Lalu Prasad: a case study from Indian democracy model...

Many of our guppies rightly fear for the future of Pakistan looking at the past record of our politicains with regard to corruption…although these fears are genuine and not without reasons…there is a ray of hope…

If in today’s world of media, scrutiny, and judicial accountability…democracy is allowed to evolve…there will be a lot of pressure on elected representatives to perform…otherwise they will not survive in the political arena…in today’s changed environment..

In contrast to our ex railway minister…the cigar smoking humilated politician from Rawalpindi…who increased the railway deficit from 6 billion rupees to 20 billion rupees…this man from India who comes from very modest back ground from Bihar has turned around Indian Railway in to a $6.2 billion profit making organisation…

Mr. Prasad who was accused of gross corruption as Chief Minister of Bihar…his reign was termed as jungle rule…was under a lot of pressure to perform…while when our ex-railway minister was asked why he did not resign after a massive railway accident…he replied simply I was not the driver of that particular train…infact indicating he felt no public pressure and would remain minister as long as the military dictator wanted him to remain in charge…

These newly elected formely labeled corrupt politician will have to perform…otherwise they will either face public warth…or will get humilated in the hands of judiciary they are so eager to make independent if they don’t perform… and not to forget the everyday grilling in the hands of media…this time it’s not going to be a bed of roses for these fellows..

August 30, 2006 11:43 IST
Last Updated: August 30, 2006 12:21 IST

Lalu to teach management at IIM-A

He may be the quintessentially rustic politician whose 15-year-rule in Bihar as chief minister was dubbed by critics as ‘jungle raj,’ but India’s Railway Minister Lalu Prasad is set for an image makeover when he dons the role of a lecturer at the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad next month.

The turnaround in the financial health of the Indian Railways, with Prasad in charge, has been the subject of major discussion at IIMs and he is already being looked upon as a ‘management guru.’

On September 18 this year, Prasad, who is also the Rashtriya Janata Dal president, will deliver a lecture to the management students and the faculty at IIM-A, explaining how he turned around the Indian Railways from a loss-making operation to a public sector unit that stunned everyone by earning a profit of Rs 15,000 crore (Rs 150 billion) in 2005-06.

The invitation to deliver a lecture came after IIM-A’s Prof G Raghuram conducted a detailed study on the Indian Railways ‘turnaround’ and decided to introduce the case study as a part of the curriculum.

Ever since Prasad took over as India’s Railway Minister, the Railways have become the second-largest PSU profit-earner after the Oil and Natural Gas Corporation. Lalu has surprised many by emerging as one of the top-performing ministers in Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s Cabinet.

So what has Prasad done to the Indian Railways which his predecessors could not? The answer lies in his own down-to-earth attitude and rustic wisdom.

Prasad puts it in his inimitable style: “My mother always told me not to handle a buffalo by its tail, but always catch it by its horns. And I have used that lesson in everything in my life, including the Railways.”

When some of the Railway Board members expressed apprehensions in increasing wagon loads, a decision which alone generated Rs 7,200 crore (Rs 72 billion), Prasad said: “Wagon is the bread-earning horse of the Railways. Load it adequately. Make it run and don’t stable it.”

Prasad’s other management mantra for the Railways has been: “If you do not milk the cow fully, it falls sick,” which he is practicing while running the Railways.

When Prasad took over, the Indian Railways was a loss-making organisation. The Rakesh Mohan Committee termed it a ‘white elephant’ and said it was destined to hit Rs 61,000 crore (Rs 610 billion) in bankruptcy by 2015.

But Lalu Prasad had different ideas. His secret lies in the fact that he did not convert the ministry into a Bihar Bhawan but left the crucial decision to his bureaucrats. He is achieving his targets not by increasing fares or downsizing, but by increasing traffic.

He believes traffic volume will rise significantly as the economy booms, yielding room for further reforms, and is also confident that the Railways will be able to generate revenue to help improve safety, open up container train wagons to private players and air-conditioned ‘Garib Raths’ with low fares retaining his pro-poor image.

Today it is not only IIM Ahmedabad that wants to fete Prasad for posting a fund balance of Rs 15,000 crore in 2005-06.** Even premier international business schools like Harvard and HEC Management School, France, have shown interest in turning Prasad’s experiment with the Railways into case studies for aspiring business graduates.**

For HEC, France, the crux lies in how a railway system, under the jurisdiction of a coalition government, can be put on the road to success. Karine Lejoly of HEC, France, who met Prasad in New Delhi last month, said: “We are looking at making the Indian Railways a part of our course.”

It is not just business schools that are awe-struck. Prasad has also attracted the attention of railways in other nations and global engineering houses, like General Electric of the United States.

GE chairman Jeffery Immelt, sensing large business potential with the Indian Railways, met Prasad in Delhi and without mincing words asked him about the focus areas.

The Indian Railways CEO told the GE chief that the turnaround is “real and long-term. The focus is on cutting unit costs, productivity gains and higher volumes. We want to beat the US and China on unit cost. You are number one. We want to be number one.”

IIM-A’s Raghuraman, who first introduced Prasad in his curriculum, says, “We are not just working on the facelift that he has given to Indian Railways, but also on his personality, the team he works with and the initiatives he has taken.”

“It was not as if Prasad applied some new principles. He was just the guy who said ‘let us get down to it.’”

Re: Lalu Prasad: a case study from Indian democracy model…

Re: Lalu Prasad: a case study from Indian democracy model...

Manwa aab chilla chulli kam karey hain. Kam ziyada karey hain.

Report regarding Lalu’s new budget of Indian Railways indicating the last year profit at Indian Rs 25,000 crores…6.4 billion US$…

1. Without increasing any fares for last 5 years..

2. Without laying off a single person…Indain Railways is the largest employer in the world with 1.4 million employees…

3. Reducing the fares for common people…

Reaally a magic done by him! Well done.

Something similar to what Shahbaz Sharif and Mustafa Kamal have done in our country...taking ownership and responsiblity of the work done under them...just because they have to face people...instead of military dictators...

Most important, Pakistan Railway boses and subordinates should be sent to India for training on regular basis to achieve same results for PR. Instead of spending $billions on importing expesive locomotives/carriages/wagons, PR shoud start negotiating with counterpart IR regarding manufacturing of locomotives and rolling stock. It will be very profitable for PR to start business with IR asap, instead of looking West or China for replacements or importing.

Great thinking!

Such collaboration in addition to whatever benefits are achoeved commercially, will also go a very long way in saving billions for both countries in arms procurement and military expenses -

It is a proven fact that intense trade and commercial dependency works better than nuclear m.a.d in maintaining peace.

There some who counter this argument that lalu is responsible for turning indian railways, mainly his opponents. They say, It was his predecessor Nitish Kumar who had already laid foundation to turn around the railways(Now he is chief minister of bihar. THere are news that he is improving bihar now). It is just that after 5 years the government changed and laloo came and he took the credit for what Nitish did. THere is one more argument that Lalu just gave the IAS officers working under him full liberty and an order to do anything to turn around the railways. So it was these Indian administrative service (IAS) officers who took the decisions to turnaround. And everybody knows, lalu has ruined bihar in 15 years of rule.

i know that most of the railway stations are in a race to get ISO2001 and ISO2000 certification by increasing their standards. railways could be more profitable if they do something about those corrupt ticket checkers. they make almost 10% of what railways makes...

i heard a lot about nitish kumar, his mother still lives in a mud house and he himself only owns a flat. i think it was in favor of us that he quit railways after getting the ball rolling and now fixing bihar. kudos to lalu to keep the momentum and kudos to nitish to starting everything..
IR has changed a lot though, no more beggers in railway stations, laptop/cellphone charger point next to every first class seat , and near the bathrooms for other classes, cleaner stations, etc etc..

on the side note, a random fact comes in to mind... indian railways rejected amitabh bacchan as a railway schedule announcer because they thought his voice was not good enough. that was before he became actor..

Lallu turned around Indian railways...and Bill Clinton was responsible for the dot-com boom.

Au Contraire , these guys just happened to be at the right place at the right time.

India is going though a phase of unprecedented economic boom....does it take a rocket scientist to figure out that it would mean manifold increased revenue in freight.

Inviting Lallu to IIM and Harvard - is romanticizing this Lallu turnaround story a bit too much. You can't turnaround anything with khullar cups. Have you seen the guy talk....Indian Railways or not, Lallu remains a bumbling idiot who first robbed a state dry and then thrust his illiterate wife on millions and ruled by proxy from jail.

Haha, so is Pakistan; apparently. :jhanda:

lalu also got a job offer from bill gates :halo:

Its not as if Pakistani Railways bosses don't know where the problems are, its that they are not held accountable (not punished) for the losses, problems issues etc. They know where the problems are and how to fix'em, its just that they probably make more money for themselves keeping the railway as it is.

For sure. Here is the transcript

"Dear Mr. Laloo prasad, You do not meet our requirements. Please do not send any further correspondence. No phone call shall be entertained.

Thanks"

Laloo prasad jumped with joy on receiving this reply. He arranged a party and when all the guests had come, he said "Bhaiyon

aur Behno,aap ko jaan kar khushi hogee ki hum amereeca mein naukri mil gayee hoon."

Everyone was delighted. Laloo prasad continued…

"Ab main aap sab ko apnaa appointment letter padkar sunaongaa par letter angreeze main hai isliyen saath-saath hindi main

translate bhee karoonga.

Dear Mr. Laloo prasad-----pyare Laloo prasad bhaiyya

You do not meet----aap to miltay hee naheen ho

our requirement----humko to zaroorat hai

Please do not send any furthur correspondance----ab Letter vetter bhej ne ka kaouno zaroorat nahee.

No phone call ----phoonwa ka bhee zaroorat nahee hai

shall be entertained----bahut khaatir kee jayegi.

Thanks----aapkaa bahut bahut dhanyavad.

lol... GA you got it...:biggthumb

Singh jee…I am sure you know India much better than I do…One of my friend keeps on sending mails about him from time to time..apparently is a big Lallu fan…so is Mahesh Bhatt…and so are many millions in India and world over…

The fact is he took over Indian Railway 5 years ago, IR has done great in these five years and every year was better than the last one…his achievements are recognised not only in India but world over…even by people like CEO of GE…there must be something…

http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage/StoryPage.aspx?id=336ab0ae-4825-4099-a13a-2af909fe215a&MatchID1=4666&TeamID1=10&TeamID2=3&MatchType1=1&SeriesID1=1174&PrimaryID=4666&Headline=Lalu+to+lecture+Harvard+students

Lalu to share reasons of railways’ growth with Harvard students

After enlightening the IIM students, now an international management guru, Lalu Yadav, is all set to address a large group of students from the Harvard and Wharton business schools in the US on how he achieved a turnaround in the Indian Railways.

By now, the Railway Minister has probably mastered the art of delivering such lectures as he has explained the turnaround strategy to quite a number of visiting international business school dons, management experts and top CEOs as well.

On December 27, he will speak to an audience of 137 American students — 100 from Harvard Business School and the rest from Wharton — in a day-long session at the Railway Ministry.

He will explain to them the finer points of how the ailing Railways has been pulled out of the red in a short period of time without having to increase fares or downsize staff. In the past months, several professors from Harvard, Wharton and Boston business schools have been taken by Lalu around the country to show them the rail network and explain the turnaround strategy.

The loss-making Indian Railways earned a revenue surplus of Rs 13,000 crore by March 2006 and the next year’s target is fixed at Rs 20,000 crore.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage/StoryPage.aspx?id=d92c099f-b63c-4339-9586-ae332aade275&MatchID1=4666&TeamID1=10&TeamID2=3&MatchType1=1&SeriesID1=1174&PrimaryID=4666&Headline=Lalu’s+‘pathsala’+a+hit+among+MIT+students

Lalu’s ‘pathsala’ a hit among MIT students

It was a ‘pathshala’ with a difference. Railway Minister Lalu Prasad’s lecture to a group of Massachusetts Institute of Technology students left them highly impressed as he spoke on the magical turnaround of the Indian Railways in New Delhi on Saturday.

“Overall it was a great case study and experience,” said Edward O’Donell, one of the 30 students of MIT, after listening to the railway minister at the National Rail Museum.

"The minister and his officers gave us a presentation with minute details of the Indian Railways. From a loss-making institution to a profit-making public transport system - it’s a great case study.

“Mr Prasad’s lecture helped us understand the complexities of the system and how he managed to overcome it. While attracting more commuters, he has managed to reduce the passenger fares. It is noteworthy,” O’Donell said after the lecture.

The railway minister has so far given lectures to students of Harvard University, Virginia University, Wharton University, University of Texas as well as the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad.

“These students are very talented and I shared with them the same experience that I had shared with other university students. My pathsala was liked by them. They were very satisfied,” he said.

“Honesty, commitment and proper utilisation of human resources are the three keys of my success and I told them so. They asked me questions and were satisfied with the answers,” he told reporters.

He said 1.4 million railway officials have been working together to face all challenges and “it is because of their attitude and honesty that we are a successful unit”.

“We have a vision and all are working in that direction.”

Antonio Sosa, another MIT student, said: “It was great on the part of the minister to give us one hour of his time. For me, the railways case study was just not one subject. It gave me an idea of the complexities not only of Indian Railways but of the whole country and how they are achieving success amid all this.”

He said his friends had asked the minister about the railways’ links to ports, on the management of tracks, the balance between profit making and social responsibility and the condition of his home state Bihar.

Asked if they managed to understand Lalu’s mix of Hindi and English, they replied in the affirmative.

“Before beginning the lecture, he said that his English is not very good but we managed to understand it. His officers helped us in some cases. His Hindi-laced English was interesting,” O’Donell added.

ehtesab,

I am sorry I don't agree with you here. IR technically much superior than PR, therefore PR has to learn a lot from their counter part. As regard corruption, I think IR must have the same problem may be lesser. And you can not apply corruption rule universally to every one. Everywhere you find few very honest people including PR. Present boss of PR, Mr. Asad Saeed I know him personally, is a very honest person.

Mr Asad Saeed can be honest for all we know, even IG police, commissioner may be all honest and sincere but the problem comes when they are unable to pull the strings they desire to bring out a change due to various reasons. Even if you know Asad personally and he is "honest" in YOUR opinion doesn't mean what he does when in the office. May be he is honest but not motivated enough to bring about the changes needed to make PR a profitable institution. Is Mr Asad the minister for railways or PR chief reporting to minister ......?

If lalu is so talented, then why he didn't use those skills for 15 years in his rule in bihar?..inspite of bihar being rich in natural resources, everybody knows how it is. THere is a joke about this or perhaps even a real incident..I don't know. A japanese delegate visits bihar and was very impressed with the abundance of resources in bihar. He says to lalu "Give me bihar, in 10 years i will turn it into Japan". For that lalu replies, "Give me Japan, in 1 year I will turn it into bihar"