My eye sight is a bit weak and i first started wearing glasses in 2000, the problem is that i hardly wear them (i never feel comfortable wearing glasses) and my eye sight is getting weaker.
I just wanted to know if it’s safe to have “Laser eye surgery” ???
Is there any side effects???
Is it better to get it done in Pakistan as i am going there in few months???
Jee aunty laikin buhat mushkil hai glasses ko har waqt pehan k rakhna.
Yeah Sara, I was gonna go for contacts but i think it's bit of a hassle to put them on every morning so i thought laser could be the best option but it would be nice to know how effective it really is and if there are any side effects.
I was talking to my Optometrist friend about this. she said its best not to get laser done just yet, because they dont know the longterm side effects of it yet…cuz it hasnt been out long enough.
Personally I would say contact lenses are very convenient :k:
I got it done last year and I'm loving it!!! I know Parissenoor got it done last year too and she is lovin' it! My 2 colleagues got it done right after I did and they are lovin' it too :) I say go for it!!
Things to remember:
Your eye sight should reach a stable number. If it is decreasing at a steady rate then wait until the # stops changing drastically every year.
Your night vision is affected slightly but boy the benefits are sooo much more worth it :)
Interesting!!!!There could be side effects but i think lots of other medicines and treatments have some side effects as well but i am assuming there are no known side effects associated with laser surgery.
exactly! i did it one and half year ago;) and the result are pretty stable mashallah, i have just a little astigmatism left on my left eye, but nothing serious, and i don't need glasses any more, except in case i'm very very tired and my eyes need rest (my eyesight has allways been weaker when tired)
the biggest side effct is that looking at bright lights in the dark is difficult, so if you live in america, i would not advise laser eye surgery, cause i've been to canada and america recently, and it's really painfull for me at night because they have so many lighted stuff to be read on streets and in malls, that's impossible for my eyes!!
i can try to explain you the cause of this problem:
to get the laser done, they cut a small portion of the eye and do the laser under that cut part, and then put the cut part back on the eye ...
BUT the scared eye tissue is a little bit thick than before cut, so it creates a a weird halo effect when bright light is put on it,
BUT when the day is on your eye opening is very small so you don't see through the scared part,
BUT when light is low the eye opening is bigger and then you are also seeing through the scared tissue and your sight is worse:(
so i can't read properly with low lights, and reading sign that are heavily lighted but in the dark is also extremely difficult.
if your eye sight is getting weaker you SHOULD not get laser done, because laser is reserved to people with stable eye sight! (not under 25 years old usually)
i recommend you to try contact lenses first! they are more confortable for your sight that glasses, and there are chances that they will stabilise your eye sight, that's what i did! (from 20 to 24 years) but then i got allergic to lenses, so i decided to get laser done, as i knew i would be forced to wear glasses again otherwise:(
There is another thing to consider, i was short sighted and short sighted people experience lots of problem including headaches and vertigo sometimes, when they have to wear glasses for presbitya (to read after 45 years old when near sight is getting weaker due to aging), so i thought getting rid of short sight before getting too old was a good idea:D
every surgery has a risk! of course getting it done with a qualified experieced serious eye surgeon is best (i did it in paris with one of the best guy in this field)
Thanx a lot parissenoor, i am short sighted as well and do get headaches, my eye sight wasn't all that bad but i hated wearing glasses so it's getting worse but i think you are right, i might consider contact lenses for couple of years first.
my eyesight has been suffering since I was 12 years old.
Yes...I've been a "chash-mish" since then.
But I have never been in favour of the laser procedure. I wear glasses and I wear contact lenses. In fact, I leave my contacts in for more than a week at a time. I even sleep in them! Allah ka shukar hai I haven't had any problems.
I used to put pure honey in my eyes. It really helped. My vision actually improved. My optometrist was floored!! He couldn't believe HIS eyes. He kept checking and re-checking because he thought he was doing something wrong. (That occurred many years ago when I had tried a regimen that my brother insisted upon. One drop of honey in each eye every other day.)
I'll warn you now.......it's an extremely painful thing. The honey stings like you won't believe. Your eyes get very red and they tear. I used to do it just before going to bed.