Know your Mahajir:

This is a post for those who are familiar with the terms Mahajir or Hindustanis or Urdu speaking people.

They are an incredibly varied form of people who not only differ in customs, culture and heritage but language as well in not just different parts of India or its provinces but in many cases one single city alone.

Urdu though being a single language has more dialects than any language known…There’s the Purvi, Delhi, Hyderabadi, Bihari, Lukhnawi and God knows how many other variations of just one language…(My personal favourite is the Purvi for it is most romantic and spiritual…)

I shall attempt to break down as many different Mahajirs as I can remember or time permits…That way you can get an idea of how to approach them and what to expect of them when dealing with them.

I shall attempt to break down the most major ones and add others minor ones as I remember them.

Delhiwalas:** They are the diplomats of the Mahajir circle. The best way to describe them would be as silver tongued devils and in some cases, just as menacing. The most famous saying about Delhiwalas is that they carry two tongues in their mouth. They can be praising you and at the same time a third person would know that you are being insulted. Their sweet tongues can make you feel good or it can cut you open.

Delhiwalas are divided into two main groups. The city class and the trader class. They both speak the same dialect however their demeanour is completely different. They have a high tolerance for anger as they make use of their speech most effectively. No one can argue with a Delhiwala. They make the finest politicians and lawyers.

In the case of losing their tempers, they can resort to violence however this trait is mostly reserved in the trader class of Delhiwalas.

Almost all the butchers in Mahajirs are Delhiwalas from the trader class.

Their Urdu is slow and flowing with most adjectives ending in the suffix ‘iyo’.
Aray bhai mian, aik kaam to kariyo, zara mujh ko aik paan to khila deejiyo.*
Hyderabadis:** They are the orators of the Mahajir circle. Not even an Irish can outspeak a Hyderabadi once he starts going.

In the war of culture between Delhi, Lucknow, Calcutta and Agra, Hyderabad was the odd man out. So Hyderabadis developed a culture all their own along with an Urdu all their own. Its Nawabs which ruled Hyderabad, had always had a disposition of rebelliousness against the crown in Delhi, as a result Hyderabad’s culture flourished under the Nawabs far from the courts of the Mughals with a taste of its own.

It would not be wrong to say that Hyderabadis are also the gourmets of the Mahajir world with no other type of community coming even close to equalling the number and variety of dishes and flavours that came out of Hyderabad not mention the Achaars or pickles that Hyderabad is famous for. it is famous for its khatta (sour) dishes such as khatti daal, khattay pasanday, khattay baingan and an incredible array of curries unmatched in any community.

Hyderabadis, however, are not famous for loyalty and fealty…Their Nawabs had a history of disputing with the crown going so far as to create their own armies and a few even siding with the English against the crown.

Not to mention, the greatest traitor in Asian history was a Hyderabadi, a despicable person called Mir Sadiq, who betrayed the noble Mujahid prince Tipu Sultan.
Nang-e-Deen, Nang-e-Duniya, Nang-e-Watan,
Jaffar az Bengal o Sadiq az Dakkan…*

Despite getting a bad rap from other Mahajir communities, the Hyderabadis continue to remain easy company. They make friends very easily, they are easy to get along with and most of them with a cultured upbringing are most humble and accomodating. One can never be bored in the company of a Hyderabadi as they will always find something to talk about, good or bad. That’s probably why, three of my closest friends are Hyderabadis.

Their Urdu is fast and static sometimes to the point of incoherence and not given to frivolities. Some letters are substituted for others while words not usually found in the Urdu language are quite common.
Ari maatthi millay, kkhai ko mera dimagh khatay, ji? Ziada mere saath moon maari nai kkharnay ka warna apnay pottay sai keh ker teri dhullai karwana, ji…*

Biharis:** They are the brains yet the most unappreciated of all Mahajirs. Extremely hard working, capable and intelligent, they have developed a bad rapport amongst the other Mahajir classes.

Their falling out of graces with other Mahajirs can probably be attributed to the fatc that they are extremely innovative and creative. They have an extremely high tolerance for anger and for the most part are very forgiving.

A famous saying about them is:
Jo na katta aari say, woh katta Bihari say…*

Meaning, him who cannot be cut with a saw can be cut with a Bihari. I still haven’t figured out the implication of that saying, but whatever it means, it in no way justifies the Bihari mindset. They always keep to themselves, are non-obtrusive and for the most part quite shy. They don’t bother anyone and usually keep their affairs to themselves.

I have yet to figure out what gives these people their bad rapport for almost every Bihari I have met, I have met none from whom I felt malice, threat or deception.

Their Urdu is divided into two parts but having the same phonetics. The Urdu is divided into the city class and the farmer class.

The city class is proper Urdu which would be spoken with a hint of Purvi thrown in, but would be proper Urdu. They like to refer to themselvesin the third person perspective. Both dialects are slow and measured and emphasis in the end of sentences.

The farmer class Urdu that Biharis speak would be what Lalu Prasad Yadav would speak with a heavy emphasis on Purvi. But they too refer to themselves in the third person perspective.

Both dialects have flowery embellishments.
Ji, Hum keh rahay hain na ke hum sai yeh nahin hoga. Hum ko na tung karain hum keh diye hain.* - City class.
Ari, hum keh diyat hain, keh hum eeh kaam nahin kar sakat hain. Hum ko tung na karo, hum keh diyat hain, bus…* - Farmer class.

More to come like Rajasthanis, Lakhnawis e.t.c. and others I may remember…

Add your own if you belong to or know about other classes…I would be most interested…

Re: Know your Mahajir:

wow! Great reading lajjo, I’d contribute but you’ve set too high a standard!

To add to your descriptions, Dehli walay are also famous for their foods. They make the cardinal mistake ( :snooty: ) of putting the relative before the name, for example instead of Aslam Bhai, they say Bhai Aslam because according to them its impolite to say the name of an elder directly.

Biharies are indeed victimised for no good reason, with silly reasons like “they’re sneaky/treacherous” and “Altaf Hussain is a bihari!”. I know biharies who introduce themselves as UP walay just to escape this mindset. I was surprised to find that Biharies do make bihari kabab a lot, in which case I would have expected them to have a different name for it. Chappali kabab is not called Pathan kabab for example. They are as you say quite intelligent, and sensitive to derogatory poetry. I remember one of them reacting quite sadly to a catchy couplet that included lines like “dunya mai qomiyat ka bhikari bana dia” and “jab kuch na ban saka to bihari bana dia”.

Keep them coming, you have to cover UP walay. Shukria

Greatt read Lajawab :k: I am gonna print it and read. :smiley:
I thaught UP and dehli waley were same people?
You are right about Biharis…they are 100% smart ass people in Pakistan. Our neighbours were biharis and half of my calss was bihari when I was in school in Pakistan. Very intelligent people.

I think Hyderabdi urdu is most difficult Urdu. One of my uncle is Indian Hyderabadi and when he speaks to me I just stare at him becuz I don't understand a single word...and my parents just laugh at me :(
Looking forward to reading about Lakhnowis.

Great reading.
It clears up some of the confusion that I had regarding the origins of some phrases.

May I suggest that you include the "gender bias" in some of your writing......for example, the role of the female is weighted differently amongst the Hyderabadis as compared to the Delhiwalay.

That's exactly what I was thinking. I have seen few examples myself when it comes to how women are treated in each groups specially in Hyderabdis.

• ee lajawab ka post kari hay, *

Very informative mashallah.

You are right about biharis, they are intelligent people, ( i remeber my boss saying to me * ya tau tum genious ho ya bihari ho* :) ) , reason why biharis are looked down are many.

1-They unfortunately have this habit of back biting,others also have but biharis are very good at it :0

2-They migrated from east pakistan to pakistan in 1971 and started settling in karachi snatching jobs from others as many of them were highly educated thus this hatred for them.

3-I have seen many biharis pretending to be UP walas , thus this nick Bao bihari as i am not ashamed of what ALLAH Tallah choosed for me.

I was with delhiwalas on my hajj trip , used to make fun of them by saying * Bhai Abba zara bhai amma say keh daina kay bhai beta soo raha hay *

Very interesting Lajo..do add more bits..it does explain quite a bit. A general question..I've heard it mentioned that the MQM tends to be dominated by Biharis..is that true or just a generalisation?

I love hearing Bihari dialect, i have colleague who is Indian from Bihaar and i insist that he talk to me in Bihari at work.

Could you elaborate on this? Someone once told me that I should get my daughters married to Hyderabadis instead of Punjabis, because they know how to treat a woman better.

^ marry em to whoevers a better muslim, even if its an afreeki.

Lajjo great read as always, thanks! :D

What about Memons? Which category they are?

^ And Rajhistanis

Lajjoo paa-apno ko bhool gae.

There are two types of Memons. The Sindhi memons and Gujrati memons. Gujrati memons speak a language similar to Gujrati. But nowadays their new generation is coming closer and closer to Urdu. It's natural.

By the way, the original portrays Delhiwallahs as very negative people, while eulogizes Biharis. And this raises a question: Are you Behari?

quite informative, Lajawab.

Some Examples of Hyderabadi(India) Urdu

Certain words are very typical of Hyderabadis:
Nakko (instead of Nahi in Traditional Urdu) =No
Hau (instead of Han in Traditional Urdu) =Yes
Kaiku (instead of Kyun in Traditional Urdu) =Why
Mereku (instead of Mujhe in Traditional Urdu) = For me
Tereku (instead of Tujhe in Traditional Urdu) =For you
Mye (instead of Mai in Traditional Urdu) =Me
These are some examples of liaisons that are peculiar only to Hyderabadi Urdu:
Jatiyun (Jaati Hoon)= I’m going (female)
Aatiyun (Aati Hoon)= I’m coming (female)
Kartiyun (Karti Hoon)= I’m doing (female)
Bolinge (Bolangay)= They will sa
Karlinge (Karlangay)= We will do it
Jainge (Jayangay)= We will go
Aainge (Aayangay)= We will come
Thairinge (Theheraingay)= We will stay

Hyderabadi urdu also known as deccani, its a mixture of urdu hindhi and marathi find more about hyderabadi muslims on this wikipedia link, and also i’m a hyderabadi
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muslim_culture_of_Hyderabad

And my favorite hindustani/urdu sapeaking ethnic group is...Rampuri/Tonki Pathan...

Instead of Mein match khaylnay gaya...

A hindustani pathan would say...Meein meeytch khaylnay gaya...

Seems like Urdu is a very rich language. How different or how much of a difference is there between Urdu and Hindi?

Lajawab,

I expect a nice, long post on UP-ites & Lakhnowis. :D

Yes, Lajjo Kakay is Bihari.. He is Lajawab "Betwa". He changed his name from Lallu-ab to Lajawab. There was this chat-kachori(snacks) wala in Bahadurabad I used to frequent in Karachi.. He migrated to Pakistan in early 1970s.. an old man.. When I asked him once to serve me sooner he got furious and said, "Arrey Babuaa, kaahey chillawat ho? dekhbey rahey ho no.. hum kitna bejee hoon".