ladies clothes and cleaning

so ladies…how often do you clean your fancy clothes you know the stuff with embroidery and what nots?

I mean they are not machine washable, dunno if drycleaning is possible…

so do u guys walk around is clothes that have ben worn but have not been washed in ages?

gandi ladies…chi chi chi…

Re: ladies clothes and cleaning

actually this thread may even need to be in health section..:p

Ladies fancy clothes can be dry cleaned just like all those glittery evening gowns and fancy wedding dresses can be, just dont give it to your local friendly oriental laundry cleaning guy who is runiing 99 cents special for dry cleaning.

X2 you are spending too much time in the ladies section of your community potlucks, it looks like

TLK- :eek: toh should I be in the mens section checking them out? kaisi bay hooda batein kartay ho..

PS: btw I dont know how often ladies actually take advantage of dry cleaning. The over use of perfume at desi events is masking not just the stale sweat odour, but a bigger problem. us men should stage an intervention

i don't get em cleaned cz i don't wear em :(

lol, ask ur begham X2... ap ko kya parashaani, kahin apko saaf tou nahi kernay parh rahay kapray.

Okay be in ladies section but for god sake, stop smelling them cause that sounds so rude :stuck_out_tongue:

ummm hmmm diverting the topic and nor answering the question.
that is answer enough for me

PS: :nono: safai nisf iman hai

I have messed up some of my really expensive formal wears by dipping it in water! :bummer:
They have shrunk and the color smudged - and it was not wearable again :teary1::teary1::naraz:

My lessons learned: Since all the fancy clothes cannot be hand washed nor machine washed - either give it for dry cleaning or steam iron your clothes when you are ready to put them back. It has worked for me.

you really have to work with drycleaners who know this stuff, while drycleaning would not shrink the fabric and all but i have seen cases where colour was impacted or some of the gota type stuff lost its shine or other jagmag thingies fell off. all of a sudden you have a tiedye effect :)

its not just with desi clothes but gowns get dmaged in drycleaning as well.

Same issue with Men's Shalwar Kameez .. you have to be as careful with them

your shalwar qameez are similar to ladies gharara sharara and banarsi saaris?
aap qawaal hain kya?

i guess im lucky my local dry cleaner is good at wat he does:D
but once i tried washin my clothes myself, the trousers became all baggy and wierd but thankfully they were plain, so then i went running to my dry cleaners and asked him if he could dry clean the kameez for me in one day.

I have a cleaner I go to for all such things. He is in the suburbs but knows how to handle desi kaam so I trust him with my clothes. I usually only wear them a couple of times before they go for cleaning...I cant seem to keep my clothes spotless for too long. No matter how expensive it is, there is always a stain somewhere by the end of the night so dry cleaning is a must.

PSQ where in the burbs?
always good to know.
we knew a good cleaner in deerfield and they specialized in gowns, but ownership changed and the quality has gone down quite a bit.

OMG. Count on X2 to ask these questions. :rotfl:

Okay so for my fancy clothes, dupattas are almost never washed. If Shalwar is plain then handwashed at home after wearing them twice or may be thrice. If it’s not plain or easily handwashed then washed when the kameez is. Rules for cleaning the kameez’s are as following Kameez’s are only sent for dry cleaning and if: a) they smell of sweat, perfume, or curry, or a mixture of all of the above and/or b) if they get stained, food, water stains on silk, etc.

But I should add, clothes like this are not really worn over and over again. Most fancy clothes are only worn 3 or 4 times. Sometimes, it’s not even worth washing them. Sounds really gross I know but it’s true.

I gave a silk heavy embroidered suit a dry cleaners in pakistan to clean bcos it had fanta spilt on it. It came back steam ironed but NOT AT ALL CLEANED! The dry cleaner pulled a fast one and didn't even attempt to clean it. One was NOT amused.

BTW, i now handwash my silk / embroidered stuff using this liquid wash specially made for silk, haven't had any problems with it so far.

Very heavy embroidered suits are dry cleaned before the next wear ONLY if they have a stain on or the painche of the shalwar are dirty - which they do get here in the UK weather!!!!

Those clothes not too heavy, I use these tumble dry 'Dry Cleaning' sheets and use those washing nets. Each item goes in separately and the duppata is never washed unless it's white/cream in which case same for that

Single colour stuff I tend to wash on handwash cycle in the washing machine - again int he nets and on their own. I know a lot of people say a waste of money but it saves the clothes!!!!!

Not all dry cleaners can get stains out here as they don't know how to handle the kaam on the clothes. I have a gorgeous shalwar kameez from my BIL's wedding last year that is 2 shades of green and the kameez has mehndi all over the front thanks to some over excited auntie at the mehndi...took it to 3 different dry cleaners and they charged me around £15 each time but said that they would only try it on the mildest clean treatment...it's never got cleaned!!!!!!!
I am thinking of putting it in the washing machine.....hmmmmm - it's gorgoeus and cost me over £150 ish to buy!!!

Anyway, that's me.....
I know a lot of people (my SIL included) who don't ever have these outfits dry cleaned as they don't wear them that often.............but the clothes end up smelling stale as they are folded away and put in wardrobes straight after being worn!

I use Dryel from time to time at home, its a steam cleaning kit for delicate clothes, silks, cashmeres etc. it works great! even comes with a spot remover, u just pop it in the dryer with the accompanying bag and cleansing cloth for 30 mins, steam takes out odors, pre-treated stains and smells awesome. great way to maintain expensive clothes.