Lice help... Gina and others??

arrrrrrrrghhh, i m so pissed. pls tell me how to get rid of lice. ive tried using the lice comb but it dusnt take out all the lice. I tried the mayonaise, vinegar and tea tree oil mixture but m waitin for results. i got this recipe online… posters had suggested using this mixture and 95 percent said it worked. but i wanna know wot u guys suggest…i just HATTTTTTTTE these bloody creatures crawlin on my head.. i can so feel it and it distracts me from my work :frowning: pls help. thanks alot

Re: Lice help... Gina and others??

Step 1: if you have long hair, cut it.
Step 2: don't fret/cry over it. it will grow.
Step 3: buy the OT lice and nit killer thingy from any pharmacy. best $20 you'd ever spend. use as directed.
Step 4: use the nit comb in the shower, when you have conditioner on. Also, vinegar is a great conditioner, and that will also help remove the nits. Use vinegar just as you you'd use any other conditioner. Don't worry, the smell goes out.

thx khumar!!! i tried the mixture yesterday. i put it for an hour but still feel these creatures crawlin in my head :( its soooooooo bad. ive tried the shampoo thing last yr but its really damaging.. so im lookin for somethin natural yet powerful. but really appreciate your response!

Mall just buy a lice shampoo from a pharmacy.. I blv u're supposed to leave it on for 5 mins and rinse off..

1. Stay away from Licer (person who have lice).
  2. Don't share bed, pillow, towel, clothes or anything with licer.
  3. Use anti lice shapoo or whatever.
  4. Keep using for few times even after sometimes.
  5. If licer is a family member then use lice killer on same day to all family member.
  6. Use lice killer after 2 or 3 or 1 week or 15 days to kill if any nit hatched into a lice. To make sure. You won't need a nit comb.
  7. Leave lice killer more then the time asked in your hair like 15 or half hour. Aik hi hamlay main khatmay kay liaay.
  8. Spray lice killer little bit after 2 or 3 days or a week or after 15 days.

When my daughter had headlice, I used mayonaise. she has really thick curly hair, so it was a nightmare trying the other methods.
Basically lather on any old cheap mayonaise, wrap hair in cling film and leave for a few hrs, the longer the better. this method has many benfits. a, the oil suffocates the lice, it goes into all their breathing passages and kills them!! yeh! b, the vinegar loosens the eggs from the hair shaft. so theyre easier to remove. besides all that, your hair feel come out really soft, albeit a bit smelly.
this method needs to be repeated every week for about amonth, so that you catch headlice in their varying growth stages.

It really was the best thing.
also when showering, once you have conditioner in your hair use a headlice comb to remove.

the over the counter remedies don't work as the bloody nits are immune to chemicals.

all this is making my head itch!

hehe.. thanks Ophy!! i tried mayo mix yesterday but still feel the sensation :( i so want to get rid of them.... i wll try it in a day or two again. so after the mayo mix did you did to comb her hair too? cus i did i didnt even get 1 lice... i got some greyish color nits i guess, that too maybe 4-5 not more. m i doin somethin wrong?

Mall there are few things you can try

1) change your pillow cover every day

2) don't brush your hair, some eggs may end up on the brush and it is hard to clean the brush, and these eggs may end up in your hair again, use comb instead, take a toothbrush(extra/old would do) and clean the comb with that everythime you are done combing your hair.

3) For lice you will have to be patient it becomes psychological too, the best way to get rid of them is to tie thread in your lice comb, between the thred/teeth on the comb so that the comb teeth/thred become even more close/narrow, and then comb your hair under running water every day. It will take few days and will get rid of all the eggs, you may have to clean your lice comb everytime too. It is time consuming but worth the effort.

I had the a mild lice problem when I was in the hospital for about a month after my son was born, I hate anything creepy/crawly. I couldn't believe that this can happen esp. here in Canada, so I was desperate(esp. because I didn't want baby to get it) and somebody told me to this and it WORKED..

good luck

Re: Lice help… Gina and others??

anti lice shampoo always works :hmmm:

As lice are so common I think most lice shampoo's have become resistant and do not kill the lice. I think the best option would be to comb hair daily. Make sure your hair is wet and you have lots of conditioner on. Unfortunately there is no quick fix. Hopefully by combing you will get rid of the actual lice quickly and carry onto regularly to get rid of the eggs.

i dno but i heard mayonnaise works on lice-infested hair!

You can get de-licing kits from the pharmacy. I don't know how well they work but you could also get a prescription from your doc.

lice problem… :smack:

use medicam anti lice shampoo...

good luck...:)

thanks everyone for your replies. i do not want to try the over the counter lice shampoos or anything. in the end they are chemicals and cud b harsh for my hair so i dun prefer that. this is precisely why i wanted some natural remedies. thanks sbb for your long post. I have already got myself a new pillow and pillow cover and changed the bed sheet too. i will try the mayo recipe again in a day or two.

i m just worried abt goin to pak... in pak almst every one has lice. i m plannin to go there soon and i just dread thinkin abt lice. last yr i got lice in pak and a few months later here in UAE. its soooooooo frustrating... cus in pak u have to do the lice removing yourself. atleast i will b too embarassed to ask someone to do it for me..

How can u be so sure that they are lice? U havnt seen any of them? i mean when ya used the lice comb etc. If it feels itchy and uncomfortable. then its not neccessary that you have lice in your hair. It can be cuz of dandruff. And if it is then try selson blue. 100% satisfacton garanteed. :)

And if it is lice. Then be patient, you cant just remove all the dandruff/lice from ur head over night. Be patient keep on using the methods. InshaAllah you'll be successful in kicking some lice ass. hehe. I had them too loads off :s... Aur jahan tak mujhe yaad hai. meray selson blue istemaal kerne k baad se hi khatam huin theen. Aur tabh se abh takh Alhamdulillah mujhe kabhi problem nahi hui. Though selson blue is an anti-dandruff shampoo.

Might not be available out of pk.. m not sure. But I just wanted to say that shampoo's work too.

thx rockker... i really wanna kick some ass!! :D i know its lice cus i have killed sum... ok i will try anti dandruff shampoo also. i was also wondering if clear shampoo wud b gud. i have one and when i put it on my head its so minty and i feel a cold tingling sensation. wud that also work on lice?

You can live with head lice that damages roots of hair and leads to hair loss itself but you don't want to use chemicals to remove lice permenantly? That doesn't make sense! You won't need more than 2-3 treatments and your head lice will be gone forever probably. Why not just get rid of the problem!

Anti-lice shampoo is safe to use.. it doesn't damage u're roots/scalp or hair shaft in any way.