Koonday

Re: Koonday

God please forgive me, I was not aware that eating halwa, poori , chaney and kheer was such big sin :teary2:

Why arbi people dont eat halwa poori :mad: :bailan:

Bao ji, me is sunni , my abba is sunni and my saara tabbar is sunni.

now let us eat home made halwa poori once in a year. Please *main tumharey aagey haath jorta hoon *
ps. All I know that it has something to do with Hazrat imam jafar sadiq (maybe birthday or something ) and it has nothing to do with Hazrat Ameer muawiyah’e death. As I know, you know and whole planet knows that sunni folks cant celebrate death of any sahabi, so iff sunnis have party on this day, then their must be some other reason.

Now our Arbi masters may blame us biddah of celebrating christmass, but God knows that we only celebrate the birthday of Qaid-e-Azam. But our arbi masters are holy. They cant be wrong so … maybe we are actually celebrating christmass :bummer:… who know. Arbi people knows Islam the best :mash:

salam

our br. baobihari said “Only relevence is that Hadrat Muawiyah:razi: death was on this date”

I heard first time this. I am also intrested in knowing date of death of all the sahabi, khalifa e muslimeen. I will appreciate if you will give me source of details also.

wassalam

Acha

1-There still is no tangible/solid proof from Shia sources that this day is related to Hadrat Jaffer Sadiq.

2-The only significance of this day is the death of Hadrat Muawiyah:razi:

3-Code chahca
Ever heared of

Halwa Band Kheer band ----:slight_smile:
If day is not relevent then why not marry on 10th muharram- Sunni love Hadrat Hussain:razi: unlike shias who do not like Hadrat Muawiyah:razi:
Are we baycharay sunni are allowed to marry this day shia* bhaiyoon tay behnoon*

Ajazat hay

but you only quoted the part that I didnt edit??

And as I and others have said, shias dont normally associate muawiya with koondey (it takes threads like these to do that), and they dont necessarily have to happen on the 22nd, a lot happen before/after it in the month of rajab.

are you suggesting sunnies DONT marry on the 10th already? would you cast any people I cite who do marry out of the fold of sunnism?

ijazat hai bhai, shoq sai shadi karo. dates significant to shias are spread across the hijri calender. Yes 10th muharram is likely to be a much much more emotive date than the death of another imam/prophet/personage significant to shias but you probably pretty much already have shadies on dates significant to us without intending to hurt shias. Same thing.

do you think this is the answer of my question? our br. baobihari said “Only relevence is that Hadrat Muawiyah:razi: death was on this date”

I heard first time this. I am also intrested in knowing date of death of all the sahabi, khalifa e muslimeen. I will appreciate if you will give me source of details also.

plz answer and by the way you returned at home or not to discuss by refyour book on one topic which you started? do you remember?

wassalam

Folks can do as they wish, and some people are known to have wed on the 10th ashura, altho its not common. but i think the difference here is, both groups revere Imam Hussain (as), whereas that is not true for vice versa. Hence the argument doesnt really go...

Also, we have no evidence that Muawiyah died on this day, if you care to read this thread, all the shia posters have stated they were not aware of the link with muwaiyahs death, its your posts that are insinuating as such. hence i think the source is from your books..? either way, and its not really an issue...

apparently according to this previous thread on it, sunnies in pakistan celebrate it too but call it “khatam shareef”. A quick search of khatam shareef showed its observed in wider sunni circles too, close to this date (in egypt - al azhar second link).

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/archive/index.php/t-71929.html

Bao ji You are not making any sense :slight_smile:

Ever heard “Inna mal aamal-u-bin’niyat” please explain its meaning with everyday example. Thanking you in advance, gracious :flower1:

Secondly, Karbala is most tragic episode of Islamic History. Majority of muslim believe so, If you do not think so then be merry and have a blast , I mean have a party :k: no one can stop you. There is no restriction whatsoever

so what I am gathering is that it is a cultural thing and has nothing to do with religion and should not be considered as part of religion? right?

depends. it is practiced religiously as part of their observance of Islam in certain cultures. whether or not you consider it part of religion depends on whether or not your from that culture.

To me religion is not cultural, what religion is religion, what is cultural is cultural. I am not one of those ppl who say that you can not have cultural events and observances, but i do maintain the view that if there are cultural events they are considered cultural events and not some religious obligation or an event with religious significance. No matter which culture, country, sect it relates to.

no i never said it was a cultural event. i said that it is a religious observation within certain cultures. a cultural event would be one that has no religious significance, like basant, that is not the case here. it has Islamic meaning, but only for certain cultures. conversely i could also say it has no Islamic meaning only for some cultures.

Well I have enquired about this thing from my Shia collegue and she told me that, " If you pray after eating the Sweet Puri, your prayer will be heard."

:rolleyes:

These are not my words, I have just quoted them. I have Seven Shia collegues at my work place and all agreed with that statement.

I didnot know that the Sweet Puri has this authority.:konfused:

goes off to pray to sweet puri

mmmmm sweet sweet puri

goes off to pray for sweet puri

....i want halwa puri now...anyone know a place in london?

Okay so its an event with some religious tones to it in certain cultures ..still means that in the larger framework of the religion itself it is a nonevent.

i.e. I dont get any gunah for not doing it, Its not required by religion. It is something that people decided to do later on, and they do it.

I guess its like santa claus and christmas tree for christmas, in some cultures it is a religious thing, but among other christians it has no meaning.

correct me if i got it wrong.

There is always a frame of reference for gauging religious significance right.. You say larger framework of religion, how would you define that framework? Number of people observing it? Number of mullas opposing it? Number of mullas for it? Im not sure if it is, nor do I have the numbers to show whether it is a nonevent or a significant event in the larger framework of the religion (or what that exactly means..)

You certainly dont get gunah for not observing it, even in the eyes of those who believe it to have religious significance. (afaik)

In my personal opinion, it is mustahab at best, mubah (without gunah or sawab) at worst.

im not sure if a christmas tree itself has any religious significance. that is more of a cultural way of observing a universal christian religious event. But yeah thats close enough.

We are not talking about hindus/jews/christians. It was a simple question: Is this a shia practice?

pieta, your kindof late in the thread. you have code-red here, and there are atleast some other sunnies who practice it, I’ve posted an archived paklinks thread on this topic earlier in the discussion. see this post:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=4347427&postcount=28

whether they are sufies/barelvies is another matter, and you excommunicate them elsewhere.

ravage nay farmaya

There is always a frame of reference for gauging religious significance right.. You say larger framework of religion, how would you define that framework? Number of people observing it? Number of mullas opposing it? Number of mullas for it? Im not sure if it is, nor do I have the numbers to show whether it is a nonevent or a significant event in the larger framework of the religion (or what that exactly means..)

by larger framework of religion I mean religion as noted in quran. Nothing to do with our current day mullahs opposing or accepting it.

*In my personal opinion, it is *mustahab at best, mubah (without gunah or sawab) at worst. **

so maybe a nice to do, but not per religion's commands. I mean I can start feedng ppl kitkats on some day and while t may be considered as a good thing of bring pp together and sharing etc, it does not become part of religion.

im not sure if a christmas tree itself has any religious significance. that is more of a cultural way of observing a universal christian religious event. But yeah thats close enough.

so what islamic religious event does koonday observe? eid? mairaj? hajj? ramadan?