Level of decency.

...As for those who wish that speech be free and carry with it no consequences...I agree 100%...But when your freedom of expression infringes upon the intellect, rights and beliefs of another, it no longer remains a right...It becomes a privilege of those in authority whether to leave it or suppress it...And of course being a nation of evil forbidders, those in authority shouldn't allow such infringements to occur...You can go ahead and express anything in any way you wish, except when it involves someone's honor and dignity...

Pilot, I respect your disagreements just as much as I respect your right to disagree (those are two separate things btw).

As I said before, and let me reiterate here:

Mr Xtreme said - Sorry Ana but there are limits to free speech in any society. Despite all the crap that Pilot posted in his opening thread, it isn't a free-for-all here.

Who said free-for-all? If you read into some of the one-liners, in fact most of them that are non-flirtatious in nature, they have some valid point to make about that person's point of view. What is so wrong with that? If someone mocks something, be it religion, society, culture, country, one can make a choice to take that mockery personally and stand up for what you personally believe in, or ignore it and go on, or reply to it in a community organized-action way. If someone is dissing your religion, stand up for it and post a proper argument, don't just say yea / nay or diss out profanities. The people who post one-liners very rarely stoop to the level of profanities from what I've seen. They destruct their opposition's arguments, they leave you standing without any legs, but they very rarely ditch or switch sides, or make use of vulgar language. Doesn't that tell us something?

Yes, I agree that there is always a limit to everything. And for that limit, you have the right to lambast the other person to hell, and try getting somthing in his/her head in the bargain. It is wholly possible. The only thing is that you have to keep trying.

I agree that I have myself gotten sick of some flirtatious behaviors, and at that point I either speak my mind or not interact, but that does not give me the right to stop another person from exercising his right to free speech.

One's self-esteem is not lowered or raised by what happens in the internet world, but by what one's actions are in the real world. It is very easy to restrain yourself and be totally civilized online, but be the complete demonic opposite in real life. Does that make one's self-esteem any higher?

I have seen threads closed when they reached their nadir. I have also read one-liners by the same people requesting that a moderator close a thread because it has gone beyond acceptable parameters to human nature. Why does no one see this positive side?

More l8r.

Re: Re: Level of decency.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *

What sort of a dumbass comment is that? If you agree then reply, if you don't agree then stay away?

Looking for a 100% approval rating?

Mr. Xtreme you gotta be one (in bold above) not to understand what I am simply asking for - those who don't agree kindly GET LOST because there is nothing to disagree with.

This one sided morality parade is incompatible in a polyglotic society. It is the divergent viewpoints and mannerisms whether it be religion, sexually racy topics or the excessive use of smilies that can seem like pathos to others. Whether it is the holier than thou attitude regarding little understood topics or declaring fiefdoms on particular forums. GS has been around for sometime now. I personally have been around for more than 3 yrs and it is amazing to see that every once in a while the voice of some members reeks eerily close to voce dei. But guess what god is nto speaking, god is not on gupshup posting, and god gave people a brain to select which threads to go to and which not to go to.

If you are walking down the street and you see two people debating the merits of Johnny Walker or Jim Bean, their prophets, and you don't agree with them..just move along. There is nothing to see there...or if you want, join in and debate. Talking to the policeman about your discomfort of hearing another religious figure doesn't make sense.

those who don't agree kindly GET LOST because there is nothing to disagree with.

Now this type of language may be acceptable in confabulation but in an argument it does not hold. There are better ways to say that you know. And I did not post here initially until ahmedjee assured me I could.

As for those who wish that speech be free and carry with it no consequences...I agree 100%...But when your freedom of expression infringes upon the intellect, rights and beliefs of another, it no longer remains a right...It becomes a privilege of those in authority whether to leave it or suppress it...And of course being a nation of evil forbidders, those in authority shouldn't allow such infringements to occur...You can go ahead and express anything in any way you wish, except when it involves someone's honor and dignity...

This I agree with.. when it infringes upon someone's **personal **status. In that case, it should be set right immediately, no idle tittle-tattle accepted. But when it is community honor and dignity, that community has the ability to speak out and defend itself. The whole nation of Pakistan is not on Gupshup, and no one is harming the country. Neither is Islam so weak that it cannot stand up to harsh criticism. In those cases where criticism is misplaced or unjust, speak up and set it right. This way, you are setting an example for the casual reader as well, and for people who are coming here to learn about Islam and Pakistan and Asia and whatnot. It is important to learn to defend yourself with proper facts and arguments, not be a willy and run away.

Good point.

Certainly at times I have made comments about the STATE of pakistan ect, but I do and will continue to strive for a pro Islamic line on this forum, and a commitment to Muslim unity.

Several of my threads relating to Khalifa and Ummah and our need for it were deleted, some I appreciate may have bordered on "center right" for some, but generally this board does often have a indifferent attitude towards Islam.

Also, bigger then that, often any people just write about our master RASOOL ALLAH as if were an ordinary human. They miss out (pbuh) and even astagfurallah just refer to them by there blessed name.

This should be against policy. Non muslims could easily say "the prophet of Islam" ect......

okay ..there is a thing call freedom of speech and choose!
u dont 'have' to read the posts that u think r vulgar etc. but at the same time u have no right to actually point at someone and insult them. as long as u keep the comments , be it vulgar or profane , general and not pointing at other members. i dont see any harm in it.
this is a public forum, there will be all sorts of ppl here. u just have learn who to ignore and who to tolerate.. not everything can be perfect for everyone.

*Originally posted by Ana: *

those who don't agree kindly GET LOST because there is nothing to disagree with.

Now this type of language may be acceptable in confabulation but in an argument it does not hold. There are better ways to say that you know. And I did not post here initially until ahmedjee assured me I could.

This I agree with.. when it infringes upon someone's **personal **status. In that case, it should be set right immediately, no idle tittle-tattle accepted. But when it is community honor and dignity, that community has the ability to speak out and defend itself. The whole nation of Pakistan is not on Gupshup, and no one is harming the country. Neither is Islam so weak that it cannot stand up to harsh criticism. In those cases where criticism is misplaced or unjust, speak up and set it right. This way, you are setting an example for the casual reader as well, and for people who are coming here to learn about Islam and Pakistan and Asia and whatnot. It is important to learn to defend yourself with proper facts and arguments, not be a willy and run away.

Someone, (I won't tell who) posted a picture of Osama Bin Laden on a toilet paper roll...Now, what would you do with that post?

i was just refering to what Admin of this site says:)

http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=88347

by the way Pilot bhai! app nay "Taala Forum" main dhaga khola hay.. eventually iss dhagay kay muqaddar main taala hay:p

*Originally posted by Gadha: *
by the way Pilot bhai! app nay "Taala Forum" main dhaga khola hay.. eventually iss dhagay kay muqaddar main taala hay:p

"Taalay" ka matlab hai that the issue is being considered or resolved or already addressed/answered. The thread is locked to save your time. If you have anything else to add on that topic, you can always contact the moderator or the Admin.

The issue raised in this thread is read by everyone. I am sure, you will get a response soon. All of you are free to add your thoughts.

*Originally posted by Ana: *

Ana, we have a very good example here. How are you going to define your 9 years old what DUMBASS really means?

Why can't people use plain English? This is the reason why I've asked if you agreed to what I said then just say agreed! Did I ever suggest that you should get lost? I guess not...

Not only I accepted your point of view but I also appreciated your positive attitude towards my question. And even though, you were not agreed but I didn't ask you to get lost, why should I? Instead I got back to you with healthy comments.

It is very simple - if you cuss/curse someone then anticipates no respect.

I sort of agree.....:)

:ahaa:ping I am enlightened:)

*Originally posted by Gadha: *

I know Gadha Sahib, but it is my naive attempt to wake up those sleeping souls :)

IF gupshup has been projected as a family forum and everyone is expected to have level of decency then it should be regulated as well. Indecent words shouldn't be allowed at least not to attack someone. For example calling names in abusive manner should be stopped in any form.

It's quite simple really. No one wants to make this place dry but there's a limit to what can be posted here simply because of the age of some of the members. The Corner room mods try and keep that place as free of innuendo as possible but just last week there was a thread which was descending into pornography thanks to my buddy Chalta hai-hai and a few others. Like I said this isn't a free-for-all and members should take that into account. The odd flirt here or there doesn't bother me particularly as long as it doesn't go over the top when it comes to language. This isn't an Adults Only board and that's all there is to it.

X-treme that's bollocks....threads in the corner room are more about sexual miscreance or intrigue than about some educational family values. Penis and vagina are not pronography..they have necessary utility in the corner room.

When did I say penis and vagina are pornography? I was talking about you and Ron Jeremy getting carried away in the Porn Video thread. Go read it again if you missed it.

What the hell are you going to talk about wiht Ron Jeremy but pornography in a thread titled Porn Videos.
But laughing at quips about men and women masturbating is ok, right X-treme?