Liberal vs. conserative vs. moderate desis

Re: Liberal vs. conserative vs. moderate desis

and below that celebrate their birthday every five years :D

Not true, dude!

They have a very valid position as a matter of fact. They see major flaws in ideas that most liberals and conservatives fail to see, which is why they are probably the most sensible out of the bunch.

admi ka dil jawan hona chaa'eeye ..

oh btw, if Jawan dil can be a category, everyone please feel free to nominate me.

Again this classification could be very subjective. A person who is generally liberal or moderate in a certain aspect could be a complete conservative in say their political view.

Wherever religion is concerned I think alot of people tend to be more on the conservative side. Culturally we have a mixed variety of liberals and moderates. Yet Shehryar Khan and a few other posters (don't remember the names) are hardcore conservatives in terms of cultural views IMO.

none of these categories can hold diwana down.

he is blue until you say he is, then he is red. until you say red. etc. people who have had the pleasure of "debating" with him will see what i mean here...

jawan dil = chichorey ..interchangeable maybe :p

J/k :D

This and politics.

Disagree dudette!

Let me tell you an old joke.

Mulla Naseeruddin? was called to be the saalis (Judge as third person) when two men were arguing.

After he heard one person view, he said: Tum Theek Kehtay Ho. (You are right)

The second one told Mulla his opposite view: Mulla said Tum Theek Kehtay Ho. (You are right)

A forth person said who saw all this. And said

"Mulla Ji! How can both with opposite views be correct?"

Mulla thought for a while and said:

"Tum Bhi Theek Kehtay Ho." :D

Mulla was "moderate". :)

^Um no...

Me evergreen. Not blue, not red. :snooty:

LOL NO... :D I really forgot your nick.

I would say Mulla was a diplomat :)

1: You don't have to worry about the thread getting nasty, that's for me to worry about. So let's discuss this from any angle that we want to.

2: I don't discuss politics much so how have you reached the conclusion that I'm conservative in my political views? Culture means nothing to me if it's not in line with Islam. My views, like most Pakistani desis, about everything from clothing to using the toilet are governed by religion so it is obvious that whatever conclusion you have reached about me is because of my religious views so again how do we keep religion out of this one?

5: The definitions would've been different if I had asked another guppy whose thought process is different to yours. So the categories themselves hold no weight as there is no one definition for them. Like Enigmatic said, it is subjective.

And I wonder how I managed to survive in a conservative catholic country, making a tonne of friends of all religions, races, cultures, colours, shapes and sizes along the way, without being tolerant of their ideas and behaviour. Going by your definition, I'm quite a liberal! Hey there should be a 4th category - the liberaservatives!

This. You are conservative.

You are right. ;)

So if I call a spade a spade, I'm conservative? Then I'm very happy being just that.

OK

2: I don't discuss politics much so how have you reached the conclusion that I'm conservative in my political views? Culture means nothing to me if it's not in line with Islam. My views, like most Pakistani desis, about everything from clothing to using the toilet are governed by religion so it is obvious that whatever conclusion you have reached about me is** because of my religious views** so again how do we keep religion out of this one?

if you say so..i will remove your name from the list. No need to get upset.

5: The definitions would've been different if I had asked another guppy whose thought process is different to yours. So the categories themselves hold no weight as there is no one definition for them. Like Enigmatic said,** it is subjective**.

WHICH IS EXACTLY WHY I CREATED THIS THREAD! I want to understand what's considered liberal, conservative, and moderate views in desi community. You seem quite conservative to me COMPARED to other desis on this forum.

And I wonder how I managed to survive in a conservative catholic country, making a tonne of friends of all religions, races, cultures, colours, shapes and sizes along the way, without being tolerant of their ideas and behaviour. Going by your definition, I'm quite a liberal! Hey there should be a 4th category - the liberaservatives!

Being conservative doesn't mean you HATE people. Making friends with other groups of people doesn't make you a liberal. like I said, I am comparing YOU with the other members of THIS forum that I know...

Mostly, all diehard followers of ALL RELIGIONS have conservative views. Tell me, would you let your daughter wear a bikini?

"live and let live". thats pretty much me. Not sure which bracket that would come under but.