If your parents ask you what you wanna do after graduating, getting married or masters, what will you choose?
Working is not an option. Let’s just say hypothetically only those two are the options.
If your parents ask you what you wanna do after graduating, getting married or masters, what will you choose?
Working is not an option. Let’s just say hypothetically only those two are the options.
Re: Ladies!!!
Masters! :D
LOL really? Why? ![]()
the following advice is customized..
marry and then do masters!
CG what if your husband does not let you do masters? What if you get pregnant? What if you get too busy in life and never get a chance to study further?
master first thn !
what "if" karne jao to kuch bi hosakta hai ..
If masters first..
what if u hav a guy n he isnt willing to wait 3yrs
what if in 3yrs u realize tht u wana do more in life thn just marry
"what if's" are never ending..
all senerios that u mentioned are things tht only u n the guy can work out between ur selves..n no one knows u personally well enough nor do they know the guy so waeva we say wont be customised to ur situation..thats y people say talk to the guy u wana spend ur life with n knw wht situation suits both of u best!
Masters, definitely! Thats what i chose when i was at that point :)
CG what if your husband does not let you do masters? What if you get pregnant? What if you get too busy in life and never get a chance to study further?
I wouldn't marry someone who wouldn't 'let' me study. I wouldn't get pregnant. If you're married and not working and not with child, how can life be too busy.
Anyway, it does piss me off when women keep studying when they know they aren't going to work or do anything with it. You would basically be doing it to delay marriage for a year or whatever and you're taking someone else's place who might actually do something with it.
However, MSc's are incredibly fun and rewarding. It was the best year of my studying life (and for the other people I know who have done one). The classes are small and it's intensive as you have to get through so much material; lot of exams and coursework. So you really bond with the people you're studying with, you study with them and you hang out with them, almost 24/7. I would highly recommend it as an experience and you don't know how life will turn out and you might need to rely on that education.
So go for the masters.
both...say i would like to start my masters(if its a 1 year masters) and am willing to consider suitable rishtas because marriages don't happen overnight...
masters
do whatever suits u.
i would like to study further even if like i marry.
If I do decide to do Masters, I'd definitely want to do it before I settle down :) Don't want to be poring over books rather than spending time with my hubby !
If your actually gonna work and do something with your chosen career then do your masters. However if your not gonna do it, your jus doing masters to delay getting married then thats jus silly.
Working is not an option. Let's just say hypothetically only those two are the options.
I was asked that question and I went for my Masters. It took me about a year and half to complete it and that's because I wasn't going out of field and many of the credits from my undergraduate program transferred over to the Masters program. During this time, I was working part time as a preschool teacher, from 9:00 to 2:00. The timings were perfect because it allowed me ample time to go home and study for my tests before attending the evening classes. I paid for the tuition myself.....and I take pride in that.
I don't regret my decision. And several people who were married even told me that it was better I took care of that before marriage since there would be greater responsibilities. And I've observed that it's true. Some of my friends who didn't complete their undergrad degree......and got married......had a real tough time completing it after marriage. The responsibilities were greater....couldn't take as many classes, so it got drawn out.....then kids got in the way.
I didn't think I was ready for marriage....and I had an interest in further education. I'm working....and my degree is relevant to my work.....so it's helping me out. Plus, I know that I have my Masters in a critical needs area....so that helps to make one marketable. You do what you feel is best for you. Ask yourself what you want. Weigh the pros and cons.....consider the benefits....long-term/short-term, etc.
That happened to a friend of mine. She wished to pursue medicine....which is quite rigorous. But she got married before completing her Bachelors/undegrad program. Her parents had expressed to......the in-laws.......their daughter's wish to complete her education. The in-laws told her that they'd help her out with that (financially maybe....or perhaps by providing emotional support)....not sure. Anyhow........that didn't happen after marriage. She had to help run a house....so she got a job. It wasn't possible for husband/in-laws to financially support her education, so she wasn't able to complete. She tried saving some money from her work for her education. Also, I think her husband decided to take classes himself, so that posed an obstacle. And then.......baby # 1....and getting busy in taking care of him. Baby # 1 is now four-years-old.......and they're contemplating baby # 2. She seems MashaAllah very happy ....and if she wants to have a second child, then maybe education is not a major concern for her now. But, yes, many things get in the way.
I have another friend....who pursued her undergrad in business while she also had a daughter. She said the same thing.....that it's tough.
I say, if you have the desire to work.....go for it. If you don't think you're ready for marriage.......and I'm not saying that one should get their Masters to bide their time just because they're not ready to get hitched. BUT.....seriously think about the benefits of getting a Masters. If you plan to work......in a competitive job market......you're a step ahead of those that only have a Bachelors degree.......and you get paid more. And you never know what can happen in life.........financial problems in the marriage might compel you to find a job. A divorce.....a rocky marriage........for example, might require you to work. And in these situations, being a step ahead and earning a bit more.....is not a bad idea at all.
after graduation they never asked me you wanna get married ...? because i really never wished to get married before completing my education :@:
My parents would not even bring up the option of marriage for me and my sister until we are have a doctorate degree. Not even masters is good enough. It is more important to them that we have the ability to stand on our own two feet and never have to be financially depend on another (if we don't have to! its great if we are!) ... but the option to live a life free from financial stress if god forbid something happened to the marriage or the hubby was very important for my parents. Having a higher education is the key for that.
I did not even question this. I recently finished my degree and am now engaged :D My sister just finished undergrad now. My parents tell her the same thing but also say that if a good rishtaa comes for her, they will get her engaged. You know he's a good guy and comes from a good family if they respect my parents wishes of educating their daughter and waits for them to get married.
We have seen some very unfortunate situations... where a husband has gotten into a horrible accident and become paralyzed, the wife had to take on the entire financial burden from that point on. My khalaa was in an abusive relationship and shuker hai was able to get a divorce... it is the fact that she is a doctor and able to stand on her own two feet that has helped her survive and not become dependant on other family members after her shaadi unfortunately fell apart. We have another family member whose husband died due to cancer at a young age. Wife suddenly had all the responsibility... etc.
...... it is these difficult situations which are hard to contemplate before getting married or even at the beginning of a marriage. We think we are invisible and in love. Nothing will change and inshAllah will live happily ever after. But you never know what life can and will throw at you. I think my parents were very smart people to recognize this and make sure my sister and I are prepared.
Hope this helped :D
Thank you ladies you have really helped me. :D
^ Have you reached a verdict, Aisha?