First thing first, let’s hope that this poor thread doesn’t get spilt into two different ‘rebuttal’ threads. For a change, it’d be nice if some people can stick to the topic, and not derail the thread with their characteristically wasted and hoary mudslinging and negative campaign.
Moving on. This is a very commendable step indeed. I hope people keep a check on these developments and PTI delivers. KPK, just like other provinces and areas, is in dire need for some major breakthrough in development sector. These are certainly very interesting and vital projects that’ll play a significant role in boosting local morale and self confidence, and of course economic and social efficiency There seems to be a healthy competition going on between KPK and Punjab, and I for one think Pakistanis should be quite pleased about it, and in fact, fully appreciate it. I mean why not? It’s good for democracy. It’s good for Pakistan.
On one hand the confused party is criticizing the Islamabad metro Bus and wanted the federal government to spend 4 billion on the project instead of budgeted 28billion. In Islamabad they think spending on Bus transport for poor commuters is a wastage of national resources. On the other hand they want to spend 63 billion rupees on a replica project in Peshawar.
In Lahore it’s the pathetic jungla bus.. while in Peshawar it will be a symbol of PTI’s achievements (if completed)..
Frankly speaking.. PTI has stopped making any sense. It seems they are really afraid of giving the present government a complete tenure. They are afraid that if all the planned projects get executed.. their chances at electoral politics based on performance will be bleak. At present their performance in KPK is far from being satisfactory.
If the elections are held after 5 years.. people will judge them for their performance in KPK.. the agitational politics will not rescue them in next election.
It seems the leader of PTI spends most of his time planning the next dharna or agitation instead of governance in KPK. The hands on approach towards work is totally missing.
Peshawar project quote is for a metro train and bus service, combined. Secondly, it will be investor funded, not taxpayer funded. It will not be built on the whims of a king or prince as in Punjab. It will be built based on proper feasibility studies.
As for Islamabad, the government’s motives are pretty clear in the way they have conducted the project. Islamabad citizens have largely resisted the scope of the project. Yet the govt started work on it even before EPA approval. The fact that a person like Hanif Abbasi has been left in charge of the Pindi side solely to prop him back up politically is shameless to say the least.
Peshawar project quote is for a metro train and bus service, combined. Secondly, it will be investor funded, not taxpayer funded. It will not be built on the whims of a king or prince as in Punjab. It will be built based on proper feasibility studies.
As for Islamabad, the government's motives are pretty clear in the way they have conducted the project. Islamabad citizens have largely resisted the scope of the project. Yet the govt started work on it even before EPA approval. The fact that a person like Hanif Abbasi has been left in charge of the Pindi side solely to prop him back up politically is shameless to say the least.
At present I trust Shahbaz Sharif's execution record for completing projects on time within budget. I don't know who is Hanif Abassi and to what extent his role is in the project.. I'll trust Shahbaz Sharif.
PTI has to show.. for the time being it's only talk talk..
Every project in the world is criticized by the political opponents.. Pindi-Islamabad metro bus is no different. I remember when Lahore Metro Bus was under construction.. everyone including PTI were calling it waste of funds on Jungla Bus. People who use this facility have all the praise for it now. The buses have been doubled within one year and they are running all full.
I hope PTI will also perform in KPK.. but looking at the first one year.. they have to improve their governance capacity a lot. It seems no one is paying attention to this.. most of their time is spent planning agitation and dharnas for the time being.
.. everyone including PTI were calling it waste of funds on Jungla Bus. People who use this facility have all the praise for it now. The buses have been doubled within one year and they are running all full.
I hope PTI will also perform in KPK.. but looking at the first one year.. they have to improve their governance capacity a lot. It seems no one is paying attention to this.. most of their time is spent planning agitation and dharnas for the time being.
A core difference is in the way PTI and PMLN think on how to proceed with governance, and what matters get priority.
PMLN believes in Bush style economics, where you spend your way to 'prosperity', even if you have to borrow through your teeth in order to accomplish that. Tax the poor, and tax-break the rich. That is possible only if the Sharif family has an autocratic hold on power, and has the ability to make unilateral decisions. (Even police doesnt arrest murderers/rapists unless Shahbaz Sharif 'instructs' them to.
PTI believes in setting up organizations and institutions. Police, judiciary, education and health reforms in KPK have been admitted to even by PTI's staunchest critics.
Now its up to the public to decide in the next elections whether they are happier with a metro bus, or with the fact that they dont have to bribe 10 people before getting a small job done.
Infrastructure development is one thing, but working on improving the systems is another.
Some things that Pti has done in KPK during the past one year include depoliticizing the police, sehat ka insaf program and initiatives to improve schools and schooling of kids. The most important aspect would be to deliver governance to the grass root level (local government system). That's PTIs promise and would be the main difference of kpk with other provinces. Urgency is needed in this. Systems should be strong and not dependent on individuals.
Its strange that when Nawaz Sharif was leading the long march or Shahbaz Sharif playing the Punjab card and threatening to drag Zardari on the streets, no one alleged that the two brothers are trying to topple the previous government. Somehow it seems as if PMLN government is very fickle as compared to the previous one. If the government falls at some stage it would be due to the attitude of the two brothers themselves.
PML-N is following the formula that works like a charm in Pakistan. Print, borrow or steal the money, but put it in the right areas which are roads, bridges and underpasses, without giving a damn if one bed in your hospitals is shared by three patients at a time. Clean drinking water is the last priority and cheap electricity is not needed at all. This government has already broken the record of printing currency and international borrowing. They have every single priority placed wrong yet they walk away with the best marks from the media because there are roads, bridges and Metros. No one can underrate the importance of infrastructure, but I would prefer large, operational healthcare system and clean drinking water over Metro bus or train.
At present I trust Shahbaz Sharif's execution record for completing projects on time within budget. I don't know who is Hanif Abassi and to what extent his role is in the project.. I'll trust Shahbaz Sharif.
Every project in the world is criticized by the political opponents.. Pindi-Islamabad metro bus is no different. I remember when Lahore Metro Bus was under construction.. everyone including PTI were calling it waste of funds on Jungla Bus. People who use this facility have all the praise for it now. The buses have been doubled within one year and they are running all full.
interesting thing the hospital projects have been stopped by pml n instead spending money on metro bus now where should patients go, they should lay down in metro bus I guess.....
I think you have not watched shows by kashif abbassi and javed chaudry they went to kpk n asked ppl there, most of the ppl were satisfied and happy wth pti
Good for you if you can trust Shahbaz Sharif at this stage. I see nothing ground breaking in your claim. He's the longest serving CM of Punjab and unlike PTI rookies, he's in his 7th consecutive year of Chief Ministership of Punjab. So am pleased to see peeps can put some trust in him after all and can identify accomplishments, after all, he had ample time to prove himself. Right?
For now, you are unnecessarily drawing a very redundant comparison between PTI's one year in coalition performance in a war torn and fundamentally tribal province to Sharif's seven year hold on historically most prosperous and stable province. But that's okay, it's part of politics. However, it has to be said, this is the same PTI that wasn't even expected to take on some Punjab style development projects, now that they have, they are obviously not expected to finish them on time and with style al la Khadim e Ala style. So damned if you do, damned if you don't.
Honestly, four years is a long time to complete any major development work, let alone minor ones. I don't understand why Pakistani have already got their stopwatches out. I mean why? it clearly ain't over over till the lady says sings.
I told you this way before the great Jalsa of Lahore, To me it stopped making sense the day the party leadership sent messages to collect fund for “Sunday kay Sunday Funday in ISB” against drone attacks whilst during the same time, Karachi witnessed the worst killings from MQM, ANP, SI, Liyari Gangs and other groups…
I told this forum that time that this guy is nothing but talk, talk and talk..
Just a reminder to him and his fellows,
Elimination of corruption in 90 and 9 nine days? it has been 300+ days, what is IK’s stance on it today??? he fired two QWP MPAs, but never dare to file a case against them, yet they have filed a defamation case against IK… If these two MPAs were fired on corruption charges, why they are not behind the bar or facing legal process or have returned the looted money??? or IK is going to tell us that he have personal guarantee written to him from these guys???
Holding Local bodies election in 90 days? what happened here??? yeah blame it on ECP.. there you go, see how easy it is…
Sehat ka Insaf or Insaf key Sehat, dozens of kids have been died because of the KHASRA-VACCINATION program, nor the minister resigned nor anyone was found guilty, while the kids are on death bed, IK enjoying holidays with his kids in London.. isn’t that great Change??? oh no, we have seen example of this behavior from Asif Zardari and Nawaz Sharif…
Law an Order Situation, it is all time worst, they say Police have been De-politicized, and now you cannot do business without paying BHATTA, you cannot travel between cities nor within Peshawar. My Mother is from this city, i remember peaceful and fearful Peshawar but what the situation is now, was never seen before, even a Judge of Peshawar High Court has to say that we need to improve the law and order situation and won’t let city turned into another Karachi.. situation was relatively better in ANP days, yes TTP was there… blasts were there but atleast extortion was not that common.. i guess, as long people in the govt are benefiting from this crime, it is all OK..
Do i need to say more… i believe most of PTI warriors won’t be able to read till the 3rd line of this post…
Good for you if you can trust Shahbaz Sharif at this stage. .
The trust came when he stood with us during the worst Dengue Epidemic and the leader of revolution was in London and never entered the city till the epidemic was controlled by none other then the CM of Punjab, Shahbaz Sharif, he was there doing whatever possible on war-grounds to eliminate it... IK was in London i guess, putting out his book, which has map of Pakistan showing Kashmir part of India...
the worst floods of 2010, our CM Shahbaz Sharif again was on ground with affected people doing whatever possible and he delivered again, Punjab is the only province which managed to re-locate the affected people and built model villages with help of Turkey and Saudi, and where was leader of Change, getting donation collected and saying that he would be sending alot of supplies and medicines to affected areas and shall be building the model villages, on this note, as per his own claim, he was able to collect Rs 2 billion... so far, no one have seen any model villages and the 700 truck carvan has yet to reach any affected area...
People remember who stood with them in their worst times and who ran away to meet his kids in UK
BTW, Yazdi was PTI supporter and not an aira ghair arm chair warrior, he personally met IK and was persuaded to join PTI by IK after the Lahore Jalsa... he did join them and i believe he have provided/helped IK to collect big donations from the business community through his own influence... till the election 2013, he was very much supporter of IK and PTI... one year down the road, I see him criticizing PTI... food for thought...
^ he was and is CM of Punjab it was his responsibility koi ehsaan nhi kya, IK was not in government or opposition tu who jahn bhi ho kisi ko issue nhi hona chahye.
^ he was and is CM of Punjab it was his responsibility** koi ehsaan nhi kya**, IK was not in government or opposition tu who jahn bhi ho kisi ko issue nhi hona chahye.
1st thing 1st, One who is not grateful to the man for his good deed, is the one who is not Thankful to All Mighty...
True, then don't come to us for vote... (BTW any clue of 2 Billion Rupees, any model village built by IK, i have been asking for the audit report from my days in PTI... 4 years down the road no clue... may be you know about it)
anyway, where is CM of KPK, children are dying because of the vaccination, scores have died in few days... i know, CM thought since IK is in London, he don't have to report to Bani Gala hence he can visit Nathiya Gali... hence enjoying.. bachooN ka kiya hay, woh tu martay hi rehtay haiN...
The trust came when he stood with us during the worst Dengue Epidemic and the leader of revolution was in London and never entered the city till the epidemic was controlled by none other then the CM of Punjab, Shahbaz Sharif, he was there doing whatever possible on war-grounds to eliminate it... IK was in London i guess, putting out his book, which has map of Pakistan showing Kashmir part of India...
the worst floods of 2010, our CM Shahbaz Sharif again was on ground with affected people doing whatever possible and he delivered again, Punjab is the only province which managed to re-locate the affected people and built model villages with help of Turkey and Saudi, and where was leader of Change, getting donation collected and saying that he would be sending alot of supplies and medicines to affected areas and shall be building the model villages, on this note, as per his own claim, he was able to collect Rs 2 billion... so far, no one have seen any model villages and the 700 truck carvan has yet to reach any affected area...
People remember who stood with them in their worst times and who ran away to meet his kids in UK
BTW, Yazdi was PTI supporter and not an aira ghair arm chair warrior, he personally met IK and was persuaded to join PTI by IK after the Lahore Jalsa... he did join them and i believe he have provided/helped IK to collect big donations from the business community through his own influence... till the election 2013, he was very much supporter of IK and PTI... one year down the road, I see him criticizing PTI... food for thought...
One of the retarded post ever
May be you dont know who is the CM of KPK its PK not IK
So please stop your criticizing for the sake of it
You are on my blocklist, so cannot see what you wrote, but as i know you, you have never ever been able to post a positive comment or could take part in any discussion without using PTI's national language.. i believe your post is not worth reading, as for you... instead of abusing.. please add me in your ignore list...