Lets play selector- selector: Pick your team for the worldcup

Re: Lets play selector- selector: Pick your team for the worldcup

bara time hai tum logoon k pass :D

I'll wait till 13th and see the performance of players in current series and will then announce my squad. Thats like a true PCB professional :)

why till 13th haan, why not 14th thori si tail malish ho jaye jawanoon ki :p

PCB will be lucky if they can find 15 fit players to take to the world cup. :D

^^ seriously, Inshallah they will, Taya Arshad is already getting massage and services of Hot tub :halo:

another name already thrown in this pool of players today regardless of the result of this match :p. Wasim Bari nay tu shayd ab tuk select bhi ker liya hoga usay :hehe:

Who wants to add Imran Nazir and Afridi in their team now. :D

I never excluded Afridi. But Imran Nazir ko abhi add kiya hai :hehe:

how about Azhar Mahmood? :hmmm:

how about Pakistan need more time, to assess and evaluate the players fitness and name their 15 players for the WC ’ 07 and this is the 2nd time Pakistan request was refused by the ICC. Could there be any other embarrassing for PCB why on earth they cant do one thing right :o name 15 players they are fit.

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/279853.html

First they get them injured and now they want more time :o :mad:

I think this will be our WC squad (to be announced on 13 Feb. 2007)

Openers
1- Imran Nazir
2- Mohammad Hafeez

Middle-order Batsmen

3- Younis Khan (Vice-Captain)
4- Mohammad Yousuf
5- Inzamam-ul-Haq (Captain)

All-Rounders

6- Abdur Razzaq
7- Shahid Afridi
8- Shoaib Malik
9- Azhar Mahmood

WK
10- Kamran Akmal

Pacers

11- Shoaib Akhtar
12- Mohammad Asif
13- Umar Gul
14- Rana Naved ul Hasan

Spinner

15- Abdur Rehman

^ Yes. That will be the squad barring any late injury

Word cup squad?

1. Imran Nazir
  2. Mohd Hafeez
  3. Younis Khan
  4. Mhd Yousaf
  5. Inzimam ul haq
  6. Abdul Razzak
  7. Azhar Mahmood
  8. Shoaib Malik
  9. Shahid Afridi 10.Kamran AKmal 11.Shoaib Akhtar 12.Umar Gul 13.Mohd Asif 14.Danish Kaneria 15.Rao Iftikhar

*shoaib akhtar questionable..

Re: Word cup squad?

I would take out Rao, Danish and try to include some other better bowlers such as Anwar Ali or something. With the actor probably missing the cup... we need good bowlers.

Abdul Rehman is included I guess. Imran Farhat will be in too. We would know in few hours.

ehasan will not like it, but Salman Butt should be included too. I think it's time we bring him back. Of all the openers we have tried, he was the only one capable of getting in and playing a long innings. It was while he was in form that we became good chasers. Imran Nazir, Imran Farhat, Mohd. Hafeez, none of them are capable of a century every 9/10 games. Butt was.

I saw Super Eye with Imran Khan last night and Imran mentioned that Salman Butt should've been retained in the side and then taken to the World Cup but that's too late. For the opening slot, I believe he mentioned Yasir Hameed with Hafeez. And it's sad that we are still experimenting right before the world cup. Where are our Cricketing brains?

Umar Gul, Shabbir, and Shabby all are injured. My goodness, the coach brought his handpicked physios and trainers and yet we've the high # of injuries. Why is it?? Any accountability??? Also, Imran Khan is keen to include Kaneria for the world cup. I don't know why but what's the point of bringing Azhar Mahmood right after a gap of 2 years and surprise everyone?

That's the same thing done with Saeed Anwar right before the WC 2003 and according to our selectors, it was to give a "surprise" to other teams. And we saw how good of a surprise it was... Anyhow, let's just wait a day and all the pandorra box would be open to debate.
Umer

^ Please do not mention Imran khan. He sounds like a broken record. We know we have a problem but thats not the only problem we have.

Any group of eleven will be as good as their leader, unfortunately for Pakistan our leadership has no vision, ability to innovate, change tactics or the guts to take risk with responsibility. Things are being managed on series to series basis with little thought given to worldcup or future potential. Had team management taken a few chances with the younger lot things cud have been very different. Today, bench of twenty as picked by the coach and captain has little promise and more problems. Paucity of ideas can be recognised from selection of broken down bowlers and sticking with the tried and tested. We are still waiting for one of the ex-under 19 players to be given a chance.

Therefore it is my contention that Pakistan eleven deserves a change in leadership, changing one or two players here and there will not make any difference.

I thought Pak squad was supposed to be announced today!

*IMO, THIS IS GOING TO BE SQUAD FOR WORLD CUP *

5 Batsmen
- Inzamam Ul Haq (c)
- Muhammad Yousuf
- Younus Khan
- Imran Nazir
- Yasir Hameed

4 Bowlers
- Muhammad Asif
- Abdur Rehman
- Umer Gul
- Rao Iftekhar

5 All Rounders
- Shoaib Malik
- Shahid Afridi
- Muhammad Hafeez
- Abdul Razzaq
- Azher Mahmood

1 Wicket Keeper
- Kamran Akmal

PS: If Shoaib Actor is "fit" (by his standards), Azher Mahmood will be dropped.