Re: Lara the greatest among his peers
No dought that Lara is the one of the greatest players ever to play the game both batting and characterwise,
But when Wasim and Waqar were playing for PAK he averaged only 30 Vs PAK and did,nt had a single hundred,Now 4 in 4,wow
Is it coincident or somthing else?
on the other hand in last 4 test series between these 2 sides somehow either Lara did,nt played or shoaib missed the series,well that could have been very EXCITING,SHOAIB Vs LARA
*i think shoaib bowled only *once to Lara in his career,
and u know what happened!
Well if you are quoting Lara’s own statements than I can tell you he was being modest. ![]()
We can list Sachin’s so called memorable hundreds and they will easily be out numbered by Lara’s memorable ones. In terms of pure entertainment, flair and domination.
^ Chalo jee tusi khush raho. cooler aap ka howa. pasand apni apni, khayal apna apna, between the two I will always rate Tendulkar head and shoulders above him.
^ tu wajah bhi tu bata dain sir jee.
The panache, the exquisite timing, the flair, the domination with which Tendulkar plays is something to be cherished. Furthermore as far as I am concerned when Tendulkar is playing against Pakistan I am nervous and edgy till he gets out, with Lara I am not that concerned. Yes he has made double century here but lets see how the Pakistani respond, the pitch has eased a lot.
^Ehsan pai, u edgy bcoz Pak is playing India, it carries a whole different emotions when we r playing WI. Otherwise, Lara has played more match winning innings than tendi.
Question of selecting one of Tendulkar and Lara as a "better" player is just like selecting one from mummy and daddy. One of these 2 can be favorite of kids but not "better" than other and if you ask kids, they will say mummy is better or daddy is better depending on who is present on the occasion when question is asked or who bought them the chocolate last time :)
^Not the right analogy.
Its not that we are arguing over who is ‘better’. I guess ppl here were arguing more on flair, domination and aesthetic appeal.
^^ Topic: "Lara The GREATEST among his peers"
and till now i thought that GREATEST is always BETTER than GREAT :)
Are you kidding me ehsan bhai? Tenchoker is the least of my concerns when we bowl against India :o . I rate Dravid miles ahead of him. And if choking when your team needs you the most is “domination”, then by God I don’t know how to describe what Viv Richards did on the field.
PRECISELY!
Does anyone remember a few years back Lara's series against Australia. He single handedly regained trophy for West Indies. His 153* and 213 were simply amazing.
Other notable innings are his 277, 226 and 182 all against AUS. He has played a lone hand, and a genius one at that, for West Indies for a long time. He came into a fading team, established himself into one of the most desperate sides and played the bulk of his career knowing that if he didnt do something magcal, West Indies would go down badly.
Tendulkar is no doubt talented or naturally gifted. But, as the game suggests above, his handling of pressure is not something to admire. Personally, there was a time when I used to fear Sachin batting. Nowadays, I honestly feel sorry for him.
To be the greatest, you can't be a bystander, you've got to dominate. Lara does that a lot. Undoubtedly, he is the greatest player of spin, perhaps ever. He has the ability to attack the best line ups. Admittedly, consistency is not a prominent feature of his game but, unlike Tendulkar, at least he doesn't boost his statistics against minnows and crap attacks.
Lara, along with the King, will always be my favourtie player but, as much as I hate to say it, it looks like Ponting might overcome his records, statistics and crown. One thing that the Australian captain does need to correct is his poor record on the turning pitches of the subconctinent against quailty spin attacks.