ladies clothes and cleaning

I mean they are not machine washable, dunno if drycleaning is possible

I either dry clean them or wash by hand
How often depends on how often they are worn. Sometimes you just wear it for like 3 hours, you dont need to send it to the cleaners just for that

ewwww, desi ladies dont wash dupattas..man.
now I can understand clothes not being washed after every time you wear them, especially with climate control stuff..
but man, i pakistan when it boiling, ppl sweat and dunn the clothes get all funky smelling and all?

Re: ladies clothes and cleaning

The guy is aaaaaaall the way out in Glendale Heights X2! Its a hike and he has a tiny little shop but the quality is pretty good. I found him through a friend who dry cleaned an outfit of mine after I loaned it to her. They're on the corner of Swift rd and Army Trail rd and they're called Swift Rd Cleaners.

I dont mind the drive because we spend so much money on our clothes...better to be safe then sorry! :)

Dont take a very expensive outfit on your first try. Take a simple outfit and see how you like his work.

i gave my suit to best drycleaners and still they ruined it :cb: but acha hi hua i was never going to wear it anyways it was scary :hehe:

Amazing thing is I have never gotten any dry cleaned ..yet..:hmmm:…The heavy outfits are worn sparingly and only for a little while so I have assumed they don’t need cleaning that often…just aired and put back in.(I do keep my heavy ones in plastic bags..the clear ones and in a suitcase.
Waise bhi with the change of fashion etc..I just have been getting new ones.

hmmmm that was when you were in the civilized weather of chicago. in hickville with its 100 degree weather ppl sweat..even if they are outdoors for 10 minutes. and if the car has ac blasting already and you dart from hotel to car its fine, but damn man..my most miserable time was at a wedding when there was ruqsatti and I had to stand around and the aunties would not stop their rona dhoana dn it was impolite of me to just go stand on a side where there was a breeze and have a smoke...

anyways...airing is not enough..otherwise I would be airing my tighty whities and getting away with it...know what I mean mate?

One drycleaner ruined the sitaary on my shalwar qameez and ironed it all wrong :mad:

The trick is to find a desi drycleaner. Another thing is to soak your delicates (minus silk and crepe or really heavy kaam waaley kaprey) in a gentle detergent for a few mins and rinse in cool water. Dry it flat.

But yes, I have seen sweat marks spread in crucial areas of aunties sari blouses and oil stains on other desi outfits so they do need to be taken care of because perfume + sweat is totally uncool.

Since they're FANCY CLOTHES, you wouldn't wear them ALL the time, so they tend to be well-preserved.

If it looks clean and smells clean and you only wore it once/twice before, it doesn't really require a washing unless its got stains/odors, etc. Other than that, you send the delicate embroidered parts to get dry cleaned and wash the rest at home.

Totally uncool indeed.

I guess what it comes down to is a person’s own hygiene and maintenance. Women who shower everyday and use deoderants (sp?), remove underarm hair regularly and handle curry at weddings/special events can easily wear an outfit for a few hours and get away without washing it.

Other women can’t afford to do that - it’s all a matter of them realising that.

^ I agree with that. It has a lot to do with hygiene and how much abuse the clothes suffer.

hmmmm why would handling curry decrease sweat?

desis and hygiene is a separate topic and one i got beaten up on the last time i has started. but will do again.