Who is responsible for the current state of Pakistan?
People like Zaid Hamid say that the problem is created by those who didn’t follow Iqbal’s philosophy… The philosophy which was guarantee for a prosperity that Muslim Spain observed for 800 years?
People like Hassan Nisar & Ali Chishti says these are just words and Arab conquests (taking as a symbol of prosperity by Iqbal) do not give solution to our society as by following such mindset we only created suicide bombers and not the scientists..
Ali Chishti & Nisar Hassan are of the view that Iqbal was not that big poet or scholars, and poets like him are born in every nation on regular basis. Ali Chishti also of the view that people like Zaid Hamid who distort history (referring to Mumbai Attacks) are behind current state of the country. (10:00 to 15:00 of the video)
Nisar Hussain also criticize Muslim Kings and conquerors like Haroon U Rasheed, Abdal Shah Abdali, Babar, Taimur and says that people feeling proud of about Muslim Rules should know that Khilafat was ended its inception and then its all about history of Muslim families (not Islamic).
well the situation that we are currently is that the leftists and rightists both have gone to extremes, hence the gulf widening we have the situation that exists in Pakistan. The moderates are getting marginalized, I feel even the extreme leftists are not that much different to the extreme rightists.
There were comments that we are still living in romance of a theory presented by Iqbal and people still are selling dreams on his name. How do you think this mindset of attaching ourselves with Foreigners (Arab, etc and their history) and staying in conflict with our neighbors contributed to current state?
I'm not a fan of Hassan Nisar.. but I do agree to his point that the mindset promoting Arab history as Islamic History is really distortion of history is correct. After Khulfa e Rashideen and in between a short period of rule by Hazrat Umar Bin Abdul Aziz, all rulers were monarchs behind their worldly wishes. No one had a feeling for Muslim Ummah..
Regarding Iqbal, no doubt he was a great poet and scholar, but every other nation and community do have scholars and poets like him.. I like Iqbal's view and his nationalism when he said 'Saare Jahan se acha Hindustan Hamara'. Loving foreigners and their history, who never owned us, is definitely the root of many problems, we are facing today. We need to follow lesson of harmony taught to us by our religion Islam (Peace) and bring our minds out of the superiority complex of 'Cheen-o-Arab hamara, Hindustan hamara. Muslim main hum, watan hai sara jahan hamara'.
No brother i believe we all muslims are one ummah...and whats your achievement as a ummati is mine too.....
When i am talking as a muslim i can not disown achievements of muslim....when some one say algorithm was developed by muslim i feel
proud.....
when we talk about geographical location of any community thats different.....
I accept muslim rulers after khulfa-e-rashidun and 2.5 years period of hazrat umar bin abdul aziz....
were not pious enough but calling everyone corrupt is too much....
Problem develops when extreme nationalism is embraced by muslims....
you can see how KSA rulers trust Pakistani army is one example of that....though for their own benefit....
but have you seen any third world country providing security to saudi rulers........
All christian nations are united havent you seen how they solved problem of East Timor and south sudan....and our palestinian brothers are still struggling....
No brother i believe we all muslims are one ummah...and whats your achievement as a ummati is mine too.....
When i am talking as a muslim i can not disown achievements of muslim....when some one say algorithm was developed by muslim i feel
proud.....
when we talk about geographical location of any community thats different.....
I accept muslim rulers after khulfa-e-rashidun and 2.5 years period of hazrat umar bin abdul aziz....
**were not pious enough but calling everyone corrupt is too much....
Problem develops when extreme nationalism is embraced by muslims....
**you can see how KSA rulers trust Pakistani army is one example of that....though for their own benefit....
but have you seen any third world country providing security to saudi rulers........
All christian nations are united havent you seen how they solved problem of East Timor and south sudan....and our palestinian brothers are still struggling....
The question is after Khulfa e Rashideen and Hazrat Umar Bin Abdul Aziz, which rulers can be said to follow the philosophy of Quran? Did we have a ruler like Hazrat Umar Bin Khattab (RA) who used to say that if even a person remain hungry in my rule, I'm accountable for that to Allah? Did we produce rulers, who provided bread and butter to the people or the rulers who take everything from the people?
Regarding KSA and other Arab Countries, they use us like tissue papers? Does these Saudis take actions for unification of Muslim Ummah. On one side they are oppressor of the sect different than them and on other sides they are allegedly involved in funding groups who are behind destroying Masajids of different sects all over the world.
I am not a big fan of saudis it was just an example how a religion decreases trust deficit.............:)
You are right about rulers...but we should accept that majority people working with hazrat Umar Faruq (radi Allah Ta'ala anhu) were pious too....
When we are corrupt how can we demand a just ruler.....as rule of an oppressor is also a punishment.....
We are promised that when Imam Mahdi will take charge as khalifa Inshallah then we ll have a just ruler......
till then we have to work for unity of ummah.......
When we call rulers corrupt we forget that during days when there were no 24/7 news channels it was easy to carry out any brutal and mean act in the name of king.....
I still accept no king was hundred percent righteous after khulfa-e-rashidun...........:)
The problem is how we develop our identity? Are we happy to call ourselves rulers of Spain and India, when indeed we and our ancestors were oppressed and invaded by those conquerors. They looted our wealth and went to their countries after plunder? We call Abdali and Nadir Shah saviors.. Mahmmod Ghaznavi is portrayed as our hero, when indeed those looters did contributed to the poverty of region not just because they looted wealth from our people, but also created atmosphere of regular invasions that never allow people of region to flourish.. And we still follow them as heroes and chanting slogans of Butt shikan and ' ek hi saf main kharay hue Mehmood o Ayaz'..
I will not call my self ruler of spain......but will say that our muslim ummah ruled spain....
I will identify more with mehmood who was follower of islam like me....where concept of equality flourished............
as far as looters are concerned that was common practice during those days to attack other nations.........
If few muslim rulers looted india we should not forget that on other hand they contributed to indian culture....
even if my ancestors were involved in conquest of spain this was time to move on and look at future...
Glorifying past is not going to help us..but cutting our self from legacy of muslims is also not going to help us...
I will not call my self ruler of spain......but will say that our muslim ummah ruled spain....
I will identify more with mehmood who was follower of islam like me....where concept of equality flourished............
as far as looters are concerned that was common practice during those days to attack other nations.........
If few muslim rulers looted india we should not forget that on other hand they contributed to indian culture....
even if my ancestors were involved in conquest of spain this was time to move on and look at future...
Glorifying past is not going to help us..but cutting our self from legacy of muslims is also not going to help us...
Agreed to the bold part, but unfortunately Muslim families rule left behind legacy of cruelty and expansion not for religion, but maintaining family rule.. Timur attacked Muslim rulers in Delhi... Babar attacked Lodhi, who was also a Muslim...
Ideolising such rulers as hero means we are closing our eyes towards their cruelty. As far as the culture is concerned, conquerors impose their culture and language on the those conquered irrespective of their wishes.. No doubt the culture brought by invaders has its beauty, but our own culture had all the qualities to be called a rich culture.
For your comment that it was a norm of those days to attack others, why our Indian people didn't attack anyone outside India?
they were busy in their infighting bro…
dont we see history of one indian king warring with other king…
what about The great Ashoka…
Our history books are full of such wars…but that was very long ago as muslim gained power in india so wars were between hindus and muslims…
…
I thought he must be a smart man but he was below my expectations…
I think if Dr.Israr Ahmad was alive he might have been a good replacement for zaid hamid
Ashoka lived 300 BC era, when the areas he conquered were very much considered as part of India… India was not just a country, it was like a continent. still we use term sub-continent. Ashoka didn’t go to Arab countries…
The fact is our region was rich enough to attract looters, who benefited from the wars between us and while looting and conquering us, they are still promoted as our heroes. The point is we all have to reconcile with the neighbors and get rid of this foreign agenda, so that we can prosper.
Though Ashoka conquered only land comprising of present india..
But in those days there was no concept of india as a nation........
All we can say against Ashoka's conquest that they were probably barbaric and expansion of his kingdom, but we know once he converted to Buddhism, he did a lot for the people of land and his focus then shifted to spreading Buddhism.
In case of Muslim conquerors, we see that there motive was never religious, they were just monarchs behind looting :(