Last Names

Ladies:

How many of you took your husband’s last name? What if you didn’t like it and preferred to keep your own last name? Have any of you ever done that?

Men:

How would you feel if your fiance preferred to keep her last name?

I'd be fine with it if my wife wanted to keep her own last name. I'd love it if she would take mine, however, if she felt strongly about keeping hers, then I'd have no problem with it. There are far more important things in a marriage than a name.

Why don't men adopt their wives last name?

Lets say Fret marries someone named Mamoona Sultana. He would then be called Fret Sultana!.

Now this is true liberation of the sexes.

I took my huby's name.. My mom was against it but I did anyway.. more for the children.. (why do mom and dad have different names) and it was just to much to say Maria Abbasi-Tarar...

just to be informative, Islam does not allow women to be renamed from (e.g) Miss Abeda Anwar to Mrs. Abeda Siddiq....
she shud still always have her father's name to be her second name....

the concept of having the second name of a woman as her husband's name is unIslamic....
derived from the west i think....

imagine a woman marrying 10 times, she wud need to change her name on the documents every time, having a new identity....
but if she sticks to her own name, she will have a unique identity....

(not so relevant but) yet the west have gutts to say that islam doesnt give women their rights....

:eek: 10times?
uffff!

Last Name Change

well I saw different replies on question asked. as a matter of fact we are over looking one thing the women who wants to keep her own last name also belong to a Man who is her father who gave his last name to his child and his wife.

Changing the last name is not a big deal but it makes one family a completly different family when women leaves her parents house to have her own place to restablished. also if women decide to keep her last name then what about her child's last name shouldn't it be his or her fathers last name. or we should have the child name with two last names.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Why don't men adopt their wives last name?

Lets say Fret marries someone named Mamoona Sultana. He would then be called Fret Sultana!.

Now this is true liberation of the sexes.

** ACT LIKE A MAN **

Muslim men or women do not take on their husbands or wives name

ya allah funguy, are you just bored these days or what?

I didn't change my last name..its the same..

I will because I want to change my name and I believe we (kids) and parents should have the same family name otherwise it gets complicating, try explaining to an european that you are married, they will think that you are living with your boyfriend and not your husband. :snooty:

I think it is so awesome to take the last name of your husband as a woman. Not only is it cute and lovey-dovey, it also makes sense to do so since lines are passed down through paternity in our culture, validating paternity of the children.

:clown:

:konfused:

I thought that its neccssary 4 a a girl to change her last name after marriage…but…

tomorrow i am getting my name changed :hula: I will turn from …

Miss Saadia B. to Mrs Saadia A.

At one point I am excited and happy but at the otherside sad about loosing my maiden name. :teary3: that I had for all my life .. but hey that’s life.

Kiya achhay zamanay hotay thay, women chup chaap naam badal laitee theiN ya phir nahi badaltee theiN. Now everything is a friggin' ego issue for women. yay nahi karooN gee, woh nahi karooN gee. Bhaee aap bhaaR meiN jayeiN aur baithee raheiN ghar par. Aap kuch bhi naa kareiN.

Re: Last Names

there is no liking or disliking in a name…all muslim names are beautiful…:k:…i would definetely take my husbands name…as thats what asian girls do in our culture…:k:…

but i havent seen anyone having her own name after marraige…:confused:
r there any?..:konfused:

I took his first name. He didn't ask for it. I just liked it .

Good Luck :hug:

I didn't change my name.

*Originally posted by Dhoop: *
I didn't change my name.

why ? are you living in pakistan ? if yes then i know the reason, but here in europe its common for husband and wife to have the same last name, otherwise it is complicating ... ppl would think that you both are not married and are just living together ect .. ect.. (as some couples never get married over here )