Libraries

My wife and I love libraries and are always always members of the library of the city that we live in. We take our kids there, we spend about an hour there, we all check the books out and make that a small family event. We love it when our kids go from shelf to shelf and pull books out so they can take them home to read. The whole atmosphere of library with shelves and shelves of books is so tempting that there is no way for anyone to go to a library and not check a book out.

I feel little threatened with the digital movement coming our way. Ebook readers and Ipads are going to kill brick and mortar libraries and all will be replaced by digital libraries that you can access through web and check a digital book out that you can keep on your Kindle or Ipad for a week.

To me, its not the amount of information but the whole atmosphere that makes a library, Library. I fear that our kids and their kids will not be as excited about reading books cause they may not have physical libraries around

Your thought

Re: Libraries

I loves me a library too. Kindle and other e-book readers can't compare at all. You don't need a battery to read whenever you want. I used to spend hours in my local library, just looking for the perfect book.

I :wub: libraries toooooo…there nothing like holding the BOOK in ur hand while reading it…I love books…my goal is to one day have my own little library in my house so that my kids can read books in their…and have their own little collection :chupki:

I remember once I went to Chapters and bought a little trolley bag full of books..and they were so shocked…and asked me if I was gonna read them or sell them!!! :cb:

My daughters did the same, even my mom checked out about 5 books and then she came to my wife and asked, ‘is there a limit on the number of books?’ .. :hehe: Its just fun.

One of my dream is to visit the main NY public Library. Inshallah one day I will

for some reason, i don't like big libraries. i like them small and intimate. i don't know why. big libraries are intimidating, confusing. sure you can find 40 books on guitar picks, but is it all necessary?

Advantage of big libraries is that you are certain to find the book that you are looking for. In small libraries, you may have to go through the library system to order a book as it may not be available at that library.

When I was in high school…I was not allowed to read books at home by my aunty (don’t ask why :aj: ) so I used to go to the library and sit their every morning, during breaks and after school too…and my principal noticed that I am always there…so guess what? They invented a prize to give to me at the end of the year…the “Student who uses the Library the most”. :o

.. maybe because of the kind of books that you wanted to read :hmmm:

nooooooooooooooo…:rotfl: I was reading Anne of Green Gables at that time…what is wrong with that??? and Nancy Drew, and Secret Seven all these Enid Blyton books…TLK uncle…u see something wrong with those???

Oh I love Enid Blyton.

yeaaaaa…I have such a huge collection of her books…LOVE THEM :wub:

I’m in love with enid blyton books too :wub:
I :wub: libraries but its been ages since i entered one:hinna:more than 5 yrs or so:hinna:

I think that maximum ban period from public library is 3 years. You should be allowed to enter one now.

:smack2: I went to library in high school:cb:
yahan sirf aik public library hai jiski existence ka mujhey 2 months back pata chala:bummer:& by tht time dad or bro werent faarigh enough to drive me tehre:hinna:

I lost one book like 2 months ago.. after that library jane ki himat nahi ho rahi :(

What should I do now ? :(.. Do I have to pay for that book ? :(

library suck.
Chapters rock!!

When we moved, the first thing I did was locate the local library. I love reading and while I buy a good number of books, the library is my fall back for the expensive hardcovers when I can't wait for the paperback version.

I'm afraid for ainda aanay waali nasl - reading is such a pleasure - but kids these days are taught to do anything but.

Please mommies and daddies, inspire a love of reading in your children tha kay unka zehan roshan ho.

my short public service announcement

Library for me Acted, Acting as a referral centre purveying full and accurate knowledge.... I love to spend most of my time with books. "The reading of all good books is like conversation with the finest men of past centuries".
With Regards
BoredMan

off course you have to :smack:

Jee thanks Aunty Sehrysh for the public service announcement :smiley:

Thank god my older one is into reading and younger one is just trying to copy her so she is into reading also