http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/181_1766877,0008.htm
India emerging as major global power: World Bank
Press Trust of India
Given the economic and educational developments, India has emerged as one of the major powers of the world, World Bank India Head Michel Carter said on Friday.
Inaugurating the “Maths and Science Exhibition” in New Delhi, he said, “the credit of the economic developments of the country goes to the successive governments and the people of the country who are imbued with enormous talent, capacity and ideas and the same has been acknowledged by the world at large.”
He said India’s poverty line has gone down from 40 to 25 per cent and hoped that India would emerge as a country with zero poverty in the days to come, a release said.
Re: Lets do better - India
tahir bhai.. care to provide your views? per GS rules you are required to post your opinion and what you want to discuss. Thanks.
Captain ji, i tried to give that in title - lets do better.
next time try harder.
i wil try to do better, sir.
OK, Hindustan is ahead of Pakistan in economics and basically everything else. But why still so much poverty?
Ahem
What do you mean?
There are so many things Hindustan is falling behind
A few things Hindustaan is leading in are poverty, AIDs, population, technically inferior weapons etc
Jalte raho !
Hindustan should start with this first rest latter
http://www.hinduonnet.com/fline/fl2024/stories/20031205002510100.htm
Why would I be “Jalta rahoon”
If you are proud to have leading stats in poverty, AIDs, increasing population and technically inferior weapons, why would I be “Jalta Rahoon”.
I say, may India get more of it and may you feel more proud of it and may you keep saying to the Pakistanis, “Jaltey raho” ![]()
Why are you so frustrated. And make it obvoius also.
hehe.. The aid given to India by World Bank's two closest affiliates for the past year amounted to $1.4 billion USD (one of the biggest recipients of aid).
A study recently concluded that India needs to spend $331 billion USD on infrastructure in the next 5 years, if it is to compete with other economic giants such as its Asian rival, China. China spends 10.4% of its GDP on infrastructure (annualy), while India spends only 4% of its GDP (anually).
In figure terms, India spends $21b, and China spends $150b.
*The study recognises that India can no longer depend on the government for money and that the funds will have to be generated from other sources, including private industry and international donors. *
Sources:
BBC
The report was published by the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII)
Guys, lets focus on issue. Lets not indulge in leg pulling.
Lahore 981 & _Lahore_Ka_Cheetah....kindly tell us some role model so that we can improve comditions in India!
Bangladesh......
we should learn from innovation of USA, discipline of japanese, hardwork of chinese, humility of buddha and learn vedanta, yoga, meditation etc of india itself.
ofcourse, the last one is not for all indians but only to hindus/vedantists in india.
and also get rid of extremism in every religion in india
The topic is about India emerging as a global power. So, the only comparisons being made should be of India & another global power (i.e. China, U.S, France).
I already made a comparison between China & India, to which no one replied. And, it seems as if the topic starter is having difficulties with the topic himself.
yes india is superpower in hiv/poverty/prostitutie :D…
As President Bush and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh shook hands on the landmark pact Thursday, the World Bank released a study showing that almost 40% of the world’s malnourished children live in India(shameless rats dare to call themself super power:omg:). Bush administration officials say the nuclear accord, which must be approved by Congress, is partly aimed at strengthening India so it can serve as a counterbalance to neighboring China. However, development experts here said the strategy ignores the plight of several hundred million Indians mired in poverty. An estimated 300 million of India’s 1.1 billion people live below the official poverty line of less than $1 a day (its isi consepiciry to malign india). The number of poor is actually much higher because the government underestimates the daily minimum of calories each Indian needs when measuring poverty, Mathew and other experts say. Although the right to adequate nutrition is enshrined in the Indian Constitution, more than 38% of the nation’s children are undernourished, compared with 26% in sub-Saharan Africa, the World Bank study found: (oh my god super duper power india is poorer then sub-saharan africa)
LA Times (07 March 2006)
India is home to one quarter of the world’s poor: World Bank (August 2004)(wowww another example of being superpower;) )
India will soon have more people infected with HIV than any other country in the world: World Bank (septenber 2004) (not true u pakistanis r lying cuz everybody know zuid-africa is homes to most aids infected ppl:no: )
In May, UNAIDS issued a report saying India has the world’s largest number of people living with HIV. With an estimated 5.7 million infections, the country has surpassed South Africa’s 5.5 million. (AP, July 2006)
In India, 700 million people and 120 million households have no access to public or private toilets. Fifty million bucket toilets are cleaned by half a million “scavengers” (Untouchables). This has led to atmospheric pollution, health hazards and a class of people who clean up the excreta of others:
Asia Times (June 2003) (if this is how an superpower looks like then god save us from it.)…
now rats read these facts and tell me 1 thing in which ur rat country let alone better but is equal to pakistan?
…our ppl don,t sleep on foothpaths/they get 3 time a meal and most of them have a roof on their head and most pakistani have access to save drinking water and have toilets unlike in ur balckhole super duper power now if u ppl have some honour u will leave this forum or atleast will stop posting bull**** about ur achievment cuz u didnt achieve anything…nihil zilch:2guns:
India is a global power mostly in a sense of its population and military, because India is immensely populated and their military highly armed, world really needs to take India seriously. They have to make sure that India succeeds, I think Indians will be happier if they are able to change that perception. Due to civil unrest and their government’s inability to change with time makes the journey very tough.