So today, KPK Assembly elects first ever (yes first ever) female deputy speaker - PTI’s Dr Taj Mehar Roghani. Well done Taliban Khan! We need more female representation in the House.
The sad part is, the so called ‘liberals’ and champions of minority rights and thakeydaar of tolerance will never ever give due credit to KPK government for bringing the ‘change’ in the way minorities were treated. This just shows how deeply politicised, hypocritical and insincere their narrative of tolerance is. Some of the initiatives like this are absolutely historic, yet no coverage.
Yes all these news are from a province once seen as home to religious extremism and violence…
Can we not call him Taliban khan? Taliban wouldn't have married Rehm Khan. They would have whipped her and maybe cut her head off for wearing colorful shalwaar kameez.
If someone like Imran Khan is a Taliban, then let's just say we need more and more and lot more Taliban in the country. Those pseudo liberals can really piss off their rhetoric against religious extremism.
Can we not call him Taliban khan? Taliban wouldn't have married Rehm Khan. They would have whipped her and maybe cut her head off for wearing colorful shalwaar kameez.
I guess then he should be Munafiq Khan! :D
Btw, saudis also elected local women representatives, so I guess that they are the epitome of liberalism that David Cameron should learn something from ? ;)
If your definition of liberalism is that then go ahead call Saudi "an epitome of liberalism". Liberal/liberalism....is the most abused and misunderstood words amongst desis anyway.
For most normal peeps, these are just historic and much needed steps which will hopefully trigger a wider change.
Well you were the one who was pointing fingers at us. Chalo khair..
I hope that the 4 culprits are caught who raped a polio worker; she said that her police neighbor had warned / threatened her that militants would do something to her as she is taking haram money from jewish agents. I was hoping to see AP make a thread about it already on the forum.
Well you were the one who was pointing fingers at us. Chalo khair..
I hope that the 4 culprits are caught who raped a polio worker; she said that her police neighbor had warned / threatened her that militants would do something to her as she is taking** haram money from jewish agents**. I was hoping to see AP make a thread about it already on the forum.
I pointed at hypocrisy and insincerity of desi liberals who cry lurid and hoarse on religious intolerance and lack of government initiatives, but conveniently fail to give credit to KPK government taking the rights steps due to political prejudice and the fact their propaganda of Taliban Khan as fallen flat on its arse. I bet deep inside they are disappointed that KPK didn't go to the dogs as they predicted.
As with bold, KPK has a long long way to go before it could totally eliminate such mentality. A vigorous investment in education today will bear the fruits in next 10-15 years time.
I sincerely hope they catch the culprits and bring them to justice. The KPK government was doing so well with their polio campaign, and female workers were an integral part of the movement.
I don't know about everyone else, but probably a lot of Pakistanis and others disagree with imran's sympathies with the Taliban. He keeps talking about negotiating with them and deploying the army (and I assume FC since they are part of army as of now) out of FATA for people who don't even accept the constitution of Pakistan. His brown sahib rants in the past were amusing considering the kind of women he ends up marrying himself. There is nothing hypocritical in judging a leader; it is like giving Trump a clean pass just because he isn't from Washington and hasn't been a disappointment yet.
The point is you can disagree with his policies all you want, but if you go around calling him a Taliban, you are effectively trivialising extremism and violence, for sake of political prejudice. If people like Imran are Taliban, then expect an average Joe to see liberalism as nothing but political motivated BS propaganda.
Seriously, why should an average Pakistani take all those rhetoric against religious extremism and violence seriously when you tell him that Imran Khan is a Taliban? He definitely won't take it seriously.
People who genuinely want to see Pakistan taking steps to bring minorities' right under government's stamp would appreciate KPK, and encourage the efforts and give them a credit. Regardless of political affiliations.
People who only use bhashan of secularism, tolerance and minorities as fancy political discussion won't really acknowledge these things because it goes against their agendas - it's just considered more intellectual to criticise and paint a picture of doom and gloom.
Anyway. As a Pakistani who want to see all kinds of equality in Pakistan is really happy to see these historic initiatives from KPK - all the very best to them, may they continue to take steps in the right direction.
Those who have massive chip on their shoulders with 'he said she said' politics with Imran will never give KPK government the due credit. But I hope the locals in KPK respect the spirit behind these initiatives and make KPK a truly harmonious place with equality and tolerance for all.
One my friend...who frequently visits..KPK..was telling me..there has been lot of change. Although slow..but surely..medical, policing and government services has improved. Big one is..when they went to report something in police station. Police staff were very friendly and their case was looked into within week with resolution.
PPL of KPK goto police stations ... I believe they settle score by them self ..
The whole Taliban Khan thing gets annoying at times. Main criticism is due to IK pushing for the talks route with the TTP. TBF to him the army did the same as did the PMLN, ANP and PPP.
In terms of KP, I can say with some authority there has been a relative improvement. Not hard to do considering the province was virtually at war and under constant attack, not helped by incompetent governance.
KPK government had set up Alternate Dispute Resolution Councils (Jirgas) for people who don’t like to take their family matters or community disputes to the police stations. But yes, people of KPK do go to the police stations to report various other crimes.
Here’s some more information about KPK Dispute Resolution Councils:
The number of FIR for minor cases will go up as referral to Dispute Resolution Council (DRC) is done via police station. That's why KPK police is getting a lot of general public praise as people who otherwise hated going to police stations are now accessing it for DRC.
It's the TTP terrorists that started the trend of killing Jirga members otherwise according to Pakhtoonwali code, it is unthinkable to harm the jirga members no matter which way the decision goes. DRC has been running just over 1.5 years, and so far no unfortunate incident has surfaced.