ladies who work and do housework

for some yrs my own mom used to wake up at 6 or even earlier, wake us all up, get us all ready, get ready herself, make our breakfasts [which included special farmayshein of my bros, like anda aisay tala hona chiahiyay and doodh mein malai nai etc etc, me being so sweet bachpan se hi halo never had such nakhray] and put them on the table, dad used to go to job, mum used go to her school to teach and we used to go to ours. we’d be back by afternoon, change from school uniforms [read, my younger brother and i did masti around the house and stole imli from the fridge] and then mom n dad used to arrive. mom used to take lunch out. then she used to clean it all up etc. then we all used to nap. mummy used to go wake up and teach tuitions till late evening and saath saath cook dinner n the next day’s lunch. we used to go out to play. then when her tuitions left, she would take out the dinner, dad would be home by that time too. then we would all eat. mummy would then ask us if we’d done our homework etc, make sure our school clothes were ready etc and then put us to bed.

and in pakistan cooking means making roti, chawal, daal, saalan, cutting salad etc. and it all starts from scratch from goondhing aata to peesing lasan adrak on the stone thingie. [mom dint used machines coz she thought machines make em lose their khushboo]

we only had one safai wali maasi who only used to clean the floors and bathrooms of the house and do dusting.

im the only girl in the house and was too young to help out and even when i was older mummy only asked me to wash dishes and sometimes pees the masala or goondh aata and dust one room per day and iron my bros and my clothes. she wanted me to concentrate on my parhai so she never made me cook the actual meals or do heavy duty housework.

hmmm…moms r just superwomen :flower1:

now alhamdulillah we have domestic help and they do almost everything. but that also means k mein ne tab bhee koi ghar k kaam nai sambhaalay aur ab bhee nai.

but the point of the post is k how do they or any women for that matter do it? i discussed with my friends who work too and most em including moi dont do any housework. its nothing to be proud of actually it sucks coz when we r forced to do it its gona take some getting used to. i dono how it is in amreeka where u dont have domestic help but here atleast we r really spoilt and come home n just watch tv, sit on net, or do our own thing. even sleep or watch a movie or whatever it is.

the married ones do a lot, i guess when u have ur family in front of u and u know they r ur responsibility, then u forget all tiredness and illness and just do things for them.

like my bhabi had bad back pains, an operation, but in that she used to do so much, and mashallah she has 4 kids, i was just A.M.A.Z.E.D.

sometimes i’m scared if i’ll be able to manage everyting coz i’m like the laziest person on this planet

khayr just a salute to all these kinda superwomen :mudhosh: plz enlighten me how u do it

It's hard to explain Irem, you just get on with it. Even if it means doing your ironing at 2am, or cleaning up the kitchen from the previous night the following morning just as you're about to head out the door on your way to work.

It's like magic.

you’re right shahreen, magic is the only word that seems to describe it :mudhosh:

boo hoo, big damn deal. My wife and I usually share housework. Recently when she was off her feet due to surgery for a few weeks, I took total control of the house, from laundry to cooking, to cleaning. Not just for the 2 of us but for the out of towners who visited to see us.

Is it tough, sure, but its not quite as super human as some may think. and this was done with work hours that kept me out of the house 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. most days with work brough home that I handled late night.

But I agree with Irem that it takes effort. But whenever I see ladies who have fulltime jobs and who manage their houeholds as well (with or without helpm from their husbands)..and compare them to ladies who dont work.. I wonder what these stay at home type ladies do for the 10-12 hours their husbands are out working..surely the regular running of a house is not a 10-12 hour a day job.

Mr F - thats cool…
how is bhabi now? hope she’s better inshallah
as for the ladies who stay home, it depends on them, the more they wana put into it and more time they wana spend time on it the more return they’ll get, hard work is never wasted i think
waise, unless majboori ho, i aint trusting any guys with my house-work, no sir thank you, i’d like to do it by MYself even it kills me :stuck_out_tongue:
i’ve observed mard hazraat in the kitchen and doing gharelo tasks and ive decided i dont want that happenning in my house :hehe: let me handle the housework of my house myself :hehe:

irem, please don’t take it as an offence but it is women like yourself who are the breeding grounds for useless and incompetent men found oh so abundant all over Pakistan.

Why are you so much into defining roles?. You tend to be a follower of the Sunnah-e-Rasool and yet think that men are not capable or may be ‘should not’ interfere in housework? Didn’t the Prophet :saw: stitch repair his own clothes and shoes?

And if you think men like women who won’t let them work, well sure there are plenty but I am not sure if that’s who women really want to have.

Man … I am sooooo going to change my custom title to ‘working father’ :mad:

where r the women’s rights???

u make the poor thing work at home and u want to make her work outside too???

and then they say they support women’s rights… :rolleyes:

^ the child made you work :--D

Irem, that was the case at my home as well. My ammi is also a working lady but my father never helped her out. I would never want to be in her shoes.
Fraudiya and Funguy, are there any from your specie left or its already extinct???

hahaha minerva. Let me know if you find one and preferably send him over! I'll let you know if I find two and i'll send one over :p

Ladies, learn to share. :rolleyes:

I can share anything but a butler! :p

No wonder most desi men don't ever enter the kitchen. It's name calling as such.

Oh come on you know I was just teasing you and you also know how much I admire your interest in the kitchen :kiss:

Pah, men that help out with housework are gay. Housework is a woman’s domain.

I think often women don't give enough credit to men for doing chores around the house. Instead their quick to point out how messy they are doing the chores, for instance cooking, men will cook a great meal but all you hear is how they messed up the kitchen. Not enough credit is given to them perphas because women fear that men can do a better job than them.

Instead of finding mistakes and nagging in how they do house work if you praise their efforts men will be more willing to work around the house.

This thread is moving towards a great example of how ungrateful women can be.

edit: And belle :k:

If you happen to find one send him my way Sobi. I'll send you two who have no interest in housework.

belle, your post is such a nice turn-on.

Femmo, go to any gay bar and you’ll find them in abundance :k: