Koonday

Re: Koonday

smooth_guy I have never heard of any link between koondays and sahabas. What is the the proof that Koondays started for reason you presented? If someone celebrates it with good intentions and then what does it matter. I have my most respect towards all sahabas and 4 Imaams. As long as it is done with intentions towards praying and doing Fatiha, I do not see what the big deal is. PLUS I can very well read and write Urdu.

Please address some questions..may very well be false information or misconceptions.

1- koonday are not sent to ppl, you have to go and eat it at the place where they are

2- at sunset, the leftovers are buried?

This came up at a discussion about koonday recently and the people noting their experiences were older and well I did not get into discussions regarding why and whats. These are ppl who do koonday, so I dunno if it is part of general practice or just their own approach.

The fatwa is based on some facts and in history books the proof can be found. I understand what your saying about good intentions and all goodie goodie recitation of Quran etc. But for this particular celebration I have reservations based on its origin and being started by Shiaz. So I would rather avoid that (and break the cultural affection we have with it, its really good when you take a bold step for good and make your family understand that too). So instead of 22nd Rajab, choose any other day and do fatiha of Hazarat Jafar Sadiq and other Sahaba and all Momineen and Mominaat till Qiyamaat. But do not celebrate it on the day Shia did it, because its origin is suspecious. And they have long list of altering things so we better keep ourselves clean.

So a good deed will remain a good deed even after changing its date. It will only be better to avoid the controversial day of its current celebration (which has no religious significance anyways for Islam or Hazrat Jaffar Sadiq RA).

you go around to ppl's house and the left overs are sent to folks.

theres no burial of leftovers. well not that i know of.

No, you can have takeway for those who didnt/couldnt show up. But normally its a dawat type situation.

nope. distributed in the neighbourhood maybe.

2- at sunset, the leftovers are buried?

its not good to trash food specially ager us per niyaz ayee hai..so its better to bury the food rather then trashing it

what? first ive heard of this. we just leave it at a masjid/give to a needy person.

ager kuch bach jaye aur kharab ho jaye..phir usko bury kerna behter hai instead of trashing it..cuz uss food per niyaz aati hai
needy person ka pait kharab ho sakta hai na

so ma mooli and ravage say its not buried, Sheraz is giving some explanation of why it is buried. indicates to me it is practised by some and not by others.

Sheraz, but does it go bad that quickly, right at sunset? tats what was confusing to me too, but the people were elders whom I did not know well and did not want to offend by asking questions which they may think was some mod muslim or sectarian BS.

so lets say maghrib is at 7:45, and teh food is buried then..if i ad shown up for it at 7:30 I would still be given that food right? so its not gone bad in 15 mins..and it probably will not go bad for some time .. I can udnerstand in US that you may not have immediate access to needy ppl, but in Pakistan..there is poverty everywhere, needy ppl can be found.

with the advent of modern technology, food can also be kept in refrigerators and heated as ppl arrive, and if there is more leftover, you go give it to needy ppl?

so if it is leftover and gone bad then you bury it,
if it is leftover but not gone bad you distribute it?

and whats the niyaz? we throw away food on a daily basis, this food is special in some way and must be respected? if so why.

sorry for throwing all these questions..but I want to understand the practice better.

^ bhai Fraudiya, why are you scared to say whats inside your mind. Since its proven that it was not practiced by Prophet or his companion etc, its invented and the origin is very suspecious one. So ofcourse to hide it after the celebration is done, the burial is the best thing to do. All your arguements are valid and make sense, but the OTHER side will come up with more lame excuses/reasons. So it will not go anywhere.

not scared to say anything, we have already established that in my view this is not something sanctoned by religion and I personally would not engage in it. The discussion earlier helped me understand the point of view of people who do celebrate it.

Now I am just coming back for 2 simple questions based on whatI heard during a discussion about koonday at a gathering. the people speaking were not anti koonday but were talking about how they buried the leftovers and I came here wondering what the significance of that is etc.

so, not afraid to say anything on my mind. I do however have to respect other people'e sentiments and feelings and thus explain that the intent is not to disrespect them or their beliefs, whether or not I feel they are right.

fraudia..this is the first time i am hearing this...if the food is good then we are suppose to finish it...i have never heard of burying food as a practice...i am not sure what these old folks were talking about

ahhh wish everyone was like you...we wouldnt have so many suicide bombers

maybe they were talking about burying food if it goes bad, but then why not just toss it..we throw away rotten food or expred food all the time anyways right?

well said Samma 59 !!!

yar hamari taraf bhi hotay thay koonday - sort of long established cultural type thing - Infact this year in Canada I was invited by a friend for Koonday and I tasted the Tikyaa after sucha long time :love:
As far as I remember, back in Pakistan both Ahl-e-Tashiee’ as well as Ahl-e-Sunnah used to do it - with some slight variations.
I agree on the part about this not being a WAJIB or FARZ or SUNNAT according to Islam. There are 108797676546 other things (till the last count :halo: ) that we do on a daily basis that are in no way connected to Islam, they are more cultural type things. I dont have an issue with that as long as it doesnt cross the limits.

Abay joo kar rahay hain unn ko karnay doo :rose:
Jissay nahi achha lagta woo na karay - apnay ghar main khush rahay :smiley: