President Asif Ali Zardari. — Reuters photo
** ISLAMABAD: A letter has been sent to Switzerland’s Attorney-General to reopen corruption cases against President Asif Ali Zardari, National Accountability Bureau (NAB) lawyer Abid Zuberi told the Supreme Court on Wednesday.
“In light of directions of the court on the revival of the Swiss cases, the NAB has initiated the process,” Zuberi said.
Asif Zardari and Benazir Bhutto were convicted by a Geneva court in 2003 of laundering $13 million linked to kickbacks. But that verdict was thrown out on appeal.
Re: Letter sent to Swiss AG to reopen Zardari cases: NAB
^ it has nothing to do with aid, until and unless everyone starts paying their due tax, returns all looted money then there is possibility that we won't need aid.
well said bhai!
We need $30 billion a year to barely be able to breathe as a nation,
or
$100 billion a year to get up and walk and walk as a nation.
$400 billion a year to become a healthy member nation of the global village.
And we can only do that if we all pay our due taxes.
And
Be tourist friendly, law abiding global citizens like Brazil, South Korea, India, Taiwan, and Japan etc.
Ohh one who came out of jail with the help of these NRO zadah people.
Who is on the post again as a result of blood of Shaheed B.B.
He did not take any action who killed more than forty on his arrival in Karachi on 12th May 2007.
He could not implement any order in favor of public.
He could not ask for providing sugar on his fixed price because sugar Mafia includes Sharifs.
He could not decide case of eligibility of Sh..baz Sharif and Punjab Gov’t is working on stay order since last year.
NRO was a result of 10 years failure of proving any case against people’s representative so I think Mush is still there.
They were convicted unheard and it was a suspended conviction itself which does not amount to a conviction. They filed appeal and than this was a trial only. Please read your ref again.
I am confused. Either you don't know anything about the law or you are being stubborn. A conviction is a conviction. The legal term means you are guilty. The punishment was suspended and they were told pay the Pakistan government. It was restitution.
But they were both convicted. Meaning the Swiss courts found them guilty.
I am confused. Either you don't know anything about the law or you are being stubborn. A conviction is a conviction. The legal term means you are guilty. The punishment was suspended and they were told pay the Pakistan government. It was restitution.
But they were both convicted. Meaning the Swiss courts found them guilty.
I am sorry but I knew the law very well and although I am not a lawyer but understand legal applications very well. Read the both links again, This was a suspended conviction and was got by spending more than one billion Rupees by the rivals from national exchequer and it was unheard .
Aik taza tareen remark by one honorable in presence of 'Faraoon' NRO aik badboodar chooha hay jisay parliament nay chhona bhi pasand naheen kia-
does the supreme court have anything else to do apart from this witch hunt? I believe there were some 8000 odd people who benefited from NRO of which maybe 350(?) were politicians. so, of those 350 politicians and 8000 NRO beneficiaries, the Supreme Court is spending all its effort on targeting one individual.
I'm sorry that I supported the restoration of Iftikhar Chauhdry. I am sorry that I participated in a teeny tiny way in the movement for his restoration. people wanted him restored because it was a matter of principle and because he was considered a good, honest judge. his claim to fame was human rights cases in particular the missing persons case. now, he doesn't seem to care about that all... and is focusing only on Zardari. where are the missing people now? where is the enthusiasm in finding them?
guess all the cynics were right. this is the same Iftikhar Chauhdry who gave his blessings to a dictator... not going to be fooled again. wonder how guys like Aitzaz Ahsan, Kurd, etc, feel now about the tremendous efforts and sacrifices they put in for what was supposed to be a noble cause.
Samb you happy having a convicted criminal as a President? I am bloody happy he is going after this ******* and Inshallah he will go after all the others. Considering he has already placed a few from the NRO cases in jail.
Zardari is not the only corrupt person in Pakistan. there are plenty of others. why doesn't the SC go after them too? what is the single-minded obsession with one person on the list.
if Zardari is a convicted criminal, he became president despite that. now there is only one way to oust him and that is by impeachment. the SC would do well to stay within its limits.
and as far being convicted, etc is concerned, I don't know much about the swiss case. but Zardari was also convicted in Nawaz Sharif's last govt by Malik Qayyum. and then the same Qayyum was investigated for giving a biased decision against BB and Zardari on the orders of Saifurrehman - Nawaz sharif's right hand man at the time. instead of facing the investigation, Qayyum chose to retire because had he faced the investigation, he might have lost everything. this is how Zardari and BB were convicted and then declared innocent in Pakistan. doesn't seem very consistent to me.
and I'm not going to waste much time on Malik Qayyum except to say that he is a gutter-dwelling rat. actually that is an insult to rats. Malik Qayyum must be the most beghairat, dishonest person in the country. if he told me that it was day outside, I would bet my life that it was night time and vice versa.
anyway back to the SC, as someone who was a passionate supporter of the movement for the restoration of judiciary, I sincerely hope that the SC stops focusing on a one person witch hunt and instead finds something better to do. go after the missing people. go after corrupt generals. ask them out they amassed their wealth. go after those who orchestrated May 12th. you don't always have to bleat about the corruption of politicians.
and I say this as an average Pakistani who felt he needed to express support for a cause he felt strongly about. I gave them my moral support, wrote my opinion where I could and attended a protest or two. but this is nothing compared to what people like Kurd, Justice (r) Tariq Mehmood, Hamid Khan, etc did for this worthy cause. go read/watch what these people have to say today about the supreme court's behavior. they have all criticized the SC's behavior bar none. and these were the leading lights of the movement for the restoration of the same SC. some of these people for jailed for months. others were beaten on the streets. some spilled blood for the restoration of this SC. and yet they criticized the same SC today.