Leftover barbecue chicken

so ummmmm I went ta little leftover-happy last night and took some bbQ chicken home :sid: Any ideas what I can do with it? It’s fully cooked so if I freeze it will it stay up well? :sid:

Re: Leftover barbecue chicken

Is it drumsticks/dark meat or chicken breast?

I love making bbq chicken quesadillas! :e6:

I think it should be okay in the freezer, as long as it’s well wrapped and protected from freezer burn

you can use them in wraps/roll prathas or sandwitches or bread pizza.

Don’t freeze it. Frozen BBQ chicken isn’t nice at all IMO. Just make sandwich spread out it. Be sure to add a bit of the skin to it (if it’s got skin) to give it that extra smokeyness to your sandwiches.

I made chicken sandwiches using leftover BBQ chicken yesterday. I chopped the chicken,added mayo,cream,spices,sliced olives,chopped iceberg+tomates and cucumbers and spread on bread slices+ into two croissant buns I had

make pitza

I dont hav ea working oven anymore :frowning:

Okay you guys said pretty much everything I would tell the OP to do. My khala makes makhni out of it and it turns out so yummy. Yeah.. so that!!! Also I have made tandoori chana dal and it was YUMMM!!!

What’s makhni? Is it like daal makhni/chicken makhni? and that channa daal recipe please!

I think it depends on the type of BBQ chicken as well. If it’s American style BBQ, with the thick, sweet and tangy glazed BBQ sauce then the desi’ish recipes like daal and salan won’t work :hmmm:

It’s chicken makhni but she uses the bbq pieces. It adds a layer of flavor and smokiness which makes the makhni delish.

For tandoori chana daal- soak about 1/2 to 3/4 cup chana daal and boil it in water with 1 hari mirch, adrak ka small piece and very tiny amount of salt. Al dente. It should have a bite to it and reserve the water.

In 2 to 3 tbsp oil, add a small onion, sabit garam Masala (laung, kali mirch, bari ilachi, small 2 inch cinnamon stick and small bay leaf) and slightly brown the onion, add 1 tbsp tomato paste and then 2 small finely chopped tomatoes, 1 tbsp frsh lemon juice, lehsan adrak,1/4 haldi, 1/2 or less tsp all mirch, 1/2 Maggie ka cube and bhoonify. Add leftover chicken and then drained daal. Bhoon it all, ladle in the drained chana daal water to make the gravy slightly geela. I simmer itnall for a good 10 to 15 minutes so flavors can do a slowdance together. It shouldn’t be too soupy but it should have a slight gravy to it. While it simmers, this is where I adjust my salt and end up upping it but you can andaza your namak. When it’s cooked, I Bhagaared it with 2 tbsp butter that has melted, zeera, rye, sooki lal mirch, kari patta and lehsan and chopped adrak. After the bhaghar, I do garnish it with haradhanya, whole hari mirch and a sprinkle of garam masala. It sounds daunting but it literally doesn’t take too long because I make the masala and boil the chana daal together. It’s amazing with deep ke garlic naan with a pat of butter.

I’m blond when it comes to daals, so how much pani to add to the daal to cook it initially, if I’m going to be using a pressure cooker :blush:

Mujhe pressure cooker ka andaza nahi.. buy I remember my mom would take 1 cup daal to 3.5 cup.

Theek hai. I’ll start with that.

Hmm…use in

Salads
Sandwich fillings. You can buy croissants or a your favorite type of bread. Or stuffed paratha, etc.
Soups
Tikkiyan. Shred the left-over chicken. Finely chop one onion. Boil and mash a few potatoes. Combine potatoes, onion and chicken. Add seasonings per your taste. Form round discs. Crack and beat an egg. Dip each disc in egg wash and shallow fry. You can even coat with bread cups.
Pakoray…maybe chicken can be used in pakora batter.
Stir-fry

Hmmmm there’s no glaze on them, they’re just half burnt (errr sorry, GRILLED/CHARRED :hehe: I think they’re boneless thigh pieces, they seem too juicy to be breast pieces.

Would itw ork if I re-marinated some pieces and just pan-fried/steamed/deep fried some of it? Esp if I deep fry it in pakora batter, would it fall off since it was already-cooked?

I know it won’t be exactly the same as marinating and cooking from scratch but I don’t want it going to waste?

I just read right now that you can post marinade…as in marinade after you have cooked chicken. Someone posted on the website that they heard Alton Brown say on his program, Good Eats, that post-marinading can be done. So, go for it.

chicken - “Post-marinating”? Is it a real term or do my taste buds deceive me? - Seasoned Advice

I have used bbq chicken as fillings for pastries and baked them - turned out really really good.

I’ve also used leftover BBQ chicken for improvised desi style club sandwiches…super yummy.

Leftover chicken is great with pasta.

Ok so FINALLY finished the chicken.

I had it in a sandwich
my mom mixed them in pakora batter (came out great!)
had it with spaghetti squash
had it in a salad

:hayaa: