I saw Lakshya today. What a great job Javed Akhtar and Farhan Akhtar did. I think this was one of the best war movies made by Bollywood. Hritik Roshan was simply Great in this movie. Special mention must be made of the cinematography (Christopher Popp), which mesmerises. The cliff - hanging scene coupled with some of the battle sequences too are mind blowing.
Best dialogue of movie: Banane Wale Ne Ek Dharti Banayi Thi… Shukr Hai Chand Aasman Mein Hai, Zameen Mein Hota Toh Log Iske Bhi Tukde Kar Lete – Kya baat hai! (The creator created a single Earth… Thank God, the moon is in the sky, otherwise people would have made divisions on it as well).
Man. I would have watched this movie if it wasn't anti-pak. I loved farhan's last movie Dil Chata Hai, the only indian movie i loved watching. Damn the anti pak theme jus blew it for me. I was dieing to see farhans next work of art ever since dil chata hai came out.
wat the hell?!??! u liked this gay-a$$ retarted movie
it made me so mad
i liked Dil Chata hai but this was just over the top
i mean for god's sake? don't pakistanis have freakin uniforms!!?!?! our soilders just don't walk around in diff. colored kameez shalwaar. i can't believe the arrogance they showed. how dare them? aaj key baad indian movies saab band! ullu key pathey kahein key ... kaminey ... saley
*Originally posted by masoom_se_larki: *
it made me so mad
i mean for god's sake? don't pakistanis have freakin uniforms!!?!?! our soilders just don't walk around in diff. colored kameez shalwaar. i can't believe the arrogance they showed. how dare them? aaj key baad indian movies saab band! ullu key pathey kahein key ... kaminey ... saley
They were intruders and insurgents not Pakistani soldiers. the movie is about "KARGIL" .. Pakistan denied any of its troops involement in it... They were kashimir freedom fighters according to Pakistani Army... So the guys showed in the movie arent suppose to wear Pakistani army uniforms... so the director protrayed the situation right...
though it was anti pak movie, but it was a fine one.. and dear lets not foget that we watch several American movies which are Anti Muslim and we dont hate them.... we are Muslim first, rather than paksitanis...
haha “kashmir freedom fighters” well that means that i can even get a bunch of guys and ammunition together and go make bunkers on top of Kargil mountains and the government won’t say anything to me. Is that what u are saying? and now don’t say “it was just a movie” because that’s the point … they were clearing making fun of pak … freedom fighters or not
*Originally posted by I'm Kool: *
Man. I would have watched this movie if it wasn't anti-pak. I loved farhan's last movie Dil Chata Hai, the only indian movie i loved watching. Damn the anti pak theme jus blew it for me. I was dieing to see farhans next work of art ever since dil chata hai came out.
This is not just a movie on War. First Half part is not at all related to war. It deals with today's Yuppy generation with No Aim, objective or goals, about a drifting young man, aimlessly.
For those who enjoy stereotypical Bollywood nonsense a la Shah Rukh Khan, then Lakshya is most definitely not for you! Lakshya is a mature and revealing movie, with an immense performance from Hrithik and a vibrant direction from Farhan Akhtar. This movie is made to Hollywood standards.
Here at last is an unabashedly patriotic film that one can watch without wincing over the overt jingoism and foolhardy heroism.
If "Lagaan" could be nominated to Oscar, this is definitely Oscar material.
*Originally posted by imran dhanji: *
I saw Lakshya today. What a great job Javed Akhtar and Farhan Akhtar did. I think this was one of the best war movies made by Bollywood. Hritik Roshan was simply Great in this movie. Special mention must be made of the cinematography (Christopher Popp), which mesmerises. The cliff - hanging scene coupled with some of the battle sequences too are mind blowing.
Best dialogue of movie: Banane Wale Ne Ek Dharti Banayi Thi… Shukr Hai Chand Aasman Mein Hai, Zameen Mein Hota Toh Log Iske Bhi Tukde Kar Lete – Kya baat hai! (The creator created a single Earth… Thank God, the moon is in the sky, otherwise people would have made divisions on it as well).
HATE IT
ITS AN ANTI-PAKISTAN .........
NO MATTER WHAT THEY DO ...INDIAN'S HAVE TO BE LIKE THAT
*Originally posted by masoom_se_larki: *
it made me so mad
I think one should read a little bit about Kargil insurgency before going to see the movie. Read it though unbiased media. And then judge whether the movie was factually correct or India biased.
As far as I know Pakistan till the end denied that any of their soldiers were entering Indian territory as all the insurgents were voluntary freedom Kashmiri fighters. So they were shown in regular civilian clothes.
I think this is a movie Pakistanis should watch and critic whether the movie was factually correct or misleading.
DHANGI i don't know what makes you think lakshya is the best movie of 2004 when it has already bombed @ the box office, within the first 3 weeks of opening world-wide. with the current peace process taking a +itive turn between pak-ind, movies like lakshya r the last thing ppl want to c rite now.
it's true our soldiers never crossed the l.o.c and entered kargil but it was the mujahideen who occupied the winter positions that indian army left vacant, these mujahideen have our moral support, clearly stated by pres' mushy.
j.p. dutta thought his propoganda {loc - kargil} would do a lot of the ppl justice, well matey that even backfired into his face, when his film bombed badly @ the box office why?? cos of the anti-pak theme which many hindi movies have adapted over the last few years and many ppl in india and pak + eng didn't want to pay much attention to it, when both of the southern asian giants were taking a bold step towards peace.
mate pay clear attention to lakshya, it is operation vijay revisited and how u guys take the p**** out of our mujahideen and show us as cowards doesn't do both sides any favours mate, but hatred increases in the minds of those pakis'/kashmiris who watch such movies to pick such points up.
the whole world know's the mujahideen fighting for freedom in occuppied kashmir r no give overs and they have time and time again embarressed the indian army on many occassions, so it's about time anti-pak/anti-islamic/anti-mujahideen movies portrayed a little truth about the opposite side {us} which is always shown as the bad guy!
by god i wish our pak movies were decent enough to be watched on a large scale around the world then, we could return the favour by making movies on indian army's ruthless aggression in jammu and kashmir kashhhhh.
This is not the movie of the year and definitly not an Anti-Pak movie. Some of you need to grow up. It seems taking a name of work "Pakistan" makes a movie anti-pakistan. Pakistan do exist and Kargil did happen. You sound like the guy on other thread who called 1942 a Love story as anti-Pak. Those who are calling Lakshya and Dev Anti Pak definitly havenot seen Ghadar,Loc-Kargil & Hero. Now those are anti Pak movie full of rheotric and idiotic chest thumping dialogues.
Credit must be given to Farhan who inspite of having scope for being antipak simply didnt get into it and kept the movie on track.
Do you think it’s a flop? Check the Time magazine article. It says it is expected to be the biggest blockbuster. In UK the total so far is £ 255,028 [approx. Rs. 2.16 crores] which is not great as compared to rock steady Hum Tum or Main Hoon Na.
In Farhan Akhtar’s “Lakshya” there are no overt anti Pakistan references even though the film is centred on a young man who goes from being an aimless youngster to a determined soldier fighting Pakistan in Kargil.
Pakistan bashing is becoming increasingly unfashionable in Bollywood. Apart from the oft-quoted example of “Gadar”, no other film deriding Pakistanis as terrorists and anti-socials has done well.
dhanJI apologeez for not spelling ur name correctly. aur now read the overseas box offfice reports on LAKSHYA below>>
U.K. BOX-OFFICE
Weekend: July 9-11, 2004
LAKSHYA is getting weaker with each passing week [last weekend: No. 16, this weekend: No. 23]. In its fourth weekend, the film has collected £9,753 on 13 screens, with the per screen average working out to
£750. The total so far has been £ 275,050 [approx. Rs. 2.34 crores]. Disappointing!
U.S.A BOX-OFFICE
The collections of LAKSHYA continue to slide downwards [last weekend: No. 42, this weekend: No. 53]. In its fourth weekend, the film has collected $ 24,113 on 28 screens, with the per screen average being $ 861. The total so far has been $ 730,816 [approx. Rs. 3.34 crores].
{the above r both quotes from a reported speech mate they aren't my words!!! now as far as lakshya is concerned, the writing is on the wall nowatmesayin?}
I hate any Anti-Pak or anti-Muslim movie PERIOD! If I hear a movie is anti-Pak I just won't see it.
So is Lakshya good or anti-Pak or what?
Whenever anyone of u post a movie review state wheter it's Anti-Paki or not because if it is forget about it!
At a time like this when India and Pakistan are trying better to become friends...this movie killed it....
I'm sure everyone agrees... this wasn't the right time for a movie like this. I watched it in theater and half the people were booing cuz it was packed with pakis and also a little fight erupted and of course the paki ended winning... indian guy just left lol
how can you hate hritik. he is one of the nicest actors alive.
I like him to death. he is gonna be the next superstar. he got everything it takes.
give this guy a break .
his best is yet to come.
and yes lakshya is a landmark movie. Lets just talk about the movie and nothing political , you will find it a great movie.
telll be , you wouldnt have been proud if this movie was made in your favor?
ppl hate hritik because they love sharukh for so long. they cannot accept that there is somebody who can compete him. but remember srk is getting old and hritik got lots of time.
*Originally posted by RoCKiSTaN: *
At a time like this when India and Pakistan are trying better to become friends...this movie killed it....
I'm sure everyone agrees... this wasn't the right time for a movie like this. I watched it in theater and half the people were booing cuz it was packed with pakis and also a little fight erupted and of course the paki ended winning... indian guy just left lol
you are telling us that there were lots of pakistanis in that movie.
i wonder what drew them to theatre. (as they knew the theam of the movie beforehand).
is it hritik???
i am sure becoz in my city most of the pakistanis went to watch the movie becoz they liked hririk.
how can you hate hritik. he is one of the nicest actors alive.
I like him to death. he is gonna be the next superstar. he got everything it takes.
give this guy a break .
his best is yet to come.
and yes lakshya is a landmark movie. Lets just talk about the movie and nothing political , you will find it a great movie.
telll be , you wouldnt have been proud if this movie was made in your favor?
ppl hate hritik because they love sharukh for so long. they cannot accept that there is somebody who can compete him. but remember srk is getting old and hritik got lots of time.
:) kaka jee... Everyone is entitled to their own opinion...I don't like Hrithik...nor do I die for Srk... and as for lakshya...it sounded boring to me... and plus I never knew it was anti-paki...and now i hate it more...:)