Learning how to cook!

When and At what age did you start learning cooking? was it because you were curious to learn it, intersted in it or cuz mama made you learn it (Lol)?. Do you enjoy cooking?.

Do you cook well? what do people say about your cooking abilities? do you enjoy cooking?..Whats your favorite thing to make? And lastly but def the most imp…are you a clean cook or a messy one? lol meaning do you like having your stuff organised while cooking…washing stuff in between to avoid buckets of utensils 2 be cleaned at the end…having everything u need 2 use for cooking arranged other than runing here and there 2 find it lol or you just like to do it in a messy way :smiley:

share your thoughts, views and experiences…:slight_smile:

Re: Learning how to cook!

takhTi aor dawat lai kar aaying aor koonai ma ja kar baithing miss class kab shuru ho ge? :@:

hey i dont know how to cook...2day was my 1st lesson :D.

ma Bro made me cook :bummer:

He said either learn how to cook or eat burgers … ya phir bhokay maro … :hehe:

and off course have to clean every thing up after cooking and i won’t say i m a great cook means compare to people on this forum … but well enough to cook for myself :smiley:
I try to make no gaand … cauz than i hve to clean it too … may be thats why i don’t go for too much complicated dishes :smiley:

but i never realized it before but salute to all the cooks, as its not sucha easy thing to do :jhanda:

^ awww thats cute namaan....so what do you cook most or like cooking?.

cooking is real easy and common sense........

Joo haath char jaya ... but usually i cook easy stuff. Chicken, Rice, Vegis, Fish ... :)

i think after my matric i went into this cooking stuff..i used to make fried chicken..zeeray walay alu..chicken pulao and chicken karahi...my mom neva made me learn cooking and now i cook that even my hubs say its like hotel food..and yeah i am perfect in chinese cooking...bcz my hubby likes it alot..good at desi stuff also ..now i enjoy cooking alot..but earlier it was like a burden for me..k khana b bnana hai..when i am cooking i dont mess around..i keep on cleaning things ..washing utensils...clearing the marble slab...bhoonifying the sallun and again washing utensils..lol...putting clothes in the w/machine and stuff like this..i love to go in an organized way while cooking..while the onions r getting browned i prepare in advance each and everything ready to go in handi.cutting the tomatoes...and when cooking is at its final stage..cutting dhanya,green chilies,ginger etc. so that i immediately put these and let the handi b on dum and bringing the dongas ....

I only learnt how to cook after I married. I wish I had learned when I was still at home with my mom because she is a great cook. I do enjoy cooking, but these days Im working full time so I dont have the energy and time to cook like I used to before. I like to keep everything organized when Im cooking, I line up everything I need out on the counter beforehand and clean up as Im going along because I hate seeing a mess in my kitchen!

i salute you gals!

I started cooking at the age of 11 I was an expert at this age in cooking rice of every kind, at around the age of 15 I was able to cook dhaals and veggies and curries.

I was simply curious to learn cooking and other house chores.I started early(was 12 I guess )
but that was a more like a hobby in start.I offically started to cook few years ago.I am a clean freak and I keep washing every dish while cooking and leave a clean kitchen when i am done :)

I enjoy cooking when i dont have to go to work cause I like to spend time on cooking ,jan churaanna wali cooking i dont like.

And I think i am okayish cook .

Hareem mujhai adopt kar lo and teach me how to cook. :bummer:

...mujhe bhi ^^.....im so bad at cooking.....the only thing i can cook is lamb curry...and cant cook anything else..i feel so sorry for my hubby...i wish i was a really gud cook!

Started cooking coz ammi wasn't around and there was no halal food in the town I went to college in. Called up abbu (He is an expert in cooking :) ) at 3 am and asked him abbu I feel like having chicken how do I cook it. And then started learning one by one thanks to desicookbook.com. And also remembered the technique of my ammi for making stuff (used to stand near her in the kitchen when she was cooking) and now alhamdulillah can make a lot of stuff.

I enjoy cooking but don't have as much time (I work full time) and I clean as I go as well, by the time my handi is done I would like the kitche to be clean as well. That way after a nice dinner I dont' walk into the kitchen and scream.

I truly believe bhuk insaan ko cooking sikha deytee hai :)

awww sweet guys...tx for sharing!!!

I started cooking at the age of may be 13. I saw ammi to cook so I know how to cook one day she was going outside then I took my first attempt and I made daal, chawal and aaloo bhujiya, when my ammi came back and saw my first attempt, she was happy.

Before marriage my ammi taught how to cook and I don't like to cook but I did all kinds of baking like cakes and cookies at that time my brother loves my baking items, but after marriage I personally took interest in cooking becoz my hubby loves to try new dishes.

During cooking I wash utensils, cleans counter tops and after I done I clean oven and floor too. I like to cook in clean kitchen. Right now I know how to cook and cooks almost perfectly. Right now I can make Pakistani and Continental dishes very well.

i learned to cook at a very young age. started with chai and custard, and then moved on to chawal :smooth: mostly cuz i wanted to, and also cuz my cousin who’s older than me was like a freakin’ expert at 12 and i hated all the attention she got :phati: i did a lot of cooking for a while, but then as i got more serious with school work i kinda quit. i now do it in summers or when ammi can’t for whatever reason.

my dad loves my cooking…but i think it’s cuz he’s my dad. my khala commends my cooking, which is saying a lot cuz she cooks really well, and rarely likes anyone else’s food :cb:. i think i can cook well. and i do enjoy it as well. my favorite thing would be ummmm chicken manchurian i guess. it’s pretty fun to make it lol. and i am a very messy cook. i use all the pots and pans and chamchas i can. though i am trying to cut down on it :blush: i really hate doing dishes so i try to put it off. though ammi refuses to do dishes i use when i cook, so i have to clean up after myself now :bummer:

hmmm I started cooking late but became a pro pretty quick :snooty: was probably around 22. the couple of times i cooked before that was disastrous. I remember once my chachi who was sick asked me to follow her instructions and cook daal and kaddu as she was sick. I was living at their place prior to moving to boarding school. So she told me that she had some peeled garlic on the shelf and I should use that. I went ahead and put in all the garlic she had there which was a LOT :smiley: so at the end it was more like garlic ka saalan than anything else. but everyone ate it probablycos they didnt want me crying as I did baat baat pe cos I was away from parents, heh. chachi was like, femme agar meine ya banaya hota tau ur chacha would have been upset over it, tum ne banaya hei tau chup kar ke kha liya :smiley: awwwwwww my chacha :hugz:

I can make Tea :D