Krishna, Radha, Hanuman re-installed in Lahore

Good to see that Jinnah’s dream of every person free to practice their own religion in Pakistan is becoming a reality.

Krishna, Radha, Hanuman re-installed in Lahore

Hindu shrines are being restored and repaired and idols are being installed at some of the temples in Pakistan for the first time since subcontinent’s partition in 1947.

Thanks to the current thaw between the two neighbours, idols of Hindu deities Krishna, Radha and Hanuman have been installed at the Krishna Mandir in the city that had been bereft of idols for the past 59 years.

Lahore’s Hindu community marked the occasion with a ceremony to show their joy.

The re-installation ceremony was performed by Pundit Vinay Kumar Bhiraghi.

A Hindu delegation from India, which first worshipped at the ancient Katas Raj temple in Chakwal district of Punjab, carried idols with them for the Krishna Mandir.

The temple not only has idols from India, but a team of Punjab’s Archaeological Department also toured India to learn techniques in restoration and conservation.

Lahore Balmik Association secretary general Manohar Chand told Daily Times Tuesday that the idols of the three deities had been brought to Pakistan at the request of Baba Devender Kumar Ghai. Founder-president of the Anglo-Asian Friendship Society (UK), Ghai had visited Pakistan last year.

Thanking the Pakistan government, Manohar Chand said the installation was important because there had been no idols of the three gods in the city since partition.

Earlier, the worship last Saturday at the Katas Raj temple complex, which is mentioned in the Puranas (the ancient Hindu scriptures), also marked a first worship performed at this temple since partition. It coincided with Mahashivratri, the Hindu festival dedicated to Lord Shiva.

Re: Krishna, Radha, Hanuman re-installed in Lahore

So who says that Hindus and Muslims cannot live at peace with each other. This is a right step in right direction.

good first step, i hope that govt. provides security for these sites.

Cool.. Does anyone know what exactly was happening in Katas and how many people attended and who etc?

Atlast something good for hindu Pakistanis.

Thats my pakistan :hugz:

So while musharaff and his moderately enlightened goons are tearing down mosques, he is employing the states money to build idols and spread shirk? Have I got the jist of the situation? Comprehension isn't my forte.

What a sad day, Jinnah would be rolling in his grave.

How is this spreading shirk when they had to invite Hindus from India to worship? Islam allows other religions to worship their religions. Check into it.

its only right to preserve hindu historical sites. this is leading by example.

the government is looking also to indian tourism.

ehsan bhai
good to see this news
but don’t know why hanuman in krishna mandir:confused:

Do I need say more.

its very good news. and thanks to all persons responsible for it.

in india too name can be ram temple or krishna mandir but can have idols of others too

Generally Ram, Lakhshman and Sita are at one place in the temple and Hanuman sitting at their feet.
Hanuman also have dedicated temples for it.
*Lord Krishna and Radha at one place. *
Depending upon how big the temple complex is all of them can be accommodated without any political rivalry. :slight_smile:

Good stuff.

When has it been bad for them...They are ubiqutous in the judicial circles of Karachi from Judges to adovactes, they get go to all the best colleges in Karachi, have some of the best clinics, are part of show biz elite...Heck in some parts of interior sindh you can't even slaughter cows...

Really?

Shame that. Nothing beats a nice burger.

Hindus have lived happily in Muslim majority areas for hundreds of years when we ruled South-Asia but shame Muslims can’t practice their faith properly when living amongst and being ruled by majority Hindus, instead they have to comprimise (e.g. participate in Hindu traditions or get called extremist, no Qurbani: I know that’s not law but from what I’ve been told by Gujjis the Hindus make it hard enough so much so that they fear for their lives).. Where as in Muslim majority areas Hindus are allowed to practice their faith even if it discriminates against us (e.g. Hindu shopkeepers to this day in Sindh do not allow Muslims to drink water out of their Gharra/Clay-Pot because they consider Muslims filthy, this is nothing new but was the case ever since my granparents were kids, if a Hindu happened to give a Muslim a drink he would tell the Muslim to pour the water into his mouth instead of sip so as not to have his lips touch it, they also didn’t eat anything touched by a Muslim)…

They’ve always been allowed to practice their religion freely but don’t mean we turn our cities into Temples.. God forbid next we’ll be setting up idols on roundabouts.. My great-grandfather being the head of our village protected the Hindus and Sikhs and their Dharamsaals but today we can’t go on setting up temples everywhere after what has happened to Baabri Masjid, she lays in ruins and her bricks are calling out to the Muslims and here we are setting up mute deaf, blind and mute idols for those that destroyed her? :teary1:

What happend to “Mere shehron pe saaya hai Qur’aan ka, meri sarhad pe pehraa hai Emaan ka”? :frowning:

Yeah right. Mosque in Islamabad was razed to ground and temple in Lahore erected. Hari kershina hari ram.

Pakis ka na koi deen hay na imaan

Look at nonsense praise for this stupid action of the government. In the eyes of the world Pakis are still breading terrorists in the shape of Taliban and Alqaida. This would not make any difference. Apnay Aap ko chootia banana hay.

FARID

So it is Islamic to take land that does not belong to you? Is it islamic to hold a library with weapons?

IS IT ISLAMIC?

NO! The CDA legally can tear down those "mosques" to the ground.

The mosque that was razed in Islamabad was ILLEGALY constructed, so govt had every right to knock it down... Whatever, the govt from what I have heard is rebuilding it so all those crying and shouting over that can rest assured, the govt has no intention of upseting you.