Life is easier in Pakistan?

Everyone I know has said that life is just easier in Pakistan but ermmm I dunno.. My experience so far, lets say I wanna go shopping in Liberty.. I have to:

–make plans wit my cousin who doesnt even need to buy anything, just has to come along, who also asks if so and so can go coz i knw she thinks two grls goin shoppin or somethin “theek nahi lagta”
–tell/ask my dad, who asks me over and over and over, “haan aj ka kya program hai? kis kisne jana hai? Kaisay jao gae?” Which is fine, no problem, but after the 10th time it gets kinda frustrating lolz
–wait for our driver ot show up coz most of the time HE DOESN"T or he’s late :mad: Day’s plans pretty much depend on whether he shows up and I hate that sort of dependence. :mad:
–wait for hte driver n sher khan to go buy their rotis, finsih eating before we can go anywhere..
–wait until the stores are open coz for some reason, stores here don’t open til after 12 PM :grumpy:

I wanna go shopping in NYC, I have to:

–get dressed
–grab my money and ipod and cell fone
–tell ammi im going, promise ill be home before dark
–get on the bus and go :biggthumb

Anyway, shopping is just one aspect.. theres plenty others, but ill save those foranother time :phati:

Re: Life is easier in Pakistan?

i guess life wud be easy in pakistan if we dun go shopping :D

Sara, why don’t you take some other transport…like rikshaw??..
if youknow stores open late…then stay quitely at home in the morning:watch TV, read books, study for college, pray and read Quran…there are so much more than shopping in life…;I agree shoppping is more fun :wink:

Everyone I've spoken to who have lived in both countries, say life is easier in North America. Personally, even though I have never lived in Pakistan, I would have to agree.

Well shopping is pretty much teh only thing I CAN do here, duno much else to do..

Parris, im not complaining.. not really.. :D

Fret, i think ppl consider NA alot easier, becuase you have to do everything yourself, if you get a job, its on ur merits n not coz of nepotism..I dont have to take so many ppl along or wait for someone to finish eating and or showing up or whatever.. I think those who r easy going n laid back wud find the life here easier :biggthumb

i dunno..if i were filthy rich, i would move to pakistan and live there....life in north america is hard (talking about working - both job and home), taxes, etc...the only thing about north america i like is the freedom...like sara mentioned, living here in toronto, i can go shoppign whenever i want..but when i was in pakistan, i had to depend on other pple..i hate doing that...but one thing that i would love living in pakistan is the ability to eat anythig i want, without thinking if its haram or not...

i went to lahore last yr for three weeks and i went crazy. no privacy....no nothing....everyone just tagged along anywhere i went....even though i was the only one shopping....i had to depend on my mamoo to take me around everywhere.....hated it.....i missed everything about home...my freedom....my car....food....williams pub :(

Pakistan = Awesome food. Case closed.

i don’t think i will run in to that issue :smiley: - I would tell ami ji and go out-

i would have fired that driver by now sara- this late…

Me and my sis we are like Sultana rahi type of a deal so mom is never worried - she worries about those who will bother us :cb: - My sis is extremely strong physcially - she can pick up ami ji easily :rolleyes: - i am good with my bakwaas :cb:

oh i so know what you mean! My parents always have this "koi bara ya phir koi bhai saath hona chahiye" rule too

Thats why I have no friends in pakistan :( only family

hmmm,. ...........lifes easier in the uk,.but in pakistan,.the atmosphere is so like,.................homeeeeeeeee,...............nice food,....nice clothes,...............lol,....................i dno,.........................ur own nokar,...............lol,.....................pakistan is better i'd say,.......

Iori, good food = motapa :bummer:

pinkd out stop whining.. 3 weeks is nothing, i been here for almost 4 months :smiley:

aah so now we’re using “ease of shopping” as a subjective measure to assess where life is easier?! :smack:

A lot of it depends on the stage of life you’re in… if you have family responsibilities etc.
If you’re well qualified, have a stable job and are guaranteed a comfortable lifestyle, I’d have to be inclined towards Pakistan… in the West, the same type of comfortable lifestyle often comes with a heavy price tag where one has to sacrifice family ties, social life and sometimes even personal health.

I don think any of us have “friends” in pakistan, family = friends.. :halo:

Umar: no we're not :p

Anyway its not about shopping, but rather.. lack of privacy.. lack of space, constant dependence on others, qualities that wud drive me nuts

I know 1 yr, 5, 10 yrs later i will change my mind and find htat pAkistan is a better place to live.. it's something I'd definitely consider when I have kids.. but where I am right now, in my stage of life, I find life in US a bit more appealing :)

Mr Talib has a point, however at the moment Im with Sara

There is more than life to just "shopping", as Talib indicated above. You can't just pick one aspect of life and use it as yardstick to judge the whole "life".

Get used to of it. You will love it once you mentally adjust there.

Yes, there is more to life than shopping and I never said Talib was wrong. There are these qualities that I stated above that are present in pretty much every aspect of life here so far (as been my exp), its just that shopping was on my mind at the time i wrote this.. :)