Let's Admit It: Bob Woolmer is a Miracle Maker

Re: Let’s Admit It: Bob Woolmer is a Miracle Maker

Zehni ghulami my Pakistani ass! People who have been following Pakistan’s cricket closely (and not just checking the ticker on Cricinfo every hour or so :rolleyes: ) know the change Woolmer has brought about. The team is fighting hard and never gives up. There are moments of idiocy and irresponsibility ofcourse, but what team doesn’t have those? The overall progress has been excellent and hopefully we can continue this form in test cricket because Chacha Woolmer has already established our one day side quite successfully through defining roles for each member of the team.

And he was instrumental in giving rise to the legend that is Mohammad Sami!

bob woolmer is not taking a centimeter off that status! miandad is not the coach right now, woolmer is and woolmer is watching him in nets etc.. so to blame even this on miandad is naiive to say the least!

come on ppl… woolmer is good enough to be praised without bashing others…

I recently found his website … it was impressive to read his responses on questions asked by ppl like me n you.. I whole heartedly agree that woolmer has done the job… The biggest of all is team spirit ; the way our team fights in games is amazing to say the least. A lot of good things has been said about woolmer in this thread and i agree with all of them…

He recently made a comment after Afridi’s 92 in 2nd Test, that he would pay to watch Afridi after he retires… I think its a gr8 praise for any player… Afridi should be proud.

Bob Woolmer and Pakistan Zindabad :jhanda:

Re: Let's Admit It: Bob Woolmer is a Miracle Maker

Woolmer is a top notch coach. There was never a doubt about his coaching abilities but people were suspiciuos if he is going to be able to do the job with our 'moody' cricketers. The answer is an emphatic 'yes'. His man management skills combined with his meticulous planning is a key to our rising graph.

Apart from that, he has made Afridi a consistent force with both bat and ball rather than an occassional wonder every few months and this new-born Afridi has brought a change in our team. Mr Genuis, he also said that he has seen a lot of talent scattered all over the world but has yet to see one like Afridi. Yes maybe he made the comment because he is coach of Pakistan team but this is one helluva comment.

Lets not bash Miandad. He was a hardworking coach and brought good success during his variuos tenures.

You do sound Paindoo…enough said.

Bob Woolmer has been one of main reason why Pakistan is having success against England in the test series and has no doubt had affect upon the field i.e. tactical field placing by Inzmam no doubt was influenced by Woolmer.

Lets face the reality - Bob Woolmer or any other coach will not stay in one job forever and one day a new coach will be needed.

I sincerely hope that we do not go backwards to the likes of Javed, Haroon Rashid or Mudassar Nazar. I have said in my previous threads that cricket is changing all the time and new scientific based coaching methods are playing important factor.

Therefore to remain competitive we will need someone of the similar calibre in the furure - and this may mean hiring a foreign coach again, unless some one fresh from Pakistan is groomed i.e. Mushtaq Ahmed etc.

Woolmer was also lucky to have the recently created cricket academy in Lahore which provided a perfect venue for training of the senior and junior players. Having said that, it was Woolmers professional approach which made all the difference, he was successful where others have failed in creating "Team spirit", sense of pride, ability to stand against impossible odds and finish the job.

Success has not been easy nor has it been clean, Woolmer has yet to find a permanent opening pair for Pakistan. The Shoaib Malik experiment was wrong right from the begining, daring but technically incorrect. Woolmer has a job to finish ie find or setup a proper pool of opening batsmen.

TUMS, I agree with your assesment about Bob and what he has been able to do with the Pakistani team. He is not a miracle maker rather than a genius who has worked with this team from top to bottom. I think we don't give Bob any favors by comparing him with Javed. That was another era, a rebuilding one, where we won Test series against South Africa and New Zeland. Shoaib was explosive in both series.

This is a new epoch that began in Mohali, India and so far we have only risen to the occasion. Inzi has matured and starting to act like a captain. Altough some might still call him 'lazy' to react but progress sure has been made. We have also seen new and gifted players like Butt and Akmal that are a sure hit. Rana is proving himself to be great bowler. Sami has been a hit and miss in this series, but the consistency and cohesiveness of this team has overshadowed all the miss-matches and faliures. Faliures being Shoaib Malik with bat and Sami with ball.

The Team is sure to make a name for it self and all credit should go to the coach and players who are playing with genuine passion and commitment.

Who made afridi to what he is today? :rolleyes:

Yea can’t deny the reality so go after the soothsayer.. :smiley:

Paindoo duggas have in their culture to not admit when they are wrong. For example, I know many of these people who agree what happend to ‘bingos’ was wrong in 1971 but instead they still blame bdesh for everything instead of finally admitting the dirty hand of pak army thugs in the whole mess up!!!

^ Lo ji... kidher ki kidher nikal gayee baat.

^ lolzz.. :hehe:

I really like the comment he made for afridi.. i hope players read his website :slight_smile:

dude please get some help. We went from talking woolmer to you bringing up 71 war. Talk about jumping around the subject.

south african players can't handle pressue that why when bob was their coach they looses important matches except 1st champions trophy...
but pak players never take pressure... and INSHALLAH they will win more, more and more!

--------------------cvabn-----------------
Agreed!

But let’s keep the ‘miracle-magician’ out of this equation.

Communication and form of discipline enforcement is a skill that is not every ones cup a tea. Specially for those who love to chew paan while the team plays an away game. I hope that ‘nightmare’ would never be repeated in Pakistan’s dressing room. :rolleyes::k:

^^ Just showing the mentality of the likes of teaser..

All you desi Band wagoneers, its typical desi behaviour to ride the surf when the waves are high, but just wait for low tide or for Bablu Chacha to trip or falter.

Then we will see all the vultures calling for his head.

My self included!!!!!

^ Aejaz bhai, there are many who do that, but I have seen him supported when Pakistan was not winning, I do criticise him for some actions like putting too much efforts in polishing Shoaib Malik, providing more support/chances to Sami then he deserves etc. but overall he is achieving the good we all can see. In past we won many matches due to individual brilliance but last few test matches and ODIs we have seen whole team contributing

Captain1 Bhai,

You are not included in the Band Wagoneers, they know who they are, the Bin Painda ka lotas, no offence to Captain lota!!!:smiley:

Aejaz