And Lagaan lost! Was interesting Aamir Khan’s sad face while sitting behind the Bosnian director.
The Indians are finding it so hard to believe this, even though it was a certainty the Bosnian film was going to win… They are already starting the Academy bashing process…
Check this article out from an Indian site…
(Blacks honoured, India ignored) http://www.tehelka.com/channels/ane/2002/mar/25/ane032502oscar-final.htm
‘Dad, don’t take Lagaan loss to heart’ http://www.rediff.com/entertai/2002/mar/25ashu.htm
‘We felt as if we had cheated the nation’ http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Articleshow.asp?art_id=4857366
Let me quote what some Indian critics are saying about the Academy, now that they have announced their decision…
/*
She said there was also little doubt that the Academy awards were not impartial and had a lot to do with lobbying. The Bosnian film – which has already won the 59th Golden Globe Award – was being promoted in the United States during the last six months. */
[This message has been edited by Spock (edited March 25, 2002).]
Has anyone seen that other film No Man's Land?
yea i have seen it and it sucks…
and lagaan
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif
bohat acha hoa hai…i am very
***kiss kiss ne, kiss kiss ko, kiss kiss tarha kiss kiya,
Ek woh hai jis ne har miss ko kiss kiya,
aur ek hum hai jis ne har kiss ko miss kiya
Well the deserving film got the award, not upset at all.
Alibeta, Did you really watch the Oscars ?? Ashuthosh Gowarikar was sitting behind Bosnian Director. And he was the first one to COngratulate the Bosnian director.
Umair - You are right, Bosnian Film was better than LAGAN and it deserved it.
SPOCK, The links you provided, None of them are CRIBBING, Anyway here is what AAMIR HIMSELF has to say :- http://www.rediff.com/entertai/2002/mar/25aamir.htm
‘We will win, one day’
Bindu Das in Mumbai
He hasn’t won the Oscar, but actor-producer Aamir Khan is content with the love, affection and support he has had from the people of India and Pakistan, Sri Lanka, London and New York.
His debut production Lagaan, was nominated as Best Foreign Language Film at the 74th Annual Academy Awards. The Kodak Theatre in Los Angeles was venue to the awards held on March 24.
Aamir Khan, director Ashutosh Gowariker and their wives – Reena Dutt and Sunita Gowariker – have been staying at an exculsive West Hollywood hotel for the last couple of weeks. The foursome attended the Oscar ceremony in ethnic Indian wear. Aamir wore a simple, no-fuss black sherwani Mumbai designer and India’s Giorgio Armani, Shahab Durazi. Ashutosh Gowariker made a striking foil in a white Bhanu Athaiya sherwani. His wife Sunita wore a white, delicately-embroidered Abu Jani-Sandeep Khosla chikan sari. While Reena opted for a back Tarun Tahiliani sari with red embroidery threaded along the pallav.
Post the Oscars party, a grateful Aamir says, from LA, "I thank them [the people] from the bottom of my heart. That is that is my biggest victory. That is much more than the Oscars.
"We lost out to an extremely good film from Bosnia called No Man’s Land. It has a very sensitive subject, with its underlying message being: war is no good.
"No Man’s Land was definitely a very good film. In fact, we all should be applauding the film and we Indians should be sporting enough and not get disappointed.
"There is great talent in India. I am sure we will win the Oscars one day. We had tremendous support from the Academy. That, too, is a great achievement.
"Lagaan is being re-released by Sony Pictures Classics in May in the US. It release in Europe as well. That is a rare occasion for a Hindi film; not many films have enjoyed a Pan-European release.
“I plan to be back in India by the next week. I’ll start work on the subject of my next film.”
Spare the Artists at least.
AK
What are you trying to prove here? I didn’t even mention Ashutosh Gowarikar. And it was good that he congratulated the Bosnian director, instead of being a soar loser. When the award was given and the Bosnian director had made his speech, they took the camera back to where they were sitting and Aamir Khan looked real depressed!
Asif, all of the links shows how sore losers you guys are...
I also pasted from one of those links, where one of your senior critics clearly says that the academy is 'NOT IMPARTIAL'. I just hope you know the meaning of that... Happy?
/*
She said there was also little doubt that the Academy awards were not impartial and had a lot to do with lobbying. The Bosnian film -- which has already won the 59th Golden Globe Award -- was being promoted in the United States during the last six months. */
Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**Well the deserving film got the award, not upset at all.
You are right umair, it was certain that it was going to win. However, if youve been watching channels such as 'Star World' (dont know about plus as they banned it here) you would have known how much hype they had created and they were acting as if all the critics believed it was lagaan was the fav. to take the oscar.
As for Aamir Khan, he has the right to be sad, he must have worked hard on that movie, and even though we saw nicole kidman applauding for berry, we know that in her heart she was upset.
Nomination is also a big feat, its not like 'joh jeeta woh sikandar'; losing is part of the game too. However, its the way one accepts the defeat that really counts.
You must be watching the Telecast on PTV and not on ABC. Because We had almost 20 guest watching LAGAN and none of us Noticed the Camera Pointing at Aamir.
Spock, It doesn’t show anything, it is how you look at it. Same critic also point this about the Bosnian film -
** "A disappointed senior film critic Aruna Vasudev said there was little doubt that the Bosnian film that had treated the subject of the birth of a new country in an extraordinary manner was brilliant. " **
However, About the Lobbying at the ACADEMY, I have to agree with the CRITIC, after all she is not the first one to say this, Below are few links
Oscar victory not always tied to performance
http://www.observer.co.uk/international/story/0,6903,673287,00.html
http://www.businessweek.com/bwdaily/dnflash/mar2000/nf00324j.htm
http://film.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/Guardian/0,4029,649002,00.html
AK
I watched it on ABC, and I watched just to see Aamir Khan!
You are implying that I have something against Aamir Khan! I dont! I think he is a very talented actor. Ofcourse he will be heart broken because he lost. I would be too!
Like Spock said, Nicole Kidman was applausing for Halle but ofcourse we are talking about an oscar here.
I would always like to see a bosnian win b4 an Indian. I havent watched lagaan coz i dont watch indian films but i can guess it was Shite just like the rest of their movies.
I haven't seen Lagaan, mainly because its over 3 hours long. I seen two of the other films nominated - Amelie and No Mans Land. They are both good.
No Mans Land is a good choice. It shows how ridiculous the war was, pokes fun at everyone. And hey, the director is Muslim, so he has my full support.
India should have nominated Monsoon Wedding, it got rave reviews in N.America, may have been a better candidate. And it was only 2 hours long.
Achtung
Aamir Khan, director Ashutosh Gowariker and their wives – Reena Dutt and Sunita Gowariker – have been staying at an exculsive West Hollywood hotel for the last couple of weeks. The foursome attended the Oscar ceremony in ethnic Indian wear. Aamir wore a simple, no-fuss black sherwani Mumbai designer and India’s Giorgio Armani, Shahab Durazi. Ashutosh Gowariker made a striking foil in a white Bhanu Athaiya sherwani. His wife Sunita wore a white, delicately-embroidered Abu Jani-Sandeep Khosla chikan sari. While Reena opted for a back Tarun Tahiliani sari with red embroidery threaded along the pallav.
India’s Giorgio Armani.
[This message has been edited by UMAIR316 (edited March 25, 2002).]
I am GALDDDDDDDDDD lagaan didnt win
I was thinking it was gonna be Amalie... No Man's land was a surprise...
Originally posted by Achtung:
*India should have nominated Monsoon Wedding, it got rave reviews in N.America, may have been a better candidate. And it was only 2 hours long.
Monsoon Wedding was released in US on Feb 22, 2002. Can it compete in next year's Oscar nomination race?
Originally posted by Asif_k:
** Alibeta, Did you really watch the Oscars ?? Ashuthosh Gowarikar was sitting behind Bosnian Director. And he was the first one to COngratulate the Bosnian director.
Umair - You are right, Bosnian Film was better than LAGAN and it deserved it.
yes indeed ashutosh was the first to rise and applause
iam sad for lagaan but at the same time iam glad that a bosnian muslim won the award
Originally posted by Asif_k:
** You must be watching the Telecast on PTV and not on ABC. Because We had almost 20 guest watching LAGAN and none of us Noticed the Camera Pointing at Aamir.
Spock, It doesn't show anything, it is how you look at it. Same critic also point this about the Bosnian film -
Yeah, but the same critic also said the academy was not impartial, and thats an accusation, I dont know how you cant say it doesnt point to anything, its like calling someone a cheat... BOTTOM LINE, CALLING SOMEONE A CHEAT DOES POINT TO SOMETHING
As for Aamir Khan, your twenty guests must have been crying at that time on Lagaans lost, as I saw Aamir Khan soon after the award was announced. It was not a close up shot (afterall, Aamir aint that important in international cinema) but he was shown, with his arm resting his chin and he looked a bit annoyed. Though thats nothing to be highlighted in my opinion, as even a nomination is something wonderful. He was wearing a suit I think, though I heard the entire cast was wearing dhotis.
You invited twenty guests hoping that Lagaan was going to win? hahaha There was a picture in the image gallery where the Indian guys are dancing too, that was funny too. I dont know why you guys thought u were the favourites to win this one where two films were clearly ahead of you, and one of them was likely to win.
The Oscars are not like the Miss World or Miss Universe pageants where they would give you the award on who covers most of the advertizing cost. I remember the last Indian contestent answering a question as to 'who is your greatest living inspiration in the world' and she answered Mother Teresa(she was dead), and worst of all, she got the title, now thats funny.
wotever...n e one says >> AAMIR KHAN IS GREAT!!!, simply too good,..aur waise bhi >> haar/jeet tho hoti rehti hai,...i say,.lagaan woz a good movie coz its Aamir's first go at directing,..+ he is the perfect actor in Bollywood,.so may my prayers be wiw him,....and its not like the LAST Oscars so wot to worry bout?
Why should we cry, We are all proud that at least we were able to make it to the OSCARS. Hell, Bangladesh fans know they cant win the match still they cheer for their country, dont they ?
In any case, We already have two Oscar Winners - Satyajit Ray for Lifetime Achivement and Bhanu Athaiya for Costume design in GANDHI.
Must have seen it on PTV, as they didn’t show him on ABC
I knew you guys were watching PTV, This pretty much confirms it.
Yes and One of my friends was from KARACHI. He too was hoping for LAGAN to win.
Again PTV and not ABC Telecast.
Heck, Even Bangladesh Cheers for its team knowing very well that they cant win the World Cup, but that’s called HOPE and SPIRIT, something you wont understand.
That hurts, doesn’t it
AK