Kids in Pakistan are raised tougher than than kids in US/UK

… observation from the threading thread.

Do you think kids that are raised in Pakistan are tougher? less sensitive? more apt to handle themselves better when faced with uncertainity? street smart? can handle bullying better?

I spent some part of my life in Pakistan schools. I can say there is some truth to the statement above.

Re: Kids in Pakistan are raised tougher than than kids in US/UK

I wouldn't say they handle uncertainty better or differently but I do think bullying is different in Pakistan. Western countries are filled with people from all over the place...there's so much diversity that it's easy to be bullied cos, well, people are different. And 'different' is easier to pick on. Pakistan is just a completely different environment. Social status/money are what divides people there...nothing else. And social classes usually tend to stick together...it's hard to really pinpoint 'bullying' in that case. I think girls in Pakistan are much less catty between each other than they are in Western society. Girls aren't really picked on for stuff. Boys on the other hand are insane in Pakistan, imo. My husband tells me all the time how scrawny kids were always beat up by the guys...and I mean, legit beat up. The boys in Pakistan are obsessed with being you know, THE MAN. And then there's the separation of the sexes - despite going to a co-ed school, the boys sat on one side and the girls sat on the other side. They rarely interact. That's what I think anyways, from what I've observed.

I dont think so that they are tougher or less sensitive. Its just that they are exposed to tough situations more and the fact is that parents are less sensitive than desi parents in west

its all about grooming!
i've seen very tough and less sensitive kids from US/UK...
and i have also seen veryyyy sensitive pakistani kids too....

Generally speaking Yes but it is because they are exposed to more harsher situations inside school and outside with adults as well.

Hysterical. Bet if you end up sending your kids knowingly to a school with considerable amounts of mexican, black gangsters marching about in cully flower, things wouldn't be any different than the Nayee Roshni school they'd go to in Pakistan.

Don't think its the education system of Pak that needs to be played general general with or be brought in to mock, its the parents that deserve a shout out for having flawed raising standards.

^ I am not mocking anything. You are the one who are belittling Govt school system in Pakistan and schools in poor neighborhoods here in America.

My comment had more to do with a common trend in Pakistan regarding voicing opinions about people's appearances without giving it any thought. Adults and kids are alike in practicing this.

Who really studies in a govt school in Pakistan unless your poor/lower middle class. Other wise it’s England public school or Chicago public school.

I disagree in general. Will add more later.

Well that is the majority. And yeah a lot of kids go to private schools in the cities, but all private schools aren't the same.

I have heard of Defence American School. but I've never heard of England Public or Chicago Public, where are these schools.

I don't think the kids there are necessarily stronger.. just that bullying is seen as less of a big deal than it is in the west.. Even in families it's often seen as no big deal to be very critical to the point of it hurting a person's self-esteem..

It's more about attitudes towards bullying imo

So who gets to determine what the ongoing current common trend in Pakistan is like here? Definitely not some bebo living outside of it, right?

Wasn't me inter-wounding the insides and outsides of general Pakistani school environments calling them harsh, and hence i don't get where I've attempted to belittle anyone. If anything I've crushed in my mind, it ought to be the words used in your twin-tin clueless posts.

I don't know about being raised tougher but I have seen a difference in kids over here and kids in pak. Kids in pak (our relatives) seem to me more mature and tez... yahan ke bache bhole hain. Or at least those in my circle.

^ Hai bechare desis in foreign lands.
That's until they hit puberty. After that kids in Pak stay where they are, whereas kids over there kick into overdrive.

Umm not necessarily.

And btw, I did say kids in my cricle vs MY relatives kids in pak. I'm sure everyone has different experiences and everyones kids are different whether they're in pak or in the west.

I made those names up..as do the schools that have such names also do I believe :slight_smile:

^ There's a White House public school round the corner. How awesome is that?

That is what I think , kids here are so bholay and they don't lie, they don't back bite much compared to kids back home. They listen and gossip about relatives , oh chachi said this, mami said that and telling their mum and most of the time they lie,big time chalak type. One of my closer Aunty said a western born 15year old kid is equal to a 10year old kid raised in Pakistan.

Hai! They're so pure.

Yeah. The kids in my khandaan in pakistan are so chalaak. The girls talk like the aunties do. Gossip and all that LOL. But that’s just my khandaan. I’m sure every family is different.
Kids who were born here (again my khandaan) are so bholay bhale and spend their days playing. They have no idea what aunty said what and who’s daughter did what.

Don’t know why that is though.
And Saeed ji, why are you being so sarcastic? :rolleyes: