Lifestyles

I like a clean house. And whenever I venture into the kictchen to mess it up, I always clean it up afterwards. I normally try not to mess up things in the house as my houseboy comes only 3 days a week and otherwise I may have to end up re-arranging things in proper places.

I dont like doing dishes, however if required I can do them. I put my clothes in the washing machine myself, my house boy dries them in the drier and irons them for me. I know how to iron, and make proper creases on my trousers and shirts, but I dont enjoy doing it. It normally happens when I go back home as everyone irons their own clothes in my house. In Pakistan we have two maids who do the cleaning and washing and a boy who comes to wash our cars everyday, my mother does the cooking.

Now I was having this discussion with someone and realized ke most desi families in the west clean their own bathrooms. How yuccky is that? I mean, Khuda ke liye, this is janitorial stuff, one should starve a day to be able to afford a janitor at least. This is why I dont plan to settle anywhere in north america, or europe if I cant afford a maid or a house boy to at least do the toilets.

Now tell me, why did all these desi’s moved to the west if they cant afford a person to come and clean their toilets? What better standard of life do they talk about? BachoN ko bhangi bananae ke liye amrika le gaye thae kya?

Mera dil toot gaya hae thinking about all those sophisticated looking foreign bred desi girls knowing ke they do their toilets. :frowning:

Please discuss.

Re: Lifestyles

Ur livin in Pak ?? :eek:

I love cleaning
its my favourite pastime

very very relaxing

and yes sometimes you just do what you gotta to... I dont think cleaning your own bathroom is disgusting

I find it objectional if somebody else comes and cleans it.

Anyway...I dont know what state you leave your bathroom but mine isnt particularly unpleasant:p

It not much more different than wiping up after a someone who has been sick

Id prefer not to do it if it wasnt a close relative...

Ashtray as long as u r not cleaning someone elses toilets I don’t think it is that awful a job. What america does to you is it makes u realise that cleaning ur own mess doesn;t demean you, furthermore as long as it is halaal ki kamai you shouldn;t consider any job beneath u. Thats actually along the lines of Islam :eek:

p.s. I hate cleaning bathrooms or anything for that matter. Its all gotta be cleaned for me :smiley: I can just cook and cook and cook some more.

I agree with Miss Femme, there is nothing demeaning about it. :snooty:

I would feel weird having someone else cleaning up after me and I don’t think I would be able to trust them to do as good of a cleaning job as I would do.

^^^ THE LAST LINE

Lol, Its a women thing

What I hate is women in from places like Pakistan who will take great pleasure in telling you that they dont and often cant cook and clean and look after themselves because someone else does it for them
and it often gives me great pleasure in telling them that I find their disabilities quite disturbing

Well… I don’t cook or clean much, coz my mommy takes care of it. I take care of my own stuff, clean my own room but the majority of those responsibilities r left upto ammi :clown: We both agree that ill hav to do this stuff when im married n hav my own home, so migh tas well enjoy it while i can :blush:

Oh
My
God.

Meray sapnoN ka Taj Mahal (for LD: Taj Mahal of my dreams) just came tumbling down :frowning:

I unserstand the part where you girls say ke you dont expect someone to do the cleaning to your satisfaction, but that should be everything else and not the WC. Be;lieve me I clean my wash basin everytime after washing my hands or face and use the shower to flush any left over hair in the tub. But when it comes to using the brush in the WC :nono: .

And girls who feel uncomfortable with others cleaning their bathrooms, how messy do you leave it? Dont tell me you guys dont flush :eek: arrrgh what a horrendous picture.

i hate cleaning the bathroom. i make my mom do it.

and tell me, all of you who only does their own now, how many of you will be doing it for your husbands and kids after marriage?

I will :clown: But as soon as my kids r grown ill tell em to do it themselves !

Put on the mp3 player and clean up! I often find cleaning up after the desi party I hosted usually more enjoyable than the party itself.

One of the good things about cleaning up after you is that it makes you think about the best and quickest way to do it. No wonder things like vacuum cleaner, swiffer and disposable toilet brushes are invented in the west, who would wanna think about inventing them when the masi from gharebabad comes in to clean up the house.

ahmadjee, i do that too, it is not that kind of cleaning I am talking about. I am talking about the toilet bowl. Now how good do you feel cleaning that up after the guests?

It feels pretty good when it's sparkling clean and I put my fancy bum on it. To get that feeling someone has to clean it!

Sara I wish :teary1:

No wife of mine is going to do that (inshAllah)

Bhaijan aap bhi sahi haiN. No amout of money can convince a maid to clean it after your bum has been on it.

I wonder if there are more from where you came from

I think a part time maid doesn;t cost a whole lot. a single trip can cost 60-70dollars if ur living in a medium sized home. If u have one come over every weekend its under 300/mo which isnt totally out of reach. U can do the daily cleaning urself and have a maid to do the cleaning for the weekend including bathrooms. I know a lot of ppl who have part time maids. Infact I am looking for one myself too, since my elder sister was the one who liked cleaning etc, but now that she is getting married i gotta think...

This reminds me when Thap was in Egypt and still a bachelor he had a cleaning lady. Once he thought she had her day off and he came out of the shower butt naked to come face to face with her - that was hilarious. Off-topic I know.

I have never in my life cleaned a loo either.

Femme mubarak ho aapki behn ki shaadi. Ab kya aap ki bari hae :blush:

and that is what I am talking about. Most can afford it but wont do it. Other than LD and ahmadjee, no one actually enjoys cleaning it. Kanjooso.