Komal Rizvi & Gulab Afridi

*I made a spelling mistake with Gulab’s full name. So if the mods can correct it that would be awesome

How well do you know Komal Rizvi and Gulab Afridi? Are they famous and well known in Pakistan? I heard this song and came across them. This song has singers/musicians from different places but it has half Pakistani artists and some lines from Bulleh Shah. So this is best place to post it.

Rang Rangiya - Video Dailymotion

What do you think of this song? Do you think it’s creative. Apparently none of the artists accepted money for this project. It was made in a month just online and none of the artists even met each other. It was meant to release on Independence day. It’s been featured on DAWN news, radio channels and on NDTV. NOt sure if it’s been on Pakistani tv yet but hopefully will be shown.

@TS @muqawwee123 @bella Rouge @@123456789
and others..

I think you’ll appreciate the use of rubab by Gulab Ali in this song. @lillyy2k2
Maybe the next song to feature on Coke Studio. Kind of relaxing and the type of song you’d want to post on a blog.
@PyariCgudia

re: Komal Rizvi & Gulab Afridi

Music Monday: Rang Rangiya - storyacious : storyacious

Wow, nice. Nice collaboration.
Looks like a brand new song.
Love the sound of Rubab.
I like a few of Komal's songs.
She releases a song every few months.
Years ago she went to India to be a VJ.
Haven't heard of Gulab Afridi.

Acha that's cool. I had no idea she was a VJ. I found use of rubab by Gulab Afridi nice. Lot of different styles of music in the video.
did you notice Kabir's poem as well sung by the 2 Rajasthani boys

Thanks for the comment TS bhai :) Mujhe yakeen tha aap comment karenge. Was happy to see it.

Nice fun song! Really liked how they have incoporated so many artists from both countries. :) Rubab was the sweetest thing!
Btw Afridi was in Coke studio's Paimona, looooove that song and know all the words to it :D

I made a mistake and called him Gulab Ali ..pata nahi kaise. I think i mixed his surname with another. The rubab is quite a magical instrument. Do you have a link to that Coke studio song? Post it on here if you find it :) TS said Komal has also had lot of songs she has released in the past.

Re: Komal Rizvi & Gulab Afridi

I think Komal did a rendition of a Adele's song few months ago. She also did a drama ages ago where she had a double role, that was really good. I'm not sure what she did in India though.

Here’s Paimona : :wub:

She was in that old serial with Huma Navab and that senior actress where she gets married to an old vaDera.

Komal Rizvi is a very well known but unsuccessful artist from the way I see it. She does appear to have a very bubbly and powerful personality onscreen and also in her interviews.

The song is pretty awesome, I love the concept.

Not a bad song by Komal, well ok for the era it was released in

Very very bad song (what was she thinking?)

I don't recall the story but I know the male actor she was married to, it was such a good drama, but I can't remember what it was called. Except that she had a twin!

Hawaeyn.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcotMfCqY7M

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6V74zDODYU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfUrYIpoiWM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3F7kcLrGvA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKezXZ72A1g

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JNCdB4n3K0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NOHp1WrMqOU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wkqN6BSynmI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzhFO00CFfs

Thanks Sajalina ji. I’m glad you liked it. I agree it’s an awesome concept. I hope such songs are released more often. Maati baani is this indian folk group part of this song and they’ve done some interesting songs with people from around the world. This one was especially for Independence Day and as a message of hope and peace. They were on pakistani radio channel cityfm 98 yesterday.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1125299

http://www.radioandmusic.com/content/editorial/news/youtube-sensation-maati-baani-spread-message-peace-through-pakistani-collaboration

Thanks for posting the paimona song. I had no idea about what a rubab was till this song :) glad you liked it .
I found the 2 little boys from Rajasthan quite amazing. Nice mix of artists from both countries.

Thanks for posting komal’s songs. Interesting to hear. Hopefully we’ll see more of these collaborations.

@Princejall what do u think of the song?