i just need some thoughts as i am applying for my Msc in accounting/finance at Leeds business school and manchester business school.
what do you guys think which is a better school in terms of repute? ranks etc
which city is better in terms of like living standard, cost of living, etc
which city has got a better chance to find a job as i graduate with Msc in accounts/finance.
please especially ppl from leeds and manchester need ur insights.
Re: Leeds vs Manchester
Hi there as a fellow Brit and Mancunian Id say that Manchester Uni is without a doubt the best to dtudy accountancy- its in the top 20 unis of the Uk- has had great prestige and is one of the oldest- a gorgeous campus with a lively desi scene- leeds is great too but good for law its a while that I was at uni but its without a doubt one of the most prestigious unis in the Uk good luck! Ps Inshallah my niece should be going there to do pharmacy inshalah !!!
link- the Times Good University Guide (for Accounting and Finance) would agree with you poppies, Manchester rates as 6 and Leeds as 22. Having said that, this is just one ranking system and others will place the two universities as the other way around.
Also, in general both are excellent institutions in their own right and both are part of the Russel Group (similar to Ivy League in USA?). Can’t really go wrong with one or the other…
Yup I would say Manchester as in general, it has a much better reputation and the university itself is very highly regarded.
Dear Firbird and Inzi Rocks- Thanks for the reference and info- Manchester is a great happening city- a real lively social scene and most people would feel at home!!! You have Bradistan round the corner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
well thanks alot everyone. i too thought of manchester being my first choice but some close friends were recommending for leeds instead so was not sure which one to opt for.
just too add a bit more flavour to the question... is loughborough any better than manchester ?
well thanks alot everyone. i too thought of manchester being my first choice but some close friends were recommending for leeds instead so was not sure which one to opt for.
just too add a bit more flavour to the question... is loughborough any better than manchester ?
Nope manchester is much better
Accacore- theres not much happening in leafy loughborough- go for Manchester!!!!!!!!!!!!
aww thanks alot everyone. i too had my gut feeling for manchester :)
inshallah everyone make dua that i get in. i have gota 2:1 in my undergrad which in accounts/finance and top of that i am just finishing level 3 ACCA studies.
so hopefully i think i do stand a good chance of getting in inshallah :)
Wish u well !!! U wont regret ur time there -its really good mashallah!!!