Ladies Need some advice

Hi All,
I have a friend, Sarah, and she’s severely gotten depressed, she’s 26 years old, isn’t married yet. From what i know her parents are looking for her, but so far have not found anyone, they have been sending her picture and biodata and still no luck. Sarah is getting more and more depressed day by day. she works at a fortune 500 firm as an analyst and is very pretty MA. I know her from work as well as the fact that our families are friends. at work she’s bubbly, warm caring, knowledgeable, etc. but when she leaves the office, she’s quiet, doesn’t want to talk, and according to her is the ugliest girl in the world. Honestly, she freaking reminds be of katrina kaif and looks kinda like her, so i don’t understand why she feels soo ugly.
Over lunch last week, i was talking to her and asking her about this party we both are invited to on New Year’s eve, sarah told me she doesn’t want to go, when i asked her why she said, what difference does it make and then told me that lately she doesn’t want to go anywhere. yesterday, i stopped by her house and she had been crying, when i asked her if she was crying she said no she had just come from the gym (which sweat and tears are two very different things).
A while back we were looking at old photographs and i when she saw a picture of herself she told me to tear it up, and then broke down crying again. SHe’s not herself anymore. She acts it all up in the office like nothing is bothering her, but something is. Lately, she has gotten too busy to hang out with friends, complains that she’s gained some weight, and that she’s ugly. Also, any of the activites she used to enjoy like watching movies, (especially with John Abraham and Salman Khan) , dancing, going to the mall, planning trips, looking forward to desi parties, those hold no meaning to her anymore, On top of that whenever her parents say that a rishta is coming over, she says “does it matter they won’t want me.” Her mom says that she becomes her normal self when a rishta does come over, and when they dont call back like a week or two afterwards then she gets depressed again.
Sarah is the warm,caring, helpful and just bubbly, happy go lucky kinda girl. Yes mostly all of our family firned’s kids have gotten married, which leaves sarah that’s un married, and i keep telling her that she’s just has to wait, she’s get the best rishta of all of us. i don’t know what to do. I knwo she has been there for me when i needed her, and i know that 2009 has not been kind to her, she lost her grandma to cancer, and now her dad has cancer as well, but i feel like she’s loosing it.
today, when i got back from lunch i went to the bathroom and she was inside the stall crying, and when i asked her why she said it was nothing. I talked to her mom a couple days ago and her mom said she’s worried about her too, her mom’s direct words are “bachari bachi itna kaam kur re hai, Allah kab is co reward dai ga.” I know the whole reason she’s upset is because her life is upside down and that she’s not married. SHe told me at her age, she expected to be married already and by this time she was hoping shed be expecting her first child.

Guys I need help, and sorry to say it but her parents nor her believe in psychologists, so any suggestions of taking her to see one will be dismissed.

I hate to sound dramatic, but she’s living on the outside, but slowly fading on the inside. Please offer me any suggestions to bring my friend back to life, and honestly i wouldn’t care if it was anyone else, she doesn’t want to talk at all, and keeps crying, i even tried asking her to go to starbucks, and she was like noo i don’t want to get more fatter. She’s been there for me when no one else was so i need some advice.

Re: Ladies Need some advice

is getting marrying someone from Pakistan is not an option?

there are also many good guys there as well.

Is there something else going on that you don't know about? Because there are only two things I can think of:

1. Besides the whole stressful rishta process, perhaps she's experienced something else...some type of emotional trauma that is doing a number on her outlook on life and her self confidence. If that is the case, then you can only be there for her...support her, listen to her, occasionally force her out of the house for some fun and distraction, and encourage her to open up to you. Ultimately, whether or not she decides to get help for whatever problem she might have is totally up to her.

2. After years of the crazy and oftentimes demoralizing rishta process, it's just REALLY getting to her. For women who get married later in life (and by later, I mean the desi definition of later which is late 20s, early 30s), years and years of the rishta process and unfortunately, rejection, can badly impact your self esteem. Years of "oh your daughter isn't fair enough, or educated enough or slim enough, or this enough, blah blah blah blah" would make even a supermodel with a degree in astrophysics doubt her self worth. Heck, some people don't even bother calling back much less provide a really low-class excuse.

I've seen it happen to a lot of girls, including me. It is not at all unusual. The suggestions I would offer you are pretty much the same as #1 above. Be there for her. And encourage her to keep an open mind and continue meeting with potential rishtas...it won't be easy of course. There will probably be more rejections on both sides. But Inshallah, whoever Allah has in mind for her WILL come. But only at that exact moment that Allah has decreed. No earlier, no later. That's how it worked for me (and a lot of other girls), and I couldn't be happier.

Good luck to you and your friend.

did somebody mention katrina kaif ? :eek:

On a more serious note, tell your friend to chill, and have faith in herself and Allah, something will happen soon InshaAllah

2009 has not been kind to a lot of people ... trust me ... just tell your friend to not lose hope and don't get stressed over stupid rishtas if they don't have the decency to even call back then they're not worth it anwyays ... and just tell her to go out more and have fun and that'll make things easier ... and try to be there for her :)

misral-
Nope nothing else. Everyone at works loves her and respects her, and she's a star at work, i mean that in a polite way. All the elder ladies want to adopt her, our manager respects her and her opinions too. Her performance is awesome.

The only "trauma" I think really think of is how this year has done a number on her, her grandma that she was close to died in pakistan and she was here in the states, and then just as her entire family was beginning to recover from the death, her dad was hospitalized and they determined he had cancer.
Its completely possible that ur right and because of the rishta process, which seriously seems like a process for choosing a bakra versus a wife, is why she's upset. I guess i was lucky and was married at the age of 25 i am 28 now, and i only had a couple of rejects.
Kaun- everyone says she looks like kat, but honestly she's got the grace and beauty of her own. Zobia- I don' know if she's interested in anyone from pakistan.

Guys thank you for your help, any suggestions on how to get her out again.. because everytime i ask - she says she's busy... with what God only knows. i just asked her if she wanted to get some starbucks and she said she can't because she wants to loose weight, then she said maybe someone will like be then.. I feel sooo bad for her.

So true.

Also, it just might be because of the cancer diagnoses and death she's been dealing with.

To know your dad might die soon, and then it'll be on you and you are single and all alone and having to manage the load of a family.

It's pretty nerve wrecking, and not something, fortunately, a lot of girls have to go through. But those of us who are single and managing the prospect of eventually handling parents and siblings on our own shoulders while we're alone emotionally, is fairly consuming.

I can relate a lot to her, but what can you do?

Just be there for her as a friend. It always helps to have friends. And if you know some nice guys, introduce her around. Help her out, if finding a partner is going to make her happy.

You're a great friend chicagoin. :)

I totally agree with mistral here.

Either something has happened that you dont know about or this whole process is catching up to her and taking a toll on her health.

I would continue to try and bring her out of her shell. If she doesnt want to go to a party, bring the party to her sometimes. Sooner or later, she will come back but it will take work from your part as her friend. Dont let her go. :)

Maybe a counselor can meet her in a more casual manner? Do you think its possible for someone to see her in a non-office type setting so she feels comfortable talking?

Do you know of any eligible men you could introduce her to? Also, sometimes the rishta process is easier for some and not so easy for some. I barely ever got upset if someone didnt call back. Some people though, really take it to heart. Maybe her mom can try to make sure there is interest before bringing these guys home?

Oh and introduce her to some white men.

It'd be a good change for her to see that there are some wonderful people out there.

marriage, a means to an end. :smack:

maybe you can introduce her to a nice guy (for example a friend of your husband )

Chica why don't you find someone for her? Where does your friend live?

That's probably it right there. Your friend's story is a lot like mine - except for the Katrina Kaif part...I wish! ;)

I lost two people in one year when I was around your friend's age. People I thought were friends to me and my family showed their true colors, and those colors weren't pretty. My mother was inconsolable and I felt like a massive weight was crushing me. I had a ton of responsibilities suddenly thrust on me and didn't even have time to cry, though I wanted to badly. And on top of that, I had to put up with some massive idiocy in the form of rishtas coming from people who clearly had no idea how to act with tact and wouldn't know courteous behavior if it bit them in the you know where. If I dared have an off day and acted grumpy and temperamental, heaven help me because how dare I inconvenience others? So I had to paste a smile on my face and act "fine" so others wouldn't feel uncomfortable. And then I met this man...that is, Allah blessed me with him. And the rest, as they say, is history.

She will get through this, Inshallah. Talk to her, support her, and keep going back for round 2 even if she has her bad days (and she will). If she makes an excuse as to why she can't go to Starbucks, let it go and come back to fight another day...this time perhaps with an offer of a healthier Starbucks drink (something with soy milk or lowfat milk perhaps)? And whoever her "one" is...he's on his way. Promise. All she has to do in the meantime is continue living her life in a healthy and positive way.

Yeah, and if she forgets to live her life and be healthy and good to herself, it's going to make it even more harder for someone to like her. Men don't want basketcases. They want women who can take care of themselves emotionally and aren't too much trouble. It does get lonely, but then hey. Get her to go on some dates. Those can be fun. Or go out with girlfriends and just *&ch about men. I love those sessions. We girls get together and do that a couple of times a year. Any girl who gets engaged, is then subsequently kicked out of the group.

Oh - forgot to mention it. There are no real strategies for this whole getting your friend to live her life project. I can't give you a guidebook. All I can tell you is DON'T GO AWAY. If she acts grumpy or says something dumb to you - don't take it personally and not call her or see her again. If she's not talking, don't YOU stop talking.

Don't leave. Keep going back for more punishment.

That's what my friends did during that tough year. If I snapped and lashed out. They would simply say goodbye and come back another day. If I was sullen and quiet...they kept on talking cheerfully. They kept coming back with huge smiles on their faces and increased arm strength from dragging me out of the house.

Because that's what friends do. Any idiot can stick around when everything is sunshine and roses. A true friend holds on to you when things get dark.

You seem like a true friend. Just keep doing what you're doing.

Then they aren't worth it. I am a pretty positive and happy person. But I have my off days, days when I am "too much trouble," just like everyone else in the world. Those days, I do need someone to take care of me. And my husband does the job admirably.

I do the same for him when he's having a tough time with something.

So it's worth waiting for someone who will stick with you and support you in bad times and good.

hi guys,

thanks for all your help. to answer a couple of questions, we both live in IL, i don't know many people here since i am originally from Houston, TX and moved up here when i got married. Also, my husband's friends, all of them are married, except one guy, he's in a relationship, and are much older, my hubby is 35, so i figure that might be a little old for her. I took everyone's advice and yesterday tried to get her out to get some starbucks, we both used to schedule one day a week where we would meet for starbucks and just talk, i can't tell you the last time we even did that. I called her yesterday, she told me she had to go to the gym, (which is another issue all on its own) she's not skinny skinny but pretty slim, i dun't understand why she needs to go to the gym. Anyways, told her to call me once she's done with the workout, she didn't call- so i went to her house yesterday (my hubby is working on a project in dc) so i was all alone and bored, and am really worried. went to her house yesterday, asked her why she didn't call, she said she had forgotten. anyways, she had been crying (i could tell) and i asked her what was wrong, she said everything, felt like her life is a mess, etc. SHe told me also that when her grandma died, one of her best friends from h.s called her and told her she was pregnant the EXACT day her grandma died, and my friend was like ohh that's great and not really upbeat. Anyways that friendship ended on a sour note, because the other girl (who was gori) was extremely pissed off that my friend did not jump for joy on her pregnancy... (i have my own thoughts about this gori "friend" of hers but i won't say anything.. let's just say they are not polite) Yesterday my friend had called another friend of hers (she has many of the same friends since high school) and she girl also is friends with the gori girl, and my firned was like i dunt get it, why do i feel sooo alone. She told me this crying and told me about everything that's been going on, honestly guys, I don't know what to do- sadly as i was telling my husband last night the only way i see to solve this is to find her a guy, but i dunt even know how to begin to do that. I called my mom yesterday, and ask her if she knew any matchmaking aunties, and she doesn't.
I just feel soooo bad for her.. mistral...her story i feel is exactly like urs.. .

any suggestions?

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/318498-looking-rishtas-post-here.html

This might help .

what PCG said.

Chicagoin, I believe the core issue is her dad fighting cancer , that it self can take a toll on alot of people ... and then on top of this , she is having to deal with rishta freaks ..

whats her mom like? could it be that her family might be contributing to her stress by pressurizing her or talking about her marriage quite often? Mothers do not do it intentionally, sometimes they are just discussing things , but the person can feel alienated and can feel "held responsible for" letting down family etc ...

If so , ask her mother and family to take a relaxed attitude ...

Secondly, please encourage Sarah to come out of the shell and start her own search as well .. once she gets talking to the right people , she will feel empowered to reject or accept proposals , this will give her the energy to look at the rishta process abit more enthusiastically and positively.

The options can be various matrimonial websites ... they are full of trash , but some good people are on there as well .. some of my best buddies found their husbands on them and are mashallah so so happy in their lives... you can give that a shot as well ...

I wish her all the best, may 2010 prove to be a blessed year for her and her family inshallah.