Lessons you have learnt/The Dont's of Desi Weddings ...

thanks for ur input.

Re: Lessons you have learnt from other weddings…

ahh its just a typical desi wedding…

brings a tear to my eye :halo:

^ :omg: :rotfl: @ Ice cream video

Re: Lessons you have learnt from other weddings...

hahahha omg thats hilarious. now im wondering if this happens in other cultures too.

That video was scripted right? It was all an act staged to exaggerate crazy wedding scenarios right?

RIGHT???

sigh

Yeah...I've learned that no matter how well you plan things, there's always the one random kid (whose parents conveniently disappear) running around on stage ruining the pictures.

Oh, I've also learned that just because someone is related to or good friends with the bride or groom's family, that STILL won't stop them from saying nasty things about the bride, groom, or their respective families DURING the wedding celebrations.

And lesson number three? It will never be perfect, BUT for those of you ladies about to undergo the great wedding adventure, keep your eyes on the prize...namely the fact that you are about to marry someone you care about and that no matter what, you'll look damn good in all your wedding finery. Forget the rest.

I have never attended a buffet wedding in the U.K. Food is always served with waiters and whatnot. Food is brought out in dishes and you help yourself, every waiter has about 2/3 tables that they refill when needed. I hadnt actually realised how well planned it was until reading this thread!

The additional people bringing is something that is happening a lot less now. My grandparetns dont understand the whole Mr and Mrs only thing as they believe weddings are for families, yet they do comply with the rules. We have never gate crashed a wedding, its so rude! I can't believe peopple still do that.

Thankfully our wedding was family and close friends....we had 0 crashers! (the event planner kept the ballroom door shut..and was well guarded)
It was a buffet...since the hotel didnt serve desi food..and we had outside catering...
Although it was well managed...with 2 identical setups (men and women)...with the dessert spread inside the ballroom...we came up with this idea at the last minute...
the cake looked much prettier surrounded by the dessert spread anyway.. :)

invites
we addressed our invites Mr. and Mrs or ____ and guest....for friends..
families were obviously addresed "_____and family"
almost everyone rsvped...which is always helpful..

@ ice cream video.
waah kya lut machi hai.

par, don't worry about there not being enough food. you are paying for a plated dinner and usually the servings are pretty generous. plus, it works in courses, so if someone is still hungry after 3 or 4 courses, i'd be really surprised, and they can go to mickey d's after the wedding! :p

if you do have to do a buffet, it always helps to compromise. we plated our salads so the first course was served to everyone and it was all very peaceful and chill. then they went into the buffet for the rest and because they'd already had salad, there was no mad rush for the line up.
also, our guests were awesome so that helped too. :D
we also requested servers for the buffet- so there were waitstaff standing behind each dish serving guests. this really eased the traffic flow and no one was grabbing for the same spoon at the same time.

The ICE-CREAM video - sadly this is an oft recurrent situation, whether it be a mad mad rush for the salad bar, desserts, mains or just DRINKS.

I do believe individual servings on dishes would be better for these people, that way they can't take mountains of food on one plate or take it home either.

The worst thing about weddings is where they have the dinner in shifts because they don't have enough seating to allow everyone to eat at once.

At one wedding I went to there were no chairs left for the second shift to eat, so the bride's cousin directed us to go and sit on the stage at the bride's table to eat our dinner, as the bride was talking to guests at the other end of the hall. By the time we had sat down to eat, which was embarrassing enough because everyone was looking at us wondering why we were sitting there, the bride made her way back to the stage so we obviously had to get up to let her sit down again. In the end we got so fed we left the wedding without eating anything!

The seat thing happened to us at a wedding we went to recently as well. We came back with our plates and someone had stolen our seats! So annoying

The music thing is sooo annoying too..last few weddings Ive been to have been like that, with the music just blasting soo loud you have to yell to talk with the person right next to you, like come on, its not a club!

Guests taking food home--thank God I have never seen that!!!

At my walima the dinner was served at the table by waiters as well, but it wasnt desi food so it was easier. We had seperate courses..like the salad, soup..and the main course..dessert..etc. Everyone really liked it, especially since almost always desi weddings have the typical buffet style serving and every wedding almost has the same food. I have seen it at a friend's wedding as well with Pakistani food, she didnt have seperate courses served individually to each guest though, just like the platters of the food were placed on each table and everyone serves themselves from it, and the waiters kept coming by to check which platters needed refilling etc. I find its so much more enjoyable for the guests this way, not having to wait in huge lines at the buffet table etc

what food did you have midnight eyes? did it go down well with the guests?

^ Greek. We provided the meat for them so it would be halaal. Most people really enjoyed it, they said it was such a nice change from the typical desi wedding food that you always see at every single wedding. Only a few ppl were like “wheres the biryani” :cb: but overall everyone was happy and Im glad we did it like that. Every summer when we go to like 10 weddings and its almost always the exact same food, you get really tired of it after a while and just crave a change!!

what a good idea! and very brave!

Nice, I would like to be a guest at this kind of wedding. Soup and mezze, yummy!

that happened to me. all my huby's nieces n nephew gathered on stage whole time n their parents never did anything. i hav wedding pix with kids in my lap n all around me. n a kid pulling his neck from behind betweeen me n my hubby. everyone founded that irritating but my ILs.

The other great one is where you’ve heard about or seen aunties that take food home with them??? I’m not talking wedding favours, I’m talking shopping bags being filled with rice and curry!!! (What the heck?)

lol i was going to say this...i hate these aunties bringing bags to filled with rice and curry to take home...on my nikkah, my mom saw my SIL grandmom with plastic bags filled with rice and than when she saw that mom saw her than she said oh this is for my neighbour...god thats cheap and pindu...i dont know how to avoid this..