sure i am missing quite a few) have it in them to give a positive spin to struggling industry.
On the other hand, I do not beleive that one good subject film or a good commercial success film will be enough to convince movie-goers to return to cinemas. It will take a strong of consistently intelligent and successful movies to changge the trend.
Best of luck to your projects and we will do whatever in our capacity to support your cause.
The idea of having a society that makes it a goal to come out with a certain number of movies per year is a good idea...as long as in the long run it allows for other to give films a try. Sometimes these "societies" become a mafia, and they try to monopolize the industry. But definitely, the momentum has to be kept up for things to happen. One movie a year that is "ok" is not good enough to get the industry jumpstarted.
I just wish GEO and ARY were better about promoting these movies. I saw GEO play Reem's movie's clips, but ARY still has not shown Pehla Pehla Pyar trailors. I watched damn Aik Jhalak yesterday - the whole show. I didn't do anything else while watching it either, just so that I wouldn't miss the trailor.
lucman, which are the big pak films release this year,
None, suhaib.
theres nothing funny, there are 2 we allready know of PPP and reemas film are there any others, except majanaj
majanaj? hain?
So far this year, I haven’t heard of any successful picture coming out.
Last one was Salakhain, which barely made a profit. It did much better compared to the other movies made by our most intelligent and classy Sangeeta and Shamim Ara. ![]()
But considering how much work was put into Salakhein, it didn’t give as good a return as it should have. I don’t know what the problem with that movie was - maybe weak plot - bad release timing - who knows.
New subjects can make flicks click
by EMANUEL SARFRAZ
Pakistan film industry can bounce back only if films with new subjects are produced. Due to piracy and illegal screening of
http://www.nation.com.pk/magazines/nationplus/2005/30-jul/images/a.gif
Indian movies by Cable TV, people exposed to better flicks will now not accept crude Lollywood productions. The industry will have to present quality films to bring the viewers back to cinemas.
Model turned actress Nisha stated this while talking to The Nation Plus on Friday. She entered showbiz as a model three years ago and began acting in TV plays after some months. She began her acting career in Hamid Kashmiri’s play ‘Dard-e-Safar’ and went on to act in a number of hits including ‘Rutun key anchaal’ and telefilms ‘Dada ki subah’ and ‘Yeh moamala koi aur hai’. She also anchored magazine show ‘Cinema Cinema’ on ARY. Currently she is the female lead role in directorial debut of Raja Riaz ‘Dil say dil tak’. The film is a love story shown in the backdrop of Taliban rule in Afghanistan. The last spell of shooting will be held in Jalalabad in Afghanistan. Nisha says many people tried to instil fear of going to Afghanistan in her. “The whole film team is very friendly and co-operative. I do not see any problems cropping up. Till now everything has been very well organised. The only thing that is being kept in mind is to make sure that quality work is done,” she said. About the deterioration in the standard of TV plays, Nisha said that it was all due to the fact that writers were not coming up with good stories. "Star Plus plays are popular because of their good presentation and the fact that people can relate to the situations shown with their own lives.
“In line with the Star Plus plays trend many of our directors are churning out glamorous stuff but they have forgotten to put in the ingredients that reflect real life stories,” she said.
About the film subjects, Nisha was of the view that our film industry will have to come up with better scripts. “What technology do you need to present a good story and plot? Our film writers will have to explore the world around them for new stories and stop glorifying gangsters and outlaws,” she said.
Salaakhain was awfully done. The way they promoted it it looked like they were makin the Pakistani Titanic but the film was crap!
This Dil Se Dil Tak sounds interesting. Let's see how it turns out, now...
i havnt seen salakhein yet, but it did good business and i hope its not as BS as other hit films like YDAH, commando, larki punjaban etc.